Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Package, 12 Dec 2005
By 
boyAnachronism (Belfast, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
Always intended as a double album, this is final form of Rufus' two magnificent albums Want One and Want Two. More polished than the self-titled work and more varied and adventerous than Poses: Want is his finest offering to date.
This album is an effortless (yet meticulous) fusion of the classical and contemporary in a way I didn't think was possible. All this is delivered with a (melo)drama and even humour that suits perfectly.
He's been compared as a more colourful James Blunt, but I disagree. Owing to his practically veteran musical status I'd say James Blunt is a duller version of Rufus Wainwright.
I've never given an album 5 stars before with so much confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS NOW!, 12 Dec 2005
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
I can't believe the 2 best best albums of recent years by a long mile are available on 1 disc. If you don't buy this you are mad or have exceptionally poor taste. Rufus Wainwright has resurrected the art of songwriting single handedly, while effortlessly throwing together the most beautiful arrangements and bucket loads of integrity.
I am Still listening to these recordings daily since they were released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright is a genius!, 10 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
After listening to these albums, I can now say that I am a full blown Rufus Wainwright fanatic! These albums are amazing. I recommend them to everyone, as you need to hear them in order to understand Wainwright's lyrical genius. Only he could get away with the lyrics..."better pray for your sins.... 'cos the gay messiah's coming" GENIUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars almost hated it and that would have been a waste of want, 4 April 2006
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
i came across these two albums as an amazon recommendation, and jumped in without thinking, not knowing rufus' work, but reliant on loudon's lineage.
played both cd's through end-to-end in the car and hated them! horrid pop music! horrible amazon!
then...
got caught in traffic and want two played again... and suddenly it switched me and i can't get rid of the sounds, the strings, the lyrics. been playing it ever since.
ignore these albums at your loss.
this week's highlights include: the one you love; oh what a world; waiting for a dream; and my absolute fave - go or go ahead. but you'll find more and more depth if you look.
blends of pop, roots, folk, baroque, sex, religion, politics with the lush strings are sublime.
"and an ogre in the oval office"
buy this.
now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It must be love. Swoon., 9 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
I'm so besotted with this album right now I don't think I can write a coherent review after all, so I'll just say this: It's wonderful. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music fan?, 14 Jan 2006
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
In response to the music 'fan' from Australia's review of Want 1 & 2 I would like to say that not only is Rufus the best songwriting talent of the 21st century he also pushes music to it's boundaries and fulfils expectation with all that he does.
Want is a work of art and soon enough Rufus will be recognised as the genius that he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential listening., 29 May 2006
By 
C. Tse (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
These two albums are definitely 'growers'. At first they may sound overblown and self-involved, but let them get under your skin and what you'll find are well-crafted songs and a musicianship that is hardly ever seen into today's pop music.

Just a note: this edition of Want does not include the Want One bonus tracks which remain exclusive to the UK/European Want One standalone disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 Star?....Sacrilege!, 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
I know it was posted a while ago but please for gods sake don't listen to that guy from Australia!, these albums are both of the highest quality from one of the greatest signer songwriters in recent times.
If you get the chance to see this guy live take it from me move heaven and earth to do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It!, 27 Nov 2005
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
If you like music and have not heard of Rufus then what planet are you from? This 2 cd set is a give away. If your preference is for well crafted music coupled with intelligent, thoughtful lyrics then you probably own 'Want One' and 'Want Two' already. If you don't know about Rufus then shame on you! 'Want' serves as a wonderful introduction to a refreshing and unique talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All You'll Ever Want, 22 Sep 2006
By 
R. Thompson (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Want (Audio CD)
Any artist who can boast of a celebrity fanbase including Elton John, Sting, Neil Tennant, the Scissor Sisters (I could go on), is surely a curiousity in the eyes of any self-respecting music lover. These figures, just like millions worldwide, are fans of Rufus Wainwright, one of most individual, profound, and utterly unique musicians of the modern era. As well as being a skilled guitarist and intricate pianist, Wainwright's voice can be soaring, fragile, and beautiful. He is also one of the most charismatic and charming characters in music. Rufus's first two music were a complex blend of folk and americana, tinged with moments of pop and real emotion, both his eponymous debut and it's follow up "Poses" are select additions to any collection. Yet it's his third and fourth efforts that are truly magical, and essential for any lover of music.

"Want One" and "Want Two" were recorded simultaneously, and both were subsequently produced by Marius de Vries. Both works are grand, majestic pieces, though are different from one another in certain ways. "Want One" is slightly poppier, whilst Two is deeper and more mysterious, though both are blatantly born of Wainwright's imagination and talent. There are moments that are reminiscent of musicals ("Oh What A World", "14th Street") with layers of instruments creating grand and heroic ballads, whilst there are others that are darker and evocative ("Dinner At Eight", "Agnus Dei", "The Art Teacher"), songs which really draw attention to Rufus's fragility, as well as underlining his utterly wonderful voice. There are also of course, moments of pure pop brilliance ("Beautiful Child", "The One You Love", "I Don't Know What It Is"), extravagant and gorgeous, there are so many highlights on these two albums that it's hard to decide which songs to mention in this review without neglecting yet another opus!

"Want One" and "Want Two" are two of the finest albums of the 21st century, musically diverse, superbly produced, wonderfully performed, both works are pieces of magical song-writing and flawless grandeur. Although his first two albums are brilliant, Wainwright has truly excelled himself with these beautiful efforts. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Want
Want by Rufus Wainwright
Buy MP3 Album10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews