Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Note: this is the same link for two different stories; sort it out Amazon!
Before marking any reviews as 'unhelpful', note that an Amazon error means that this page is for both 'Made of Steel' and 'Revenge of the Judoon'. To circumnavigate the problem I'll include reviews for both books here.

As an English teacher I am well aware of the barrage of criticism aimed at the literacy levels of many of today's children. What you have here...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Cybermen - In an average way
I decided to pick this book up because I found that the BBC Books' scarcely seem to publish a Cyberman story. So I was thankful of this addition to the line up, even if the book is a "Quick Read" book.
I was also happy to learn that Terrance Dicks has returned to writing Doctor Who stories, as he is a big name in the classic series and wrote the brilliant...
Published 9 months ago by G. K. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Cybermen - In an average way, 23 Mar 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to pick this book up because I found that the BBC Books' scarcely seem to publish a Cyberman story. So I was thankful of this addition to the line up, even if the book is a "Quick Read" book.
I was also happy to learn that Terrance Dicks has returned to writing Doctor Who stories, as he is a big name in the classic series and wrote the brilliant 20th Anniversary story "The Five Doctors"

This book deals with the after-effects of the 2006 story "Doomsday". Only a small group of Cybermen remain on Earth. They are trying to bring themselves back to power by stealing technology from the Earth's military forces. It's the job of the 10th Doctor and Martha to stop them.
Firstly, the good points. Devoted fans of Doctor Who will know that in the TV series, Martha never met the Cybermen. It is therefore nice to see how she interacts with them in this book. It is also nice to see how people reacted to her vanishing from the Royal Hope hospital and left her friends questioning where she had gone.
Terrance Dicks has also introduced a couple of new characters that the Doctor interacts with. The military have two main characters. Whilst we don't explore them in great depth, they help to keep the pace and story going.
Now on to the bad points, the reason I picked this story up was because of the Cybermen being incorporated into the BBC Books range. Whilst it is great to see them here, they are largely kept in the background in this book. Due to this, I felt no sense of urgency or danger coming from them. The Cybermen are also portrayed as scavengers here, having to scrimp and scrape from Earth's technology. Whilst this is an essential plot-point and key to the story, it makes them appear weaker and it is difficult to believe that they were all over the Earth upgrading humanity, only a few stories ago.

In conclusion, I would say this book isn't bad but it isn't brilliant. The story remains balanced on both good and negative points. It is good to see more of Martha's friends and how they reacted to her leaving but the central threat that the story presents is a weak one and it's sad to see the Cybermen so underused, especially when BBC Books rarely do a story with the Cybermen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Note: this is the same link for two different stories; sort it out Amazon!, 12 April 2011
Before marking any reviews as 'unhelpful', note that an Amazon error means that this page is for both 'Made of Steel' and 'Revenge of the Judoon'. To circumnavigate the problem I'll include reviews for both books here.

As an English teacher I am well aware of the barrage of criticism aimed at the literacy levels of many of today's children. What you have here is a superb range of stories that waste little time on preamble but plunge the reader instantly into the story and then keep them hooked right to the end; ideal for kids with short attention spans and those who struggle to wade through a full-length novel.
The new series of Doctor Who has thrown up a range of publications that even rival the golden era of the Target novelisations; the 'Quick Reads' range are just one example of these. Following on from 'I am a Dalek' these two entries in the series once again pit The Doctor and Martha against the remorseless men from Mondas, and the brutal space police with rhinocerid heads. Both novellas deliver fast-paced yet intelligent tales that reflect the current TV series and which are perfect for people who 'don't really like reading'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who quick read, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Made of Steel (Doctor Who: Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
This was a very quick read. I'm an adult and love Doctor Who, but unfortunately this book is written for younger children so I didn't enjoy it. I'll be handing it over to my kids to read; reckon they would enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DELETE, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Made of Steel (Doctor Who: Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
LOve this book very much and thought the story had adventure, suspense and action. Anyone who likes doctor who would like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge on the judoon, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was great.the only bit I didn't like was that it never really explained why it needed the king to help. The king was very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Made of Steel (Doctor Who: Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
The Doctor Who books are great for a quick read and filling in a storyline between episodes, brilliant & fantasic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great..., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fun read on a short adventure with the good Doctor... Probably would have been happier with my purchase had I realised it was a novella & not a novel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made of steel, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Made of Steel (Doctor Who: Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
An brilliant read action packed and thrilling, good story and i could not put it down, however it could have been a little longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short, 27 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Almost written as an introduction to the Doctor, even listing the full text on the TARDIS door. It is very short with a handful of scenes. They do tie in nicely with the series and what happened to the cybermen at the void, but it is over very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant Doctor Who Quick-Read from Terrance Dicks, 22 Jun 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Barcode: 9781846073724

In 2007 Terrance Dicks provided us Who fans with the ace 'Made Of Steel' - it was well paced, fun and exciting - everything a good Doctor Who story should be. And now we have 'Revenge of the Judoon', which if anything, is even better!

Set in 1902 at the dawn of the 20th century the Doctor and Martha get to meet King Edward VII in the form of a ace adventure taking the form of the classic Who scenario - psuedo-historical setting where advanced technology is being involved way before its time.

It's a great idea updated very well. Martha is utilised well and Terrance Dicks has toned down the slight cheesiness of the 10th Doctor found in 'Made of Steel' and he now comes across as a far more serious character, befitting of his title as a Time Lord. The supporting roles are really well done too, Captain Harry Carruthers, a man in the employ of the King stepping in to fill one of those crucial 'one-off-companion-esque' roles.

This is a very fast story, taking place on an epic global scale going from Scotland to London to the Middle East all in the space of a day. But where Dicks succeeds is boiling this epic scale down to tightly paced dialogue and snappy action scenes where we see our heroes forced to make fast decisions in order to save the day.

My only criticisms would be in the title of the book itself. The Judoon are neither the main 'villains' in this story and while their upwards-rain-building-transport technology appears early on, they themselves don't appear till much later. For a story called 'Revenge of the Judoon', they neither do much revenge or even feature in the story that much.

That said though, it's only a minor quibble and on the whole this is a fantastic book, quick to read and at a great price too. Well worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews