Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for cycling
I've taken up cycling, and the magazines talk about technical clothing and using different layers, including a base layer. I was struggling to get my head round what a base layer was - but I went and bought this top anyway. Effectively it is a thin t-shirt/vest. It's very comfortable, very well fitting with seams designed not to irritate or annoy you whilst being active...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by Mr. James West

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but one issue...
I've used both an older version Helly and now this more recent version (Lifa). As a base layer the old version was great, had a cotton feel, wicked well and did the job.
This more recent version has a very different feel to it, I guess best described as a nylon feel. This in its self is not an issue, but having used a few times now as a base layer for winter runs I...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for cycling, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've taken up cycling, and the magazines talk about technical clothing and using different layers, including a base layer. I was struggling to get my head round what a base layer was - but I went and bought this top anyway. Effectively it is a thin t-shirt/vest. It's very comfortable, very well fitting with seams designed not to irritate or annoy you whilst being active. The most impressive thing though is what is known as the 'wicking' ability. This means that if you sweat the sweat doesn't stay close to your skin leaving you damp and uncomfortable. What it does instead is transport it to the outside of the garment, where it can evaporate. There are different grades for use in different conditions. The 'dry' ones are perhaps the most versatile, and they are rated for use from -15 C to +15 C. The top is designed to be used as a base layer, but in warmer conditions it wouldn't look out of place and would be perfectly possile to wear it on its own as a t-shirt.

Now the most important thing about this is that it actually works. A couple of days ago I did a 32 mile bike run in temperatures just below zero and wore this top with a thin cycling top and a thin windproof jacket. This combination kept me dry and comfortable and I was perfectly warm.

Getting out on the bike has been a real thought because of the weather, and I have been tending to opt out and go to the gym instead. I also bought the 'dry' pants so with the two of these combined I'll definitely increase my cold weather cycling more than I would have done through the winter.

At the moment because of my recent experiences I can't rate this combination highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent multi-sports base layer, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Marsh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say that hasn't been said before, I have several of these and use them for mountain biking, rock climbing, mountaineering, running, camping, working outdoors over winter - generally anytime I am likely to build up a sweat! The wicking action is very effective, keeping you dry, and they are incredibly fast drying, light weight and pack away in the smallest of places so great for camping, trekking etc

Thoroughly recommended - only advice is do not dry in a tumble dryer (my wife did and they shrink/shrivle/melt!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be the crowning achievement of western capitalism?, 10 Dec 2011
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I was thinking the other day, this garment must represent about the best value for money I have ever spent. They are totally reliable for the purpose and just keep on going. I have two long sleeved and one short. I've had them about ten years. They have been on countless camping trips, fishing, snowboarding and hiking expeditions. When its cold in the winter I just wear them day to day under ordinary clothes for extra insulation. I've been doing a lot of winter running lately. They go on under a normal running top and a windproof shell and its perfect even in the Scottish December. They always keep me warm, dry and comfortable. After a decade they show no signs of wear other than the lettering fading on the washing label. They look exactly like they did when I bought them despite being washed at all sorts of temperatures with all sorts of other items. I can't think of anything else I have ever bought from curtains to a car that has kept doing the business for ten years with no signs of giving up. No bobbling, no loose seams. Its extraordinary. And they are pretty cheap.

There are thicker and warmer base layers available from HH and other manufacturers incorporating marino wool, silk and all sorts of luxury. But for me the point is flexibility. I'd rather wear more fine layers and remain flexible as to what I can take on and off. There is nothing to these but they give you that layer of extra insulation that covers most eventualities, and when it doesn't you can wear two.

Bloody marvellous base layer. So good you probably won't even realise as you never think about them. They are just always there doing what you bought them for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really dry fabric, keeps u warm no matter what the conditions may be., 19 Feb 2010
By 
G. K. Sioutas "lounger" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for a baselayering during cold weather activities and sweaty sports conditions. It's a really technical fabric allowing u to concentrate on the thing u do regardless of the environmental situations, under the term that u use it correctly in a layer system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but one issue..., 18 Dec 2009
By 
Mitchell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've used both an older version Helly and now this more recent version (Lifa). As a base layer the old version was great, had a cotton feel, wicked well and did the job.
This more recent version has a very different feel to it, I guess best described as a nylon feel. This in its self is not an issue, but having used a few times now as a base layer for winter runs I have to report sore nipples are the outcome from moderate 50 minute runs every time...and that is not what I want or expect from Helly.
I've run in basic cotton t-shirts as well as Nike running tops and never had sore nipples - the only exception being when I got soaked in a downpour on a very long run.
I'm baffled that a brand such as Helly, with a heritage of performance base layer for athletes has produced a product that is so abrasive - was it thoroughly tested?? Or is this just effecting me??
Who know's, but this is what happened and it's annoyed me so much that I felt compelled to review it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ski base layer, 11 Feb 2010
By 
S. Turner "Simon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wore two of these under my ski jacket and it kept me warm and dry down to -17'C. No sweat.
The best reasonably priced base-layer I have tried so far.
Delivery packet did not require me to be at home to sign for it either, which is always a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, but sizing issues, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered 2 of these. A small in blue, and a medium in black. The black, medium one was actually smaller and tighter than the small sized blue one! Anyhow, still a great item when I got one that fitted correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase., 8 Jan 2012
This is a good base layer for sporting activities from +5 to -1. If you require a base layer that is warmer on the coldest of days then buy the Helly Hansen Lifa Warm. I've always bought Helly Hansen base layer's and they have all been very good. Ideal for cycling, skiing, walking, mountain climbing, running etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars helly hanson hi viz, 18 Feb 2011
once again amazon dispatched the item in incredible speed arriving next day.. the highviz is cool the fit seems to be larger than the other tops i have so i would go for the next size down extremely thin material yet amazingly warm and dried very quickley after a sweaty run
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job well, 14 Jan 2010
Great top...kept me warm(ish) during this cold spell. Comfortable to wear and easy to wash etc.
What more can you say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews