Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ray LaMontagne and the Pariah Dogs - Constructs a mellow album of ageless Americana
For the curious amongst you this album is streaming in full over at the wonderful National Public Radio until September 7th which will enable you to ignore the sniffy BBC review above and check out the real thing. After hearing it in full a good number of times the "cheque is in the post" to Amazon since this is easily LaMontagne's best since his timeless debut album...
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best from Ray
I was a little disappointed in this album, it's okay but not up there with Trouble, maybe it will grow on me
Published 9 months ago by Amanda Partridge


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ray LaMontagne and the Pariah Dogs - Constructs a mellow album of ageless Americana, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the curious amongst you this album is streaming in full over at the wonderful National Public Radio until September 7th which will enable you to ignore the sniffy BBC review above and check out the real thing. After hearing it in full a good number of times the "cheque is in the post" to Amazon since this is easily LaMontagne's best since his timeless debut album "Trouble" with its echoes of Otis Redding. On this new album he has moved away from producer Ethan John and instead filled out his sound by enlisting the support of his red hot band of musicians the Pariah Dogs who support him in concert and comprise Jay Bellarose on drums, Jennifer Condos on bass, Patrick Warren on keys, Eric Heywood on guitar and Greg Leisz on steel guitar.

"Repo Man" is a exuberant and funky start to the album with LaMontagne's trademark gravely vocal returning like a very welcome old friend after an extended guitar introduction. It is however not typical of the songs throughout since this new albums predominant feel is largely based on alternative country in the vein of Gram Parsons, Ryan Adams, Evan Dando and particularly the source inspiration of "Harvest" era Neil Young which is spread like a rash over the albums second half (but let me add in in a very good way). "New York City's killing me" is classic heartbreak country territory as is the stellar title track which is one of the best songs on the album with its slow and lonesome vocal by LaMontagne and dulcet steel guitar backing from Greg Leisz. On its own this song is worth the price of admission and will soundtrack many smoky Saturday nights and rainy Sunday mornings accompanied by a punishing hangover. My favourite song thus far is "Beg, steal or borrow" which is a mid tempo shuffle accompanied by a lovely vocal from LaMontagne, nice rattling percussion and a song theme which exhorts a young man to break free from small town confines and get away.

The albums remaining songs include the excellent smouldering classic "This love is over" which could have possibly appeared on "Trouble", and then the influence of Neil Young fully kicks in. Both "Endless Summer" and "Like Rock n Roll Radio" could have happily sat on "Harvest" and halfway through I had the odd feeling of missing backing vocals from James Taylor. Whatever the case they are both great country blues songs with a slightly ramshackle ambience and effortless backing from the hugely efficient Pariah Dogs. "Old before your time" is a gentle banjo driven ballad which will undoubtedly be covered in due course by a variety of country singers, while the albums closer lightens the mood with "Devil in the Jukebox" which is one of those examples of loose rustic Americana that could be sung by group of "good ole boys" playing on wooden chairs outside the local fishing tackle store. With its howling harmonica it sees LaMontagne having a wail of a time "about to throw tomatoes on the griddle to fry."

As stated previously of LaMontagne four albums thus far "God Willin' and the Creek Don't Rise" is probably closer in spirit to "Trouble" than the much darker "Till the Sun turns black". His last album "Gossip in the Grain" sounded to these ears to be a somewhat tired and forced in parts but it is delightful to report that this new and very mellow album sees a master craftsman and brilliant set of backing musicians delivering the goods. If you have been searching in vain for a diverse collage of sounds based on ageless Americana your destination has been reached. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Ray! (and his mates), 7 Sep 2010
By 
Derek Williamson "northerndel" (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me set the record straight!! Whilst the BBC review seems at pains to find fault on this album, and belittle the amazing song writing of one our generations' truely unique and gifted performers,, I cannot help but report all of the positives and assure you that all is well in the world, as Ray has yet again delivered a beautiful soul stirring piece of work. This is the best album from Ray since Trouble, and that is one of my top five albums of all time.

The mood is relaxed, the melancholy tinged with optimism, the voice is true and heartfelt, and the band are tight and loose in perfect measure. Everything points to a man at the peak of his powers recording and playing in an enviroment where he and his band are at ease! Ray has taken the production under his own wing, and I have to say that the lush sound of the band is beautifully captured, from the various pedal steel and slide guitar flourishes to the vibrant full sounding acoustic playing and the perfectly understated drumming.

All of the songs are great, displaying Ray's simple and universal lyrics which seem to immediatley strike a chord. Without going through the full album, the stand out tracks are Repo Man (funky), New York is Killing Me, God Willin' and The Creek Don't Rise and For The Summer.

MAGICAL STUFF! GO BUY IT AND CHILL OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic Americana, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
Not only has Ray got the most amazing expressive voice but the way he uses it, is masterful.
Looking like Rasputin but with the voice of a battered ,well lived soul singer,this guy is special.
I have been playing and singing with this album constantly for the past month in my car on the way to work,and it is one of my favourite albums of the last year.
The lyrics and the atmosphere the vocal and instruments create are cinematic this is especially the case with the title track 'God Willin &Creek don't Rise" .It opens with such a beautiful open ended phrase and then continues to transport you into a timeless American landscape, in widescreen.
The Pariah Dogs augment Rays voice and add a haunting quality to the songs.
In my opinion there is not one weak song on this album.
If you like melodic ,well crafted songs, sung and played with subtlety and grace, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Lamontagne, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
Heard one of this Cd's tracks while shopping in Matalan'
stopped shopping and listened to it, it was really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if you like this artist you'll like this, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
I bought it for a friend who really likes Ray Lamontagne and they're really happy with it. I also think it's good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time and a great album., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
I would recommend this product to any Ray fans. It arrived in time and was an instant hit with myself and even converted my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love vinyl and this is an excellent addition to my collection will keep looking for more new records as you are quite cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky; relaxing; gorgeous songs, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
Buy this!! i had never heard of this guy until recently. A work colleague was playing it and i asked if i could borrow it. Love it!! the guys voice, the music its really fab. A little bit country, bluesy, funky - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
This is the best album I've bought all year. This man has a great voice and he writes beautiful lyrics. There is only one track that hasn't lodged itself indelibly into my memory, hence the four stars instead of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Audio CD)
Got all of Ray's cd's so obviously a fan, would recommend the above cd as it's unique, uplifting & slightly more up tempo for Ray; in a good way :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise
God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise by Ray LaMontagne (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews