Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2010
I'm actually on my second viewing of this series and I only first watched it yesterday.

Firstly I should mention there are no heroes in this, just a veriety of villians who you can't help but like (well more or less all of them). I should also add this is not for the faint of heart, if you can't stomach graphic violence stay away or better yet toughen up because you don't want to miss out on this.

Ok so the story. It's kind of hard to explain without spoiling the story but i'll do my best. It's set during the early depression and follows several groups of criminals, including thieves, gangsters and bootleggers. It mainly covers the strange events on the Flying Pussyfoot (a transcontinental train which travels across America) Oh don't let me forget to mention it is also a supernatural tale. The story is not told cronologically but jumps around different events in each episode. You will feel confused for quite some time but by the time you've watch several episode the story starts fitting into place. This is the reason I can't tell you more about the plot as it will ruin the series.

The voice acting is supurb. In fact it's the best dub I've ever watched. I love the style and the animtion. It really does have a 1930s feel to it. Oh lets not forget the musical score, obviously to fit the time period it's Jazz and suits the series unbelievably well.

Of course I do have one big problem with this series. 16 episodes is not enough, I mean they did tie everything up but I still want more (I know it's just me being greedy but if you watch it you'll understand)

Anyway purchace this series. I will be when it's released. If you need further convincing I'm sure you could find a trailer for it on youtube. Once again I apologise for not being able to say more but you'd hate me for it if you choose to watch this. I can't recomend it enough.
77 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
Baccano! is a brilliant anime.
The dub is brilliant, the animation superb and the music stylish.
The year is 1931 and transcontinental train The Flying Pussyfoot has a motley crew of people onboard. The loveable thieves Isaac and Miria who are on their way to see their friend Ennis and give her a gift, except they have no gift. A mob dressed in black is planning a kidnapper. A gang dressed in white is also onboard under the leadership of the psgycotic Ladd Russo. A ragtag bunch of bootleggers are on board too, headed by crybaby Jacuzzi Splot and his eyepatch wearing bomb making girlfriend Nice Holystone. There is also Czeslaw Meyer, an immortal 8 year old boy, a newsreporter oh, and the Rail Tracer, a monster.
The story then jumps around before and after the events on the train, mainly involving the location of a bootlegged elixir of immortality. Szilard, the oldest man on the planet wants it back, but who has it? Dallas Genoard, wannabe gangster who has dissapeared? The mob ran by the Gandorf brothers? Or plucky fancy dress wearing thieves Isaac and Miria, who are friends with the being that Szilard has artificially made, Ennis, who has taken the eye of newly initiated gangster Firo, who is friends with Maiza, who goes way back with Szilard and Czeslaw?
Confused?
You will be!
The non linear nature of the story may put some people off but I love it. Due to the fragmented story telling each episode has many cliffhanger moments and you may have to wait a fair few episodes until the story returns to that point and you find out what happends next.
Admittedly the last 3 episodes shouldnt have happened but it does feature Isaac and Miria teaching the mafia how to play domino toppling which is great fun.
I have now watched the show twice through and it really is an excellent piece of work. Exceedingly violent but also funny and clever.
It's wild, crazy, fun, outrageous, uncontrollable brilliance.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
Baccano! isn't about watching a well crafted story unfold with intrinsic planning in every detail. It's about crazy, ridiculously entertaining and loveable characters bouncing, bumping and colliding into each other, defining the story. It's about a setting that puts most others to shame in terms of personality and detail. It's about going outside the mainstream with innovative storytelling and structure. Baccano! goes as far outside the norm as it can. And it's a triumph for it!

Set in 1930's prohibition-era America, Baccano! follows the exploits of a large cast of characters across three separate time periods and distinct settings. From a transcontinental train to the streets of New York, this crazy cast of thieves, gangsters and psychopaths aren't simply involved with the plot, they create it with their interactions and encounters with each other. You really feel like these guys are running the show instead of just being along for the ride, and most the fun of Baccano is seeing what these guys will do next. Everyone has a role to play, but you'll undoubtably have your favourites whether it be because they're funny, strange or simply insane. From the comedy thief duo of Isaac and Miria to the sadistic mafia big mouth Ladd Ruso, they're all a pleasure to watch even when the blood starts flowing. And trust me, it flows. All over the place. Especially when the psychopaths take centre stage.

While the time hopping can become convoluted at times, once you get a grip on what's happening where and when, Baccano will suck you in. You'll be hooked from the first episode, swapping disks desperate to see what happens next. The pacing is kept swift throughout the 12 episode series and the box comes packed with 4 OVAs that are entertaining but not essential. The animation is strong throughout and it's great to see that no shortcuts were taken. The character designs are distinct and well crafted but the real stand outs are the environments, with an incredible attention to period accurate detail. The dub also impresses, with accents and dialogue that fit into the setting just right. Not everyone is brilliant though there are some stand outs that really sell the characters and fill them with life, even at their most absurd. I highly recommend the English dub for this one. The music sounds sweet, hitting where it counts and and drenching the whole show in another layer of atmosphere.

In summary Baccano! is fresh, original and damn entertaining from start to finish. The characters, style, setting and pacing create not only one of the most unique anime in recent years, but also one of the best. One that will stick in your mind long after it's conclusion. Get on board and Baccano! will show you a story well worth your time and money!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
This series is simply great and has become a new favourite of mine! It ticks all the right boxes: it has a huge cast of eccentric, psychotic, interesting and likeable characters, a great story told in a nonlinear fashion, great voice acting in both Japanese and English (I watch my anime in Japanese), a great setting: New York during the 1930s Prohibition Era involving mafia gangs, thieves, assassins and other delinquents; a great, catchy jazz/blues soundtrack (listening to it right now, in fact), solid animation, action, comedy, bloody/gory violence, mystery, horror, a slight dash of romance... It's just such an entertaining show.

The only gripes I have are: the series is too damn short, and the 3 DVD bonus episodes are weaker than the main series. But those are only minor issues. Either way, I'd strongly recommend this to anyone; especially if you're an anime fan or a newbie.

I really hope a second series gets done.
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
Baccano! is probably one of the most interesting animes I've seen more recently. Based on it's premise alone you know that its going to be a great show. Taking place in 1930's America where there is a gang war or turf war between the Martillos, Gandors and Russo crime families. The cast of Baccano! each get their share of character development, mostly reserving an entire episode to showcase their history and involvement up to the point of a fateful night on a train called The Pussyfoot, where a highjacking goes horribly wrong. Using that night as a focal point, Baccano! implements a series of sizable flashback sequences that take us ever deeper as viewers into the bizarre and twisted view of a Prohibition-era America and beyond, intermixing the harsh reality of that period with otherworldly ancient occultism. This approach allows the characters to seem less archetypical in nature and more individualistic, allowing us as viewers to get to know their mannerisms and personalities.

At first the show might seem a bit confusing since there were so many characters, but once the show progresses you'll get a better understanding of what's really going on. There were also many flashbacks with each of the characters and many subplots that are inter-wived within the series, some might be confused by this but this was definitely a great and addictive show. The supernatural element also plays a prominent role as some characters are immortal, they drink some magical elixir that is explained in one of the episodes. The characters were mainly thieves, psychotic criminals, gangsters ect. and so they were a very interesting cast, I particularly liked Isac and Miria who provided the comic relief as a pair of bumbling thieves. they wear all kinds of costumes and then tell themselves to act normal while robbing a store only to screw up, which was hilarious and Lad Russo who plays a typical Joe Pesci type gangster/sociopath.

Although the Japanese voice dub did a great job with the characters I actually preferred the English dub since they captured the characters perfectly, with the heavy New York accent. The series was a lot of fun but also included violent scenes which would make it unsuitable for younger viewers; the actions of 'Rail Tracer' might give them nightmares. The animation looks fantastic, the slight sepia tint giving it a period look and distinctive characters made it a joy to watch, it also had a great musical score to accompany it. The extras provided by Funimation had some trailers and a couple of commentaries which I recommend you listen to since it explains alot of plot details. This anime comes highly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Baccano! is one of the few anime out there which distinguishes itself for all the right reasons and continues to give every time watched. In every consideration it gets full marks, something very few television shows in general can say.

Baccano! (the name is an Italian slang word meaning ruckus, chaos or noise) manages to weave several different themes together in perfect harmony. This show will make you laugh, make you cry, make you shiver, surprise you and that opening theme will make you dance. Comedy, romance, action adventure, murder mystery, horror and tragedy. Each theme plays out with just enough attention given to it to make it poignant without becoming overbearing or overplayed.

Baccano! also has a shockingly large cast. The story line is set over the course of three years, 1930, 1931 and 1932 and focuses on around five stories, which intersect one another at various intervals, with their own clusters of characters. In total there are 21 major characters in the story and in a first, each character gets sufficient character development to stand out on their own. Also unlike most other anime, Baccano! eschews the typical angst filled teenager that populates most anime and instead goes for an older cast with only three characters under the age of eighteen. These characters vary differently in their personalities, agendas and motivations - from the eccentric duo of thieves, Isaac and Miria, to the psychotic Ladd Russo, to the enigmatic Chane, to the cool and sophisticated Luck.

