Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal theology from GKC
G.K. Chesterton's output in the field of literature is prolific and well-known; his Father Brown stories are still read and loved today. Unlike C.S.Lewis, who claimed to have "smuggled Christianity" in his novels, Chesterton's philosophic take on Christianity s often explicit in his writing.

In The Thing: Why I am a Catholic, however,Chesterton writes...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by C. Hawkes

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too wordy
I am still struggling to find out why Chesterton was a Catholic - this is a motley collection of essays written in a very wordy style that often loses the point along the way. The articles are very, very much based in his time with many references to people and views that mean nothing to the modern reader but which aren't explained because, at the time he was writing,...
Published 18 months ago by Partisan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal theology from GKC, 18 Jun 2012
By 
C. Hawkes "Livefats" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
G.K. Chesterton's output in the field of literature is prolific and well-known; his Father Brown stories are still read and loved today. Unlike C.S.Lewis, who claimed to have "smuggled Christianity" in his novels, Chesterton's philosophic take on Christianity s often explicit in his writing.

In The Thing: Why I am a Catholic, however,Chesterton writes personally (and episodically) about his Christian beliefs and his decision to enter the Catholic Church - and philosophically about the implications of his Catholicism in his own life and his world view.

Whether Christian or not, any reader interested in an empirical discussion about the relationship between belief and behaviour will find this thought-provoking. And, being by GKC, it is of course intelligently written. It is a fixture in my Kindle collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chesterton, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
Who else, apart from Cardinal Newman or CS Lewis is better for being a proponent of Catholicism. This book is written in plain, easily understandable English, and with conviction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Thirty-five thought provoking G K Chesterton papers, 17 April 2006
Another of G.K. Chesterton's excellent collections, this one entitled 'The Thing', published in 1929. It has 35 enjoyable and thought provoking papers:

1. Introduction

2. The Sceptic As Critic

3. Is Humanism A Religion?

4. The Drift From Domesticity

5. Logic And Lawn Tennis

6. Obstinate Orthodoxy

7. The Usual Article

8. Why I Am A Catholic

9. What Do They Think?

10. The Mask Of The Agnostic

11. The Early Bird In History

12. Protestantism: A Problem Novel

13. A Simple Thought

14. The Call To The Barbarians

15. On The Novel With A Purpose

16. The Revolt Against Ideas

17. The Feasts And The Ascetic

18. Who Are The Conspirators?

19. The Hat And The Halo

20. On Two Allegories

21. The Protestant Superstitions

22. On Courage And Independence

23. The Nordic Hindoo

24. Spiritualist Looks Back

25. The Roots Of Sanity

26. Some Of Our Errors

27. The Slavery Of The Mind

28. Inge Versus Barnes

29. What We Think About

30. The Optimist As A Suicide

31. The Outline Of The Fall

32. The Idols Of Scotland

33. If They Had Believed

34. Peace And The Papacy

35. The Spirit Of Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thing: Why I Am a Catholic - G. K. Chesterton, 9 April 2014
By 
stephen Walsh (BRADFORD, West Yorkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
Chesterton brought his considerable intellect to bear on his exposition of his beliefs,but he never lost friends or the respect of those
who were on the other side of the argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too wordy, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Partisan (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
I am still struggling to find out why Chesterton was a Catholic - this is a motley collection of essays written in a very wordy style that often loses the point along the way. The articles are very, very much based in his time with many references to people and views that mean nothing to the modern reader but which aren't explained because, at the time he was writing, everyone understood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Admirable man - mishmash of a book, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (East Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
Outdated re-hash of old religious controversies with little relevance to today's religious attitudes. Fails to give convincing reasons as to why he was a Catholic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Chesterton and I loved reading this book.
He is a genious, no dought!
I lent it to friends :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed reading it., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
Nice book, however often did not know who the writer was referring to. Would recommend as it is true critique of society
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I haven't finished it yet., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic (Kindle Edition)
I find Mr Chesterton a little too verbose for my liking. Perhaps it's my lack of understanding.

It seems to me that he is in the middle of an argument with some others of whom I do not know. I realise of course that he is defending the catholic faith against some ridicule or other but, until I actually know the argument it leaves e with a constant question mark. Again this may be due to own lack of knowledge on the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thing: Why I Am A Catholic
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews