Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll have only one question..
I won't waste your time telling you about the plot, or that it is critically-acclaimed, or that Alec Baldwin is in it. Amazon.co.uk have already done this. What I will do is give you a few - of many, many - reasons why I love 30 Rock so much.

I love comedy, and I particularly love American television comedies. But I am very picky and don't watch a series...
Published on 5 Feb. 2010 by harry stotle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good performance from Alec Baldwin
Initially unsure but it grew on me. Some very funny lines and you really get into the characters by the end of the season. Good but not fantastic.
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Louis


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll have only one question.., 5 Feb. 2010
I won't waste your time telling you about the plot, or that it is critically-acclaimed, or that Alec Baldwin is in it. Amazon.co.uk have already done this. What I will do is give you a few - of many, many - reasons why I love 30 Rock so much.

I love comedy, and I particularly love American television comedies. But I am very picky and don't watch a series unless I really like it.

This show has the intelligence and subtlety of 'Frasier', the subversiveness of 'Sarah Silverman', the sheer random quirky cut-aways of 'Scrubs', and the non-stop pace of 'Family Guy'. But don't think this is just a pick 'n' mix; it is blended into a quality comedy that could be the new 'Friends' - in popularity, not style.

The writing is brilliant: the humour is always on the money, and at times laugh-out-loud-and-rewind funny.
The whole acting industry (including both 30 Rock and its actors) are sent up with spot-on paradies and in-jokes. There are threads of humour that span a full episode or a full season, but also stand-alone sequences lasting a mere 3 or 4 seconds (You Tube will provide you with these).
The show also manages to seamlessly blend, as opposed to clumsily 'insert', hints of genuinely touching, believable emotion.

The characters are not what you'd call 'realistic' in the sense of, say, 'The Office' characters, but within the context of the programme (call it a heightened reality if you like) they are generally rounded and believable. I must add that each and every one is played to perfection; kudos to the casting team.

Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin are clearly the stars, but the performances put in by the 'supporting' cast are anything but. You feel like the show could allocate major screen time to any of the cast and deliver.

If you like to watch comedies where the entire production team take seriously the job of entertaining you, without taking themselves seriously in the process; where the humour is intelligent but not smug with it; the characters are believable but not boring; and the show does not set out to change your life - and despite/because of this may give you genuine pause for thought, then you will probably adore 30 Rock.

****The only reason I gave this product 4 and not 5 stars, is because 30 Rock the show is 5/5. But the product i.e. DVD season 1 is vanilla: there are pretty much no extras. You would hope for something more (I expect future seasons will have extras) but, that said, Amazon are selling at a very low price.

So: buy this DVD, watch it, love it, and you'll have only one question: 'How can I get a job at 30 Rock?!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Rock - Wow! This show rocks!!!, 28 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I caught a few episodes on tv then it seemed to disappear so it's good to get the whole season on dvd. I tried buying it in my local Borders but their packs were faulty with 2 disc 3's and no disc 2.

Boy was I glad to receive mine through Amazon and find out it had the correct discs.

This show is amazing, I don't know how Tina Fey does all she does but I'm glad she does it. This woman has an amazing brain and a spot on sense of humour that translates well to UK humour.

If you want escapism and a laugh then buy this boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Rock: One of our tv's finest, 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Rock - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a Tina Fey fan like me you already know how amazing this show is. One of the best comedy shows out there and yet very underrated, for some reason. As it seems the other reviews already said it all when it comes to the intellectual and comedic value of this show, so i may just go in a different direction and simply tell you about the bonus features you will find in this boxset, something that amazon usually likes to omit.

First season doesn't have any bonus features.

Season 2 Bonus Features:

Deleted Scenes
"Cooter" table read
30 Rock Live At The UCB Theatre
Tina hosts SNL
An Evening With 30 Rock
Easter Egg Bloomers

Season 3 Bonus Features:

Audio Commentary by Tina Fey, Jon Hamm, Alan Alda, Jack McBrayer, Jane Krakowski and More
Deleted Scenes
Behind The Scenes With The Muppets
1-900-OKFACE
Season Finale Table Read
The Making Of "Kidney Now!"
Photo Gallery
And More... As Far As You Know

Season 4 Bonus Features:

Extended Versions Of "Secret Santa" and "I Do I Do"
Audio Commentary by Tina Fey, Alec Baldwin, Jane Krakowski, Jack McBrayer, Jon Hamm, Scott Adsit, John Lutz, Jeff Richmond, Don Scardino and Lorne Michaels
Deleted Scenes
Behind the Scenes Of "The Moms" and "I Do I Do"
Food Network's Ace Of Cakes: 30 Rock (And Roll)
Tennis Night in America
Photo Gallery

As for subtitles you'll only find them in english and exclusively for season 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious - but with a big heart..., 10 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love '30 Rock'. It's a perfect blend of extreme silliness, clever writing, brilliant comedy timing (Alec Baldwin....sending himself up in just about every scene) and cheerful, ensemble lunacy. There is also some genuine character and relationship development, so we get to know and like the mad staff of 'TGS'. Buy this and give yourself a treat - it was the mainstay of my snowed-in Christmas - just me, snuggled in a blanket, drinking a nice Sauvignon Blanc and laughing like a maniac over my '30 Rock' boxed set.... Heaven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking comedy series overlooked in UK, 23 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the funniest series currently about, which again is overlooked by UK tv. Not quite on a par with Arrested Development (criminally neglected by UK stations) but more accessible (more character development investment in Arrested Dev before it really sucks you in). Everyone seems to talk about Alec Balwin, and he is excellent in this, but it really is an ensemble piece. Consistently funny - and I can't say that about too many shows at the moment. Waiting for season 2 to come out in UK. Bargain price at Amazon for stacks of episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 30 Rock - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
I'd seen the odd one on tv and thought it was quite good, if a bit different. Given all the great reviews here, I decided to give the whole 1-4 box set a go.

It turned out to be be very funny and enjoyable, and one of those rare shows where you keep wanting to watch just one more. It's unusual in that it doesn't have a laughter track, so it often comes across as relatively subtle humour.

There are 5 main characters - Liz, Jack, Tracy, Jenna and Kenneth. Liz is neurotic, clever and sharp-witted, Jack is suave, shameless and super-cool and Kenneth is very funny and endearing as the honourable hillbilly turned page with a heart of gold and a folksy saying for every eventuality.

It definitely helps seeing the show from the start, as you understand clearly where they all fit in and there are also general over-arching story lines. There are a lot of laugh-out-loud moments, particularly from Liz and Kenneth, so it's simply a great buy.

It's not quite up to the same stellar standard as Frasier, but then nothing is, although it's pretty much the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 20 Aug. 2010
This review is from: 30 Rock - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
A massive treat. Hours and hours of one of the best, funniest and most investive comedies for years.

Was always reluctant to start watching this show, simply because I'd not heard an awful lot about it. After a couple of episodes it became a must see highlight and soon probably my favourite show. Always looked forward to the next episode and all too easy to `just watch another' with the box sets.

Always maintains the same standard that has maintained it so far with plenty of exceptional moments. The characters are still all hugely dysfunctional but written with enormous affection and comic effect. The situations beautifully constructed.

A massive treat for exisiting fans or, if you haven't yet seen any yet buy this now you will not regret it. One of the best comedies on TV for a long time, I only hope the writers find continue finding the inspiration to continue while finding new angles to explore. Shows absolutely no signs of slowing down yet. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underrated, terrific comedy, 25 April 2008
By 
T. Houston (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Channel surfing late one night, we came across 30Rock on TV and watched three-quarters of one episode. We couldn't believe this wasn't on prime-time TV on a major channel and apart from that one episode I've never seen it shown on TV since.

Although totally different to 'The Office' it's along the same lines. The humour is sometimes laugh out loud, but often it's cringingly funny. There is no one 'star' - although my family all have their own favourites - but rather all the cast play roles which contribute to the overall program.

This set is excellent value: each episode is around 25 minutes and there are 21 episodes. Great comedy which deserves to have as much recognition as the likes of Frasier and Friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, funny, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
Hiroki N (Tokyo, JAPAN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Rock - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny, no doubt.
Although, it's a kind pity that not all the episodes have English subtitles.
Unfortunately,I'm not a native English speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Funny, 27 Oct. 2008
This is a great example of the type of ensemble comedy series that the Americans do so well. A great central cast, quirky storylines and entertaining guest appearances make this a must watch.
Would recommend this on a par with Scrubs, How I met Your Mother and Arrested Development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30 Rock - Season 1-4 [DVD]
30 Rock - Season 1-4 [DVD] by Alec Baldwin (DVD - 2010)
£13.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews