Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crushing, pyschadelic "hillbilly" rock...danish style
volbeat return with their second offering of manic, metallica does country style crazyness. id never heard of this band, until by chance, i saw the video to their upcoming single "the gardens tale", and i was blown away by the wonderful changes from a slow, relaxing opening, to a full-on assualt on the senses. wonderful vocals, great drumming and simply fantastic music...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by killswitchstu

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rock-a-billy tedium from Denmark
"Metal that even your mum would like" proclaims their Myspace page. Not totally sure about that but if your dad was a bit of a rocker in his hey-day then maybe he would take a liking to Volbeat. One of Denmark's biggest musical exports (surely that can't be too hard?) Volbeat are here to rock and they are certainly here to roll. Whilst being clearly influenced by...
Published on 13 Mar 2008 by N. Calafato


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crushing, pyschadelic "hillbilly" rock...danish style, 10 Mar 2007
volbeat return with their second offering of manic, metallica does country style crazyness. id never heard of this band, until by chance, i saw the video to their upcoming single "the gardens tale", and i was blown away by the wonderful changes from a slow, relaxing opening, to a full-on assualt on the senses. wonderful vocals, great drumming and simply fantastic music with a obvious scandanavian tinge, this album should be heard and heard loud. to some, it might take a few listens to really feel it, and others (like me) will be hooked instantly. rock the rebel/metal the devil is what it would sound like if the late, great johnny cash had formed a heavy rock group! if you are bored with metalcore and emo, GET THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 8 Mar 2008
Listening to a sampler the other day, it seemed to me that all new bands these days are trying to copy someone else - apart from this one.
Heavy, catchy, and with real singing and tunes! Eureka!
Elvis meets Rockabilly and played by Icon-era Paradise Lost on anti-depressants. Sort of.
For anyone sick of the plague of quiet bit/shouty bit/slow bit/fast bit bands, this is the perfect antidote.
Excellent album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hubba hubba, 29 Mar 2007
By 
I am not exaggerating when I say that this album restored my faith in music. It's a really great album. Simple as that. Like the other reviewer I saw the video for "The Garden's Tale" and felt uplifted. I've been looking for a new band for months/years now and Volbeat are it/them. (doffs cap). There are so many disappointing bands now in the Rock magazines and on the music channels, but Volbeat, with this album and "The Strength/the Sound/the Songs" are everything that made me turn to rock in the first place. In conclusion, Volbeat rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars voltage yes beat yes, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not going to spend time rambling on . just going to say "how the hell have I let 4 albums+ slip by without catching onto these guys."
I have now bought 4 albums and they are REDICULOUSLY good .
Rock & Roll music with a individuality that is awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very Pleased With Seller And Item, Will Use Again Thank You, See You Soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing more you can say really. These are one of the best bands ive heard in ages.
Going to see them play live in October
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good rifs, good songs, good album, 18 Dec 2010
I bought this album on the strength of one track and wasn't disappointed. There's a good mix of songs here to keep many metal fans happy, from the metal / thrash based sounds of "You or Them" and "Mr & Mrs Ness" to the upbeat and uplifting "The Garden's Tale", "Sad Man's Tongue" and "Radio Girl", which, although rooted in metal have healthy influences from rock and roll / rockabilly; some tracks are even reminiscent of a few punk bands . This is a fun album that will have feet tapping and heads banging. JABO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fresh, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. B. Mccluskey (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock The Rebel / Metal The Devil (MP3 Download)
great vocals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rock-a-billy tedium from Denmark, 13 Mar 2008
By 
N. Calafato "Nick Calafato" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Metal that even your mum would like" proclaims their Myspace page. Not totally sure about that but if your dad was a bit of a rocker in his hey-day then maybe he would take a liking to Volbeat. One of Denmark's biggest musical exports (surely that can't be too hard?) Volbeat are here to rock and they are certainly here to roll. Whilst being clearly influenced by Metallica, Priest and Maiden, they unfortunately never get close to being anywhere near as good and often come across as mere copycats. Their sound lends a lot to southern rock, with blues licks appearing many times across the record, particularly on the barn-stomping `Sad Man's Tongue'. The instrumentation is as tight as could be and the vocals are always strong and in tune, but sadly there is simply nothing memorable that stands out. This could have been a fun record but unfortunately, for all of Volbeat's enthusiasm, there just isn't anything here that would garner any sort of repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews