Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice
This is something very simple which i think alot of people would think i dont need that.
But it really does help with balancing out the light on your flash,
It was very easy to adjust to my flash so now its just a case of slip on slip off.
Some light can be lost from the back but its just to use something to close it up a little more.
All in all it...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by Cliff

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but flimsy
You won't get better for cheaper, that's for sure. but taking it for what it is, forgetting cheapness: It does the job for casual shooting/family portraits etc ... but I wouldn't use this for professional/paid jobs. It could end up making you look clumsy and cheap. As mentioned in other reviews, the velcro strap isn't very good, it never stays tight. You need to use the...
Published on 19 May 2011 by Keith G


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 7 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
This is something very simple which i think alot of people would think i dont need that.
But it really does help with balancing out the light on your flash,
It was very easy to adjust to my flash so now its just a case of slip on slip off.
Some light can be lost from the back but its just to use something to close it up a little more.
All in all it does its job and im satisfied, its a good little buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cheap alternative, 30 Nov 2010
By 
R. Howe (IOW, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
Was very pleased with this purchase, other alternatives were far too overpriced, this was more reasonable. it folds away nicely and can fit in your pocket if your travelling light.

I used this with a Nikon SB-600 and the only problem I had with it was that I had to be abit aware about keeping it on the flash gun, it simply slides on, but again can easily slide off. the results though are very pleasing producing a nice, soft light.

I would recommend this product for the budding amateur photographer, I'll proberbly buy another one when I get my next flash gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but flimsy, 19 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
You won't get better for cheaper, that's for sure. but taking it for what it is, forgetting cheapness: It does the job for casual shooting/family portraits etc ... but I wouldn't use this for professional/paid jobs. It could end up making you look clumsy and cheap. As mentioned in other reviews, the velcro strap isn't very good, it never stays tight. You need to use the elastic band that is supplied. If you lose this, well, you're left with a very loose fitting soft box that will blow off in anything more than a slight breeze. It's also very cheap feeling, soft cheap plastic all around. But, you get what you pay for. If you want something nice and portable for indoor use to diffuse flash, it'll do the job. Just don't think it'll do for outdoor work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but cheerful softbox, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
Included in the pack: softbox; velcro cinch strap; large elastic band.
The item is a small folding softbox which attaches over the head of most small to medium sized on-camera flashguns (in my case, a Canon 430EX speedlight). It has no framework, being made from a fairly thick flexible plastic that makes the item self-supporting when folded into the correct shape for use. It is then retained in this shape with a supplied velcro strap which can be cinched tight to help retain the unit on the flash head. Other reviewsers have complained that the unit slips easily off the flash-head and I too found this, until I realised that the elastic band is slipped onto the flash first, before the softbox is fitted. Once the velcro strap is cinched tight the elastic band provides enough friction to secure the box in place perfectly well.
The item is not fantastically well made, but it is inexpensive. It will certainly take the 'edge' off direct flash and help spread it more evenly (at the cost, obviously, of some output power) but don't expect a wonderful ultra-soft lighting effect, it's much too small for that and even larger units designed for camera flash units aren't terribly effective in that respect.
I use it for photographing insects and flowers, usually off-camera and held over or to one side of the subject. For this it is very effective, being (relatively speaking) similiar to the huge 'fish-fryer' units used in large product photography, giving a nice sharp but wrap-round light quality.
Within its limitations and at this price, a perfectly useful product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flash Diffuser, 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
Bought this when my original Nikon diffuser went missing,firstly its cheap so did not expect much, but works a treat giving a much softer light. It folds flat so easy to put away in my camera bag, I did find using the Velcro strap suppled was not a tight fit and the diffuser could easily slide off my Nikon SB-600, but using the rubber band, which was also included and omitting the strap altogether worked much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Really Works !, 20 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
I had read the various reviews of this and ordered it with a feeling of "Ah well it's only a fiver" , it arrived very quickly a full week before the earliest forecast date and was well wrapped . First impressions that it was only a little bit of plastic , however the very next day I (with other members of our local camera club) were to take pictures of children with Father Christmas at the local Community Centre as part of a Christmas Fair . Santa's Grotto turned out to be small , dark and lined mostly with aluminium foil, anything but ideal conditions for flash photography . The diffuser attached to my Nissan Di622 flashgun, held in place by the rubber band , although this looked a little flimsy in fact it stayed securely in place all day with no problems at all. I was very pleasantly surprised by the results, the lighting was much softer than raw flash would have been , shadows were soft , lighting even , surprisingly little glare from the foil ,and NO Red-eye ! Comments from the parents of the subjects were very good , at least one "Best photo of him I have ever had" . My colleague was using Nikon equipment with a very much more expensive diffuser and the results were indistinguishable .
Longevity remains to be tested , as this was only yesterday , but I am very satisfied with my purchase , it has already proved well worth it's very modest cost. Recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fit for purpose, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
I was not happy with this product. Despite the claims, it simply didn't fit my Canon Speedlight. Even if it had, the infra-red assist beam would have been blocked. It looked and felt cheap and tacky and it was returned. In fairness, a full refund, but simply not fit for purpose. The one I bought in place of, was more expensive at 40, but was a world away in terms of quality, fit and results. This product does not cut the mustard and I advise against buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good even light, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
Have finally got around to using this photographing a group of 35 people in a poorly lit hotel bar. Great results with good even light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than it looks, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
This soft box required a bit of "Blue Peter" effort to assemble and get fitted properly, but having done that, it worked extremely well on my Metz 36 flash gun. I leave the Metz diffuser on as well, and together they give a really nice soft lighting effect which can be mistaken for natural light.
It works best at close distances, for mug shots and animals plus macro, and of course away from the camera.
It is not a portable studio, but what do you expect for a fiver! It is also light and folds up so that it slips in a pocket, and so far pretty robust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible build quality, 28 Sep 2011
By 
R. Davis "RoBert Davis" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mini Universal Studio Soft Box Flash Diffuser for Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony, Sigma, Minolta Metz Sigma Sunpak,BV & Jo, Other External Flash Units,YN-460,YN-465,YN-560,580ex,420ex,380ex,430ex,SB-900,SB-800,SB-600. (Electronics)
The loops on this item are terrible they were nearly hanging off when purchased then as soon as I touched they fell off. Do not buy this product from anyone at all it is terrible it is worth about 2. It also comes with no instructions and comes with a weird black rubber band which is still a mystery why that comes with it as it doesnt fit over the end to hold it on. Also it happens to fall off quite a lot which if it could slide on wouldnt be a problem but when it slides off you have to place it back on properly. Maybe a bit of grip inside would of held it on so now I need to attach my own velcro inside the product and on my flash to make sure it stays on. I would never reccomend this product to anyone. I only purchased this as I needed one quick for a photoshoot now I wish I had just covered it with a piece of paper as this was way too much to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews