Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Little girls are definitely made of sugar and spice, as author Lauren Conrad proves in the third and final chapter of L.A. CANDY.

The drama picks up again with the season two premiere of "L.A. Candy," PopTV's most popular reality show. The show's main stars - Jane, Scarlett, Gaby, and Madison - are forced to smile for the cameras together as if they are best...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sugar & Spice & everything nice...
Sugar and Spice is the third - and final - book in LC's LA Candy series and picks up pretty much where Sweet Little Lies left off. In fact all three books must only span a few months in total as Sweet Little Lies picked up where LA Candy left off, and Sugar and Spice does exactly the same. It's very clever, I must admit, to have the books so close time-wise. Season One of...
Published on 1 May 2011 by Leah Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 6 Jan 2011
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Little girls are definitely made of sugar and spice, as author Lauren Conrad proves in the third and final chapter of L.A. CANDY.

The drama picks up again with the season two premiere of "L.A. Candy," PopTV's most popular reality show. The show's main stars - Jane, Scarlett, Gaby, and Madison - are forced to smile for the cameras together as if they are best friends. As readers and show viewers understand, though, this is certainly not the case. Instead of trying to make the girls friends, show producer Trevor decides to use their disgust to his advantage to enhance ratings and plots.

Jane and her coworker, Hannah, are forced to work with Madison at Fiona Chen Events. After the revealing of Madison's plot to destroy Jane's image in SWEET LITTLE LIES, the last thing Jane wants is to have to cooperate with Madison. Little to Madison's knowledge, though, her past and greediness are about to catch up to her when her blackmailer's identity is discovered.

Scarlett is willing to work with PopTV and the show's producers more so than in the past books. She attends photo shoots and agrees to reunite with an old friend from high school, seeing as how her boyfriend, Liam, cannot be filmed. But is she really happy with her life choices and her decision to follow every PopTV command?

Lastly, Gaby is always seen as "L.A. Candy's" most nave and somewhat plain star. However, a new publicist and directions from Trevor unleash a new side of Gaby, much to the shock of her fellow co-stars.

As you will find out in SUGAR AND SPICE, sometimes the lack of truth behind reality television can really hurt - and help those who are involved to learn about themselves along the way. The ending of L.A. CANDY is somewhat of a letdown after the amount of drama bursting within the novels, but, at the same time, it goes to show that reality television personalities are real people when all is said and done.

I hope that Conrad continues writing, for she offers an intriguing inside glimpse at the lives of reality show participants that is often unseen in fiction.

Reviewed by: Hannah Marie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Ending To The Series!, 4 Jan 2011
By 
M. Vosper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the final instalment of the L.A. Candy series we find out the fate of Jane Roberts and her co-stars.

Madison's deceit and betrayal has been discovered by Jane but somehow she still manages to manipulate everyone around her to her own advantage. She does have SOMETHING to worry about though and it is threatening to ruin everything she has fought so hard to achieve. For me, this was the most interesting storyline in the novel as I wanted to see Madison get her comeuppance and also I tried to imagine what I would do if I were in Jane's situation. The other storylines are a little bit thin and boring and don't really seem to go anywhere.

I enjoyed this book, mainly because I was curious about what was going to happen to all of the characters but also because I like the fact that it is showing some of the more real aspects of "reality TV".

I felt that the ending was a little anti-climactic and that it could have had a bit more detail. I won't go into it too much as I don't want to give away any spoilers but for me the ending made it feel like the books were a bit pointless. I was hoping for something a little bit more exciting or profound. Then again, I am most likely slighty older than this books intended audience at twenty-two so it might be unfair to expect anything particularly insightful. Still, I felt like the books were leading up to something really juicy and exciting happening but the big event was never actually delivered.

Overall, it is an easy to read, fun, feel good book that provides a bit of escapism into the crazy world of L.A. celebrities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but the ending seems a little bit rushed., 7 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. J. Occleshaw (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After growing to Love L.C from the reality shows that she did, I always wanted to know what the 'real' story lines were and whether or not some of it was for show or completely 100% real.
So after hearing that Miss Conrad wrote a book about her time on the show I thought it would be a great way to find out the real story.
The first two books were amazing, full of gossip - amazing writing and of course un-predictable cliff hangers, and with the release of the 3rd book looming, I will hold my hands up and say that I actually waited outside Waterstones for the staff to unlock the door so I could get a copy.

The Book starts off extremely well, taking into account that it is based around a year after the girls become famous and how they are coping with it, there is a lot of things going on, I won't spoil it but let's just say that it feels a little bit rushed in comparison to the previous two wonders.

I will however say to you - if you are a fan of the character 'Gaby' you may be disappointed that she isn't featured in the book a lot (although saying that she is not the main character) she seemed to have a lot more going on for her in the previous instalments.

The ending of the book to me personally feels slightly rushed. As if Miss Conrad had been given a strict deadline and needed to reach a certain level of equilibrium before she could quickly get the book into stores.
Through out the story you will be getting more and more involved with the story and the enigma-filled secrets that are hinted at throughout, and when these secrets are revealed, I personally felt like 'is that it? - I already knew that!'

Do Not get me wrong, I am not saying DONT BUY THIS BOOK!, but out the three - I will say it has the weakest ending.

If you loved the first two books, I will happily say get this one for this price (cheapest anywhere) but I feel that Lauren could have easily turned the ending into something more sort of extravagant and scandalous.

After hearing that Lauren is now in the process of writing a spin-off series featuring the character Madison (blatantly a copy of Heidi Montag) I will read a review first before running down to the bookstore.

Overall I will give it a four. - Good story telling nice plot but the last star is missing because the ending is missing something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugar and Spice: An L.A. Candy Novel (Kindle Edition)
I love this book and the whole trilogy such a girly book and gives you the insight of LA girls trying to make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugar and Spice: An L.A. Candy Novel (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book a lot, Lauren Conrad writes a very good story. Will definitely read these books again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars La candy, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed the first book so could not wait to read the second lovely chill out by the pool holiday book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you're a fan, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have enjoyed the series as a light summer read, very relaxing! If you were a big fan of The Hills, you'll enjoy this. I personally liked the ending which wrapped everything up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar and spice lauren Conrad, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved loved Loved it I read it all in one day! downloading the next one already! Can't wait to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read!!!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lauren Conrad series books are amazing, such a good storyline to follow! Such an easy read and great as a holiday book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GOOD SERIES OF BOOKS AND INTERESTING CHARACTERS . IF YOUR A FAN OF THE HILLS TV SHOW THIS IS WORTH A READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sugar and Spice: An L.A. Candy Novel
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews