Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow charging but well made and excellent value
I've been using an Energizer Universal Charger for the past two or three years and noticed that it was charging faster and faster and my suspicions were aroused when my mouse batteries kept dying within a couple of days. Was it the batteries, some being 3 years old, but surely not the 6 months old 7 Day Shop ones, or the expensive Uniross's?

So, not knowing...
Published 19 months ago by Tim Kidner

versus
43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin
Well, i bought this for obvious reasons and to be fair it is neat and tidy.
However, the guidlines on the box regarding charging times is way off.
AAA batteries,according to the blurb and product info on the Amazon page,should take 4 hours to charge. Now i dont know if that means 1 battery or 4, it does'nt say.
I had 4 AAA's on charge for 15 and a half...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Skye


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow charging but well made and excellent value, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
I've been using an Energizer Universal Charger for the past two or three years and noticed that it was charging faster and faster and my suspicions were aroused when my mouse batteries kept dying within a couple of days. Was it the batteries, some being 3 years old, but surely not the 6 months old 7 Day Shop ones, or the expensive Uniross's?

So, not knowing what was wrong, I ordered this dinky charger as it was almost the lowest price - it wouldn't be an expensive mistake if my problems weren't down to the old charger after all.

First impressions are that it's solidly made and quite weighty. A few things that threw me, at first were, the instruction sheet (with a few spelling errors) that had only a few lines of actual instruction and loads of stupid health and safety stuff) stated that the red LED's came on when the batteries were inserted. Mine went green. Did this mean that they were fully charged? So, tried all my rechargables (over 20!) and they all lit up green. Re-reading the sheet, it then became apparent that the LED's simply go out when charge is completed. So, if your LED's aren't the colour you thought, make allowances...

Whereas that old Energizer unit was huge and with curved sides, this unit is small, being just over the width of 4 AA's side by side and plugs straight in, via the U.K. type plug - no adaptors or U.S style pins to fiddle with or worry about. One thing though, if you try and plug it into a multi-socket extension, its width won't allow you to plug another plug in either side of it. The pins being at the top of the unit should allow it to be plugged into the top part of a two-way plug, directly into the wall, but I haven't actually tried this. The unit does get noticeably warm in operation, but not hot.

Charging - not for those in a hurry - but trickle-charging (as it used to be called) should lengthen the life of both the unit and batteries, compared to quick chargers. None of my batts were fully depleted and so it's difficult to gauge but a set of Uniross AA's (2500mAh) charged only a week ago by the Energizer took about 6 hours before the LEDs went out. Most type should take less long. I have no means of testing such things and don't know how much extra topping up they required over and above what the Energizer gave.

The instruction sheet states: AA 1600mAh - 8hrs; AA 2100mAh - 11hrs; AAA 800mAh - 4hrs; PP3 9v 250mAh - 13hrs. The batteries have to be charged in equal pairs.

We all know that manufacturer's figures are usually very optimistic but would say that at least an overnight charging is required for all types and possibly longer. If like me and you don't have any 'normal' AA or AAA's any more, I would get into a routine of always having a set on charge, or at least until they're all done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battery Charger, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. T. Fisher (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
This product is very easy and reliable to use. One nice feature is when the batteries are fully charged the Leds extinguish. The product does exactly what was written on the box and is reliable. The only down side is that pp3 batteries take approx 13 hours to charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
Well, i bought this for obvious reasons and to be fair it is neat and tidy.
However, the guidlines on the box regarding charging times is way off.
AAA batteries,according to the blurb and product info on the Amazon page,should take 4 hours to charge. Now i dont know if that means 1 battery or 4, it does'nt say.
I had 4 AAA's on charge for 15 and a half hours and the LED indicator lights were still not extinguished to indicate a full charge so i gave up.
I contacted the seller to enquire as to how long they should take and he abrubtly replied with ' 24 hours '
No polite explanation, just '24 hours' and an add-on to say that this is an Amazon issue and contact them for help. Amazon did help.
The product does eventually seem to do the job but be prepared for a long-haul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant inexpensive charger, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
A great little charger that doesn't cost the earth and works like a charm. Accepts all sorts of different sizes, very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
I like this battery charger - I leave it on overnight to charge, and the batteries are ready in the morning. I am told that slower chargers like this prolong the life of the batteries, so am very pleased with my well priced purchase. Only thing I would say is that it's not that easy to get the batteries out, but I can live with this for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact and efficient, 5 July 2012
By 
Ajay Clare (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
I've owned a few battery chargers in the past, and most of them can be quite bulky and large, making it hard to fit into sockets where there isn't a lot of room around. So it was nice to find this one was nice and compact. It's very easy to use and well packaged. It would have been nice to have some sort of small manual giving a breakdown of charge times (rather than having them displayed on the box), but other than that the charger performs just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charge for a small Charge ....., 25 May 2012
By 
A. K. Haynes (Norfolk,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
Very pleased with this product; arrived promptly and put straight to work. Simple to use, and
excellent value for money. Would recommend as a good Budget purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lloytron Battery Charger, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
This is good value for the money. I was concerned as there is no way of knowing when the batteries are fully charged. I emailed the company and they were very helpful and sent me a chart showing charging times for the different batteries.I already have one that goes green on full charge, but it cost a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LLOYTRON BATTERY CHARGER, 1 Mar 2014
By 
JohnB "John" (Cirencester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
Great product that provides enough space for a number of battery sizes and charges up on an electrical power point. Highly recommended. So good in fact, I bought two - one for me and another for my daughter. Plentiful supply of rechargeable batteries needed with Apple wireless keyboard and Magic Mouse, so this charger is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron Compact AA/AAA Plus PP3 Battery Charger (Accessory)
It's not easy to ensure the batteries are fully charged, because when the lights go out, the charger is switched on again, it appears they are still not fully charged. However, I've used the batteries and hopefully, they will last a while. Perhaps the more expensive version would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews