Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars49
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
43
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£15.87+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2010
I thought it a culmination of modern technology when I bought this album whilst sat on the toilet. You may think that statement has nothing to do with whether you should buy this or not; but fear not - it's completely relevent.

You see I like films and I especially like films that pay attention to their music (Cameron Crowe for example), but film soundtracks are a hit and miss affair. So I took some time before deciding to buy the Scott Pilgrim soundtrack. I analysed the artist list and recognised only one or two of them and started to feel nervous about the purchase. I decided to use my time on the ceramic throne to listen to the album before purchase. O.M.G. Best. Album. Ever.

It's a genuinely brilliant standalone album. Of course, having seen and loved the film before listening to the soundtrack I may be a little more biased. But to heck with you social decorum; I'm right on this!

From the outset scream of 'WE ARE SEX BOB-OMB', flowing through to the Indie thrash of Garbagetruck and the outstanding track Black Sheep; this album has a brilliant pace. Even the bonus tracks (which lets face it, bonus tracks are normally excluded from a full release for a reason) have real presence and add something to the mix.

If you've seen and love the film - you will simply revel in this music. There's no annoying dialoge over music (a-la Anchorman), this is purely about the music. Of course if you've not seen the film it might not have as much relevenace but I would still challenge you to dislike this set list.

So the summary of this presentation, always do you research, buy this album and eat a diet that is high in fibre.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Okay, if you're hovering over this one don't hover any more - it is worth buying as the reviews attest. It is also worth getting this vinyl version even if you already have the CD/download.

Personally, I think the album works well because it recreates the tongue in cheek romance and seriousness of the Scott Pilgrim universe and also captures something of its time. Though with more of a "cult" appeal and different music, the album is as much a part of SP's world now as classic soundtracks such as Saturday Night Fever and Grease defined their own musical worlds. It really is a slice of history (at least for my son and I!).

I won't say much about the music itself because I'm guessing you'll know something about the books/films, and have probably heard at least some of the tracks already. I think the musical genius of the compilation is the way it works with the film and uses songs themed around the characters and their garage band styles which are performed by music giants such as the Stones, T Rex, and Beck, as well as several more modern groups that just all gel together really well. I think that's a rare thing.

What I really want to highlight though is how beautiful the vinyl version of this album looks and sounds. Since its first limited edition release in 2010, the vinyl LP version rapidly sold out and became sought after by SP fans and record collectors alike. It regularly went for extortionate prices on ebay. This year (2013) the same translucent red vinyl album has been reissued and is properly priced at around £20 or so. Sure, some of the tracks are intentionally "harsh" listening, and with about an hour of music crammed onto 2 sides there is a little distortion/grove echo in places, but this is barely noticeable. Compared to the CD, the album sounds more listenable, laid back and "live". I liked the CD, but love the vinyl. Even if you don't have a record player, the red vinyl is a thing of beauty and worth adding to any Scott Pilgrim or music collection.

(CD bought from Amazon; vinyl bought elsewhere as last time around I was too slow to grab an Amazon copy before supplies ran out).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
If you didn't get the chance to see Scott Pilgrim Vs the World, then you missed out on one of the most original and clever films of all time. Edgar Wright (known more for British smash hits Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz)always hits the mark anyway. Ever since the days of TV series Spaced, he has continually approached subjects with a witty and intellegent manner. Scott Pilgrim is based on a comic book series by Brian Lee O'Malley and the film shows it. Sticking religiously to the comic-style effects and fight scenes.

Enough about the film though...this is about the soundtrack. When I first read about the film, it was immediately mentioned that the film's music content was second to none. Sticking to Canadian indie bands and artists, along with better known classic tracks from the likes of Rolling Stones and T Rex. Most notable though is the original material that was recorded. Alternative band Metric and famously "out there" artist Beck offer up some great tracks. Some being listed under the guise of two of the film's fictional bands in Sex Bob-Omb and Crash and the Boys.

For those of you who are like me and enjoy the more underground music sound, this album will definately appeal. Plumtree, Frank Black, The Bluetones, Blood Red Shoes...the list goes on. Inside the glossy inlay, alongside various stils from the film, there is a note from Mr Wright himself. It states that the soundtrack has been selected using playlists printed on the back pages of O'Malley's volumes and mix tapes that were passed back and forth across the atlantic.

If however you enjoy more of the type of band that is found very easily on any pub jukebox, then maybe stear clear and buy the film instead as the visuals complement the sound, allowing easier absorption!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
This soundtrack is sooo awesomee! Really, it is. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World's OST features 19 songs all taken from the movie. You have a mix of songs from the bands in the story like Sex Bob-Omb and Crash and the Boys (whose songs are really epic, haha), and other songs played in the background. All of them really fit the Scott Pilgrim world perfectly, there's some very different styles here, Sex Bob-Omb have a very grunge like music, you have some softer songs like "By Your side" and "Ramona", and some real cool rock/pop songs, my personal highlight being "Black Sheep" by Metric. And they all help tell the Scott Pilgrim story. If you read the comics, you'd know that music is a very important part to the author and the story as he even included a playlist in some of his books for you to listen. The songs here are really one with the movie, i cannot imagine wathing the movie without this music, it's one of the most original soundtracks for any movie, which is suppose is normal since the movie is one of a kind too.

If you loved the movie, you'll love this soundtrack, simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2011
The film left me a bit bemused (as per my review) but the soundtrack doesn't. Absolutely great collection of songs on here. The tracks performed by the fictional Sex Bob-Omb caught my attention in the movie and seeing here that they were written by Beck probably explains it. I've always been a bit of a Beck fan, but the scuzzy basslines, the raw drum and guitar sounds and the mumbling lyrics are all just glorious.

The record is rounded out with quite a few other tracks featured in the film, and they're all great too. There are one or two that are maybe a bit lightweight, but overall the quality is fanastic. Anything with a bit of Frank Black on there is bound to be good. Nice Rolling Stones track, a bit of T-Rex. Worth it too for the alternative versions of the Sex Bob-Omb songs performed by Beck himself.

Best soundtrack I've bought in a long long time. "We're Sex Bob-Omb and we're here to make you think about death and get sad and stuff"... Hahah, brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
Just like the film, the soundtrack to Scott Pilgrim vs the World does not disappoint. If you a fan of the graphic novels or not, you have to love the carefully crafted OST that goes side by side with the marvellous visual representation of Brian Lee O'Malley creation. The original and dirty sound of Sex Bob-Omb is just fantastic, put them alongside some cracking tunes like "I Heard Ramona Sing" and "Under My Thumb" it makes for an album you'll listen to again and again. Also props have to be given to the Crash and the Boys songs which are just awesome.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
The Scoot Pilgrim vs The World soundtrack is a great collection of songs from the film. Featuring bands like Metro, Plumtree and Beck, its a great listen and a great collectors item in this red vinyl disc form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
I've only listened to the album once, and have just started the second listen, but I can already tell this is one CD that is going to be played alot. From the raw, crazy sound of Scott's band Sex Bob-Omb, to classic's from T-Rex and The Rolling Stone's and to the genius that is Beck, this soundtrack is one of a kind. Also, just like the above reviewer, I have to agree that Crash and the Boys are brilliant.

My current favourites include:

Scott Pilgrim - Plumtree
We Hate You, Please Die - Crash and the Boys
It's Getting Boring By The Sea - Blood Red Shoes

Well, it's actually difficult to pick favourites when all the tracks are superb. Just buy it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Just like the movie, the soundtrack is an eclectic mix. I love the Sex Bob-Omb tracks most of all (especially 'Threshold') but the more familiar stuff (Broken Social Scene, Beck, etc.) is all good alt-rock. Great to see Blood Red Shoes on a compilation, and I hope it makes more people check them out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
I purchased this a while ago but after listening to it for the 20th time it is still interesting enough to keep me pressing the replay button. Street party soon and no doubt some of these tracks will be making their way on my music mix. Recommended to those who enjoyed the film (each track makes you think where it was played in the movie) and great for those who haven't but are fans of grunge music (beck writes and produces sex-bob-omb tracks). I know a lot of movie soundtracks seem to be really naff but this one pretty decent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)