Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars9
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.39
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2010
Reminiscent of those old Richard Allen pulps such as Skinhead and Suedehead, McQuaker's Die Hard Mod takes us on an uncompromising roller-coaster ride from the mean streets of Belfast to the bohemian sun-drenched Laines of Brighton. Steve the Mod has to leave Belfast after the local sectarians take a dislike to him, so he travels to the natural home of all Mods, Brighton. He soon, however, finds that it is not the hedonistic nirvana he was expecting and things go form bad to worst when several blasts from the past make an unwelcome appearance. McQuaker is a skilful writer taking us through the prose with the pace of highly tuned Lammy heading down the A47 to Great Yarmouth. He captures the sense of loss and bitterness as Steve tries to negotiate his way through this modern world in which he feels out of place wherever he goes. I highly recommend this read to fans of both the pulp genre and the Mod culture and anyone seeking simple, but hard hitting literary entertainment.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
Pure pop pulp of the most lurid and gratuitious kind. A thoroughly unwholesome mixture of wanton violence, seemy sex, mugs of tea and high cholesterol breakfasts. Who could ask for anything more? A classic of its kind.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
I can heartily recommend this book as it captivated me from the moment that I picked it up. It is full of the attention to little details that appeal to me. Steve Millican is in a heap of trouble in Belfast so he high tails it to Brighton to take in the pervading sense of freedom and mod culture. A love story angle adds a great dimension and keep you guessing as to the outcome. The end scene action is unexpected and was so satisfying that I reread it a good few times! A guaranteed great read for anybody that has an interest in Mod culture or just enjoys a rattling good read! 5/5 stars with satisfaction guaranteed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
Charlie McQuaker's blistering Die Hard Mod ...

`One perfect summer, Steve the Mod got his kicks with the beautiful but wild Jeanie - now life's just giving him a right good kicking...
Set in the troubled back streets of Belfast and the thrill-seeking underworld of Brighton, Die Hard Mod is a fast-paced tale of lust, love, friendship and righteous retribution.'

Charlie McQuaker's Die Hard Mod is not only a rush of a read, it looks great too.

The book has a beautiful retro cover with an aged look that gives the impression that it's an old Seventies's paperback - maybe by Richard Allen ( in fact McQuaker says 'I thought I'd have a bash at doing my own version of what I imagined Richard Allen did with the `Skinhead series of books thoug I've never actually read any of them!) -that has been stuffed in someones back pocket for about twenty years.

It's perfectly paced, in pint sized chapters and is a great hangover cure.

Don't start it in a Sunday night, though, because you'll probably throw a sicky on Monday morning so you can finish it.

Die Hard Mod is the latest
release from Pulp Press - a new
publishing house which aims
to give the pulp fiction genre
a 21st century makeover

and whose brilliant slogan is

Turn Off Your TV And Discover Fiction Like It Used To Be ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Terrible,just cliche after cliche. More like junk fiction than pulp.You'd need to be 'hard' in the head not to see every single ludicrous shallow plot 'turn' miles in advance, and then whinge inwardly when they arrive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
I loved this walk through the seedy underbelly of Brighton.

Looking forward to the next offering of McQuaker - this was great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
If he's a Mod why is he dressed like a brickie's mate?

Perhaps you can judge a book by its cover...
44 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.