In terms of audio this show scores high once again. The music is pitch perfect for the period, all jazz and big band. The opening theme is a rollicking roller-coaster of brilliant music, featuring a terrific saxophone solo and from there on the music suits every scene. Every minute sounds like something out of a gangster flick and by the end of this series, your feet will be tapping. In terms of voice acting, this remains the only anime I've ever seen where the English dub is actually better than the Japanese dub. This is in part due to the fact that this anime is set in 1930's New York and the dub uses both period slang and the actors adopt local accents. While these accents are not entirely perfect, they suit the feel of the show perfectly. Indeed, each vocalist puts a huge amount of feeling into every scene and congratulations must be given to the director in this regard. In every aspect, Baccano sounds terrific.

There is one flaw with this show however, that being that it is somewhat hard to follow. Since the story takes place over three years and with five interlinking plot lines all happening at once, it is very easy to get lost and confused. For this reason it is recommended to watch several episodes at a time. Otherwise it becomes difficult to remember which characters belong to which timeline and what their allegiances are. Also, the show can be pretty gory, enough to warrant its 18's rating.

Baccano is one of, if not the, greatest anime ever created. With that in mind I would encourage every fan of anime to watch it at least once.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Baccano is a 1920's depression era gangster story with supernatural elements. There is chaos and violence galore. Both the animation style and sounds in music and voice acting suit the period extremely well.

In the world of fiction some stories switch between the view point of different characters, others stories are comprised of multiple smaller story threads that are inter-meshed by events or characters, and some stories jump around in time, perhaps beginning at the end before going to the beginning and then some intermediate point. Baccano tries doing all of these things and utter confusion is the result. Until the end I had absolutely no idea what this was all about or where it was going. Most will have to watch this several times to grasp it at all.

This is a story with no protagonists or antagonists just lots of people running about often doing mad or desperate things. Lots of characters and none of them covered in too much depth. This is a story driven narrative with the viewer spending his/her time attempting to figure out what the story is. It is enjoyable well put together mayhem though with high production values.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Baccano has been one of those anime where the characters are very well thought up. Each of their characters are so different from each other. Their voice acting is done so well and their actors are well chosen.

The story is very engaging, you wont want to peel your eyes away from the screen. It comes as a shame when all 16 episodes come to end and you are left wanting more, more, more. I can also say that this anime has been so thrilling but confusing at the same time. The fact that some of the events happen first make it confusing and hard to follow but i believe that by doing this they engage the viewers as attention is important.

Music. Its one thing that most anime are put down for. However, this series has outstanding music. If you dont think you love jazz then think again! The music is so well made and you will find yourself at awe of how well each piece goes with the scenes.

A very beautifully made anime. The animation is clean and nice to look at.

An outstanding anime that you should all watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
I don't even know where to start with this anime.
10/10 *****
Just stunning. The best anime I have watched,and I have seen quite my fair share.
Baccano! Follows the events of the transcontinental train: The Flying Pussyfoot. But these aren't any events, no. These events leave a trail of blood across the country (This anime isn't for the faint-hearted) and the first episode shows you the results of these events, you immediately start to wonder what in gods name could have caused this mess. It also fallows the events before what happens on the flying pussyfoot, in New York, the ambitious scientist Szilard and his unwilling aide Ennis, are looking for missing bottles of the immortality elixir. In addition, a war between the mafia groups is getting worse. On board the Advena Avis, in 1711, alchemists are about to learn the price of immortality.
This also happens to be one of the if not possibly the best dub I have seen or really heard. Since the story is set in New York/ Chicago they all have American accents, which suits each character perfectly.
The animation is also beautiful. <3
Plus the characters are all so loveable, especially Miria, Isaac and **** (Spoilers ;)), ooh and did I mention all the characters are psychopaths or criminals. No? Oh well, you'll love them all the more.
This box-set contains all 13 episodes plus, the 3 OVA's (Extra episodes) That show the events immediately after what we have seen(I would spoil it if I specified what)and flesh out characters and plot events from the first 13 episodes.
If there was ever something wrong with this anime it's like another review said. You are left wanting more. It covers everything in the story but it's so good you can't help want more of this gem!
That's all I have to say, just buy buy buy and love!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Brilliant, gorgeous set containing one of the best shows of the past 10 years. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)