Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars15
2.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£35.00 - £42.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2011
I pretty much know what to expect when I open up a tie in computer game from a children's movie. They are often cheaply made and lack any sense of depth. However, the likes of `Up' proved that, although they are never likely to reach true greatness, some of them can provide some relaxed entertainment to wind down with after playing something more extreme. For this reason I picked up THQ's `Megamind: Ultimate Showdown'. The game is set after the film and has Megamind battling a series of enemies who were foolhardy enough to steal his inventions. Now on the side of good, Megamind still has no problems using his assortment of weapons to freeze, shrink or heat enemies and objects.

Coming in at a budget level, gamers should not expect too much from the game as to avoid disappointment. It is one of the most vanilla experiences I have had on current consoles. The game is an extremely basic platform shooter; point at the enemy and fire. Even for a game aimed at a younger audience the repetitive nature of the levels, poor collision detection and dubious jumping, means that it's just not up to scratch. On a positive note there is a simple local co-op mode for a family with two youngsters, but apart from that the game lacks polish - the voice acting is not from the cast of the film.

Too completely undermine `Megamind: Ultimate Showdown' would be a little naïve as the game is advertised as part of THQ's budget range and it reflects that truth. However, with many of the LEGO games now reduced from their original price you get far more enjoyment out of those experiences, even when they are full RRP. This game is only for people who really like the film.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
You can buy this game for your children without worrying that they would be disappointed of being stuck many times when playng the game.

The gameplay is quite primitive - shooting and killing enemies and collecting some stuff, not tough and quite comprehensive. Graphics are moderately ok, could have been better.

If you tend to buy this game for yourself and if you have some experience in gaming, be prepared that you'll beat it in 3 hours or less since it is short. However, if your goal is to have an easy platinum, this is so far the easiest and fastest I have experienced.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
Firstly, I will talk about the story in Megamind: Ultimate Showdown. This happens after the events of the movie. Megamind is the hero and guardian of Metro City. During an interview the city is attacked by a crime wave which can only be the works of the Doom Syndicate, a group of super villains bent on destruction, and now Megamind must again prove that he is the hero Metro City needs. Unfortunately, that's about the extent of the story, there isn't a lot of plot lines or twists, just a basic hero must stop a group of super villains, but then again this is a movie based game so I was not expecting much more.

The gameplay is standard for these types of movie games. You have your basic platformer loaded with collectibles and plenty of goons to beat up. The platforming is done reasonably well with a little variety, but not very much. Sure the first time you need to figure out how to get from rooftop to rooftop is fun, but after doing it for the tenth time on a level the magic is gone. Adding even more to this is the fact that there is no guess work to it. There is always a big arrow pointing to what you need to do, not to mention Megamind's sidekick, Minion, will tell you over and over and over again, until you do it. This really makes the platforming quite simple, and a shame they couldn't of spruced it up or made it less simplistic.

The combat is also rather basic, Megamind has a few weapons along with his basic blaster. Throughout the levels you will come across new weapons like the blow glove, Tesla glove and dehydration gun. Unfortunately, you can't flip through your guns when you want to, you have to wait to come across a particular weapon to use it, which is always conveniently placed near a switch that you will need that weapon for. It would have been nice to be able to hold on to all of the weapons and then be able to decide which one to use when you got to that switch, but alas that is not the case.

Throughout each level you will also be looking for B.I.N.K.E.Y. which are blue orbs. You'll find these just laying around or from killing enemies and breaking objects. You then can use this to upgrade your weapons, like there power or range. This actually at first sounds like it will add some more depth, but it seems to have little to no effect on your weapons.

You'll also be encounting countless goons throughout the levels. These goons, like the rest of the game, are quite simple and lacking in any depth, with only a total of six different enemies. This wouldn't be an issue but there are only two types of goons per level and they use the same character models. You have the skinny guy (Construction worker, guitar player and bus boy) who throws tiny objects at you and will do some melee and a big guy (cement mixer, sax player and lunch lady) who will shoot you with a bigger blast. You can tell that they took the same model and simply put a different skin on it which is very sad indeed.

You will also have to fight four bosses which, unlike the rest of the game, actually have some character. You only will encounter each one once and the fights are pretty simplistic. You just need to look for a pattern and then its smooth sailing from there. It would have been nice to have more interaction with them throughout the levels, but at least they were more enjoyable then the rest of the game.

The graphics look half decent for a movie game with some of the set pieces being quite interesting, but the levels are so linear you won't get to enjoy them. The voice acting is plain bad, none of the movie voice actors are present so it is quite detracting playing as Megamind and not hearing Will Ferrell. Plus you will hear the same lines over and over sometimes two or three times within a minute.

As you play through the story you will unlock five mini games. These will have you doing pod races, climbing up the side of a building and many more. Surprisingly this adds a good bit of enjoyment, not to mention it adds a bunch new gameplay features. While playing through these I realised that adding this to the single player would have made a more enjoyable experience, and yet another missed opportunity.

Finally there is some multiplayer, but it is barely worth mentioning. The second player plays as one of Megamind's robot's, they can collect B.I.N.K.E.Y. and shoot enemies, but that is it. It is so tacked on that the enemies won't even attack the second player, so really your just there to collect more points. This could have been helped with the mini game by providing some sort of competition, but again the second player is just floating near by not really doing anything which seems like such a bad addition.

Overall, Megamind: Ultimate Showdown is a decent platformer, but lacks in many other aspects from a lackluster story to repetitive gameplay. The one saving grace would be for you trophy addicts out there since you can platinum this in roughly three or four hours (took me four and my 12 year old nephew 6 hours). That being said this should be no more then a rent at best, or look for it in the bargain bins.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
This game is far to easy, it dosent offer any challenge at any point of the game, you can play through it once and obtain every single trophy, there is no need for replay.The game is quite fun with nice graphics and voice overs but in all, unless you are desperate for a platinium there are better dreamworks games out there.Shrek forever after being one of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
This game is too easy, but it is developed in a perfect way for children who liked the movie (I guess...), or for who want to get a 3 hours platinum.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
It's a nice game, not difficult at all. I played the game halfthrough. The things u need to do is easy.
It's a perfect game for kids I guess and for trophy hunters.
The graphics are ok. It's mainly fighting with your gun, collect electric balls and explode doors etc.

I cant say the game is very bad, also not very good, just regular. If u expect a hard game, then dont buy it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I bought this game because my 2 young nephews were coming to stay with me for a weekend, and we enjoyed ourselves very much with it. They are 10 and 7, and the difficulty was just right for them, meaning they could play this game on their own, without me having to sit next to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
I will keep this short and sweet. Kind of like this game. It will take you 3 hours to complete and get a platinum trophy. Its a basic paltform game that has you shoot weapons. Graphics are ok but it is so boring. For trophy hunters its a must all others should stay away, even fans of the film.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
The picture on the site shows a green pegi 7 rating, making me assume its a normal edition of the game. However the edition I received via air mail from French Canada has an ESRB rating of 10+. That said, its still playable of course and it was cheap so I'm not particularly bothered. I just cant trade it in in the UK and will be something else for eBay to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
I was bored, wanted a 'fun platformer' and this killed it for a few hours, anyone wanting a safe game for a 7 year old plus, then look no further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99-£37.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)