Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful use brings very good results
Other reviewers have highlighted the negatives that this unit has rather than look on the positive side. No it isn't going to compete with specialist lenses that cost upwards of 400, but that isn't a fair comparison so why make it?

How easy is it to use?
Very - just screw it on to the front of the cameras lens and away you go.

How good is...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Carpetman

versus
47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 0.45x extension
There are a few things to note about this product.

1. It will fit any 58mm thread not just the camera models listed in the title.

2. As you'd expect, it does not compare to a real wide angle lens, it has serious barrel distortion, and is generally optically poor. You will struggle to get a good photo with this. However it is a fun piece of kit for an...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by HowardK


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 0.45x extension, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
There are a few things to note about this product.

1. It will fit any 58mm thread not just the camera models listed in the title.

2. As you'd expect, it does not compare to a real wide angle lens, it has serious barrel distortion, and is generally optically poor. You will struggle to get a good photo with this. However it is a fun piece of kit for an amateur photographer such as myself to mess around with.

3. With a kit lens on a canon body, you can get an 0.45 x 18mm wide angle, which is about a 13mm equivalent on a full frame camera if you consider the crop factor on an eos 550d etc. This is as wide as you'd expect to get from a real wide angle lens, for a 20th of the price.

Really its a good bit of fun, but don't expect fantastic results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful use brings very good results, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Carpetman (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
Other reviewers have highlighted the negatives that this unit has rather than look on the positive side. No it isn't going to compete with specialist lenses that cost upwards of 400, but that isn't a fair comparison so why make it?

How easy is it to use?
Very - just screw it on to the front of the cameras lens and away you go.

How good is it?
Depends on how you use it - at it's widest you can definitely see the edge of the lens encroaching in to the frame, easily cured by zooming in fractionally.

I did a shoot inside a hotels guestrooms and corridors: yes the walls were bent, but most wide angle lenses have the same problem. You could use a Lens Baby, but that is more expense. I used Photoshop Elements 8 to change the perspective and no-one that has seen the results has commented that there is any problem.

The resulting photographs have been printed up to A3 and they look absolutely fine.

Camera used: Canon 400D with standard 18-55mm lens and the wide angle attachment. Exposure varied between 3 and 30 seconds so the camera was firmly fixed to a tripod and a wireless shutter release was used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wide enough!, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
Excellent product, excellent price - exactly as described! Not quite as wide an angle as I'd hoped, (not a 'fisheye' lens), but still great when zoomed out to it's maximum.
It does shorten the focal length of your camera somewhat (which is how it manages to 'cram' everything into the frame), but this isn't a problems as long as you expect it!
I left my superwide lens attached to my Canon 1100D for a while and there was no degradation in quality of pictures at all - it just gave me the flexibility to zoom right out and fit a wider shot into the frame.
To attach to the lens is simple, just (carefully!) screw in front of your lens (works perfectly with my 18-55mm kit lens) and away you go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and it works quite well, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
The information on this item coud be more substantial. The thing with this 58mm wide angle lens is that you screw this device into the front of your existing lens, using the filter thread. The list of cameras in the description is misleading, as it will fit any lens with a 58mm filter thread.

You need to check what size you have,however other sizes are available. They basically half the focal length of the lens attached, so you get a wider angle. This cheap item loses a star in this review because of various optical effects- distortions, 'softness', and chromatic aberrations are common with this type of device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
Excellent, vignette does appear on widest possible shot. However, on some of the photos it looks great, vignette is easily removed with a slight adjustment to the zoom. Superwide angle with vignette or still great wide angle views at just less than the maximum. I would highly recommend this item to anybody wanting to trial wide angle, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for the price., 27 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
As an amateur, as I am, it is excellent to play around with, but would only use it to get more experience before investing in a more expensive lens. (I suspect most people would have guessed this anyway.) It is an excellent way of learning how best to use this type of lens. I also advise investing in a lens hood too, so that you make the most of this learning aid and avoid some side flare. Would definiately recommend this lens for this purpose - but spend more if you expect more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain wide angle use, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
Quick delivery and cheap product. It does what it is designed to do and for the price is a bargain. The lens has its limitations which are to be expected considering what you are paying. None of its limitations prevent the desired results. If you want a top class lens, pay a top class price. For occasional use this is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 7 April 2012
By 
A. Page "amazon lover" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
I'm keeping a photo diary of major renovations on my house, and was getting very frustrated with all of my photos showing just one corner of a room!! This lens was cheap enough for me to risk giving it a shot, and I'm very pleased I did!

Corners are cropped when you fully zoom out, but I kind of like this. Can be solved by zooming in slightly. It's a cheap lens, gives the wide angle effect; I'd say it's well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended for the 18mm - 55mm Canon lens, 26 April 2013
By 
J. Nicholson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
I have a Canon EOS 60D with a 18mm - 55mm EFS Canon lens. I purchased this item after reading reviews and new that it was a very cheap alternative to buying a true wide angled lens. The item arrived promptly and was well packed. The lens case was decent quality. The lens attached without any issues. However, the first thing I did was take two internal photos (from the corner of a small room) and two outdoor landscape shots - one with the 18mm - 55mm and one with the Digiflex 58MM Wide Angle Lens. As I had read other reviews I was expecting vignetting to occur with the Digiflex lens and it this did happen. In order to remove the vignetting I zoomed out a little and was able to remove the dark corners from the photo. I then compared the photos (2 internal and 2 external) and ultimately the different between the 18mm - 55mm Canon lens and the 18mm - 55mm Canon lens with the Digiflex 58MM Wide Angle Lens (zoomed through the vignetting) was negligible. If you don't mind having blackened corners to your wide angle photos caused by vignetting then the Digiflex lens does allow for a wider more expansive shot. However, if you already have a 18mm - 55mm Canon lens and intent to zoom through the vignetting then my advice is not to bother - the Digiflex lens will not make any difference to your photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lens, good service., 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 58MM Wide Angle Lens for Canon 350D 400D 450D 500D 1000 (Electronics)
Lens turned up within a week which was fine,
works great on my EOS 350. The macro mode
Is a good feature. Happy with the seller, going
to look at their other products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews