Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as you'd expect
First the gloating - I was there. And this captures, as well as a DVD can, how good the day was. Given the fact that the music started at 11:50am and went on till 11:40pm, even a 2 disc version will be a compromise. But this is such a good stab at getting close to how good the day was that it doesn't matter. The only thing missing was the excruciating heat that took till...
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by Tenpole

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010
Actually I'm wondering about the given comments. To be honest, the dynamic range is reduced and - of course - the loudness therefor increased. Visual and audio material are not synchronized. Disc 1 is not that bad, but on Disc 2, it's awful.
Published on 14 Aug 2011 by M. E.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as you'd expect, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
First the gloating - I was there. And this captures, as well as a DVD can, how good the day was. Given the fact that the music started at 11:50am and went on till 11:40pm, even a 2 disc version will be a compromise. But this is such a good stab at getting close to how good the day was that it doesn't matter. The only thing missing was the excruciating heat that took till about 7pm to abate.

There are too many highlights to mention, too many fine performances (I would love to have an extended version of the Buddy Guy set) and, as long as Jeff Beck's boots don't offend, there's nothing here not to like. And for charity too. Buy it.

T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars guitar heaven or what ?, 23 Nov 2010
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
Where else would you get Robert Randolph and Joe Bonamassa, or Eric Clapton and Sonny Landreth playing together, or Ronnie Wood and Buddy Guy and Jonny Lang together
or Vince Gill Keb Mo,James Burton,Albert Lee playing together,Hold it theres Sheryl Crowe,Doyle Bramall,Derek Trucks,Susan Tedeschi, gtogether, then thers a couple od pieces with Stefan Grosmann and Keb Mo playing awesome slide togetrher.Yes this is none other than the 2010 edition of the Crossroads guitar festival in Chicago and this may just about be the best yet.add to who's already mentioned and you have ZZ Top,John Mayer.B B King,Steve Winwood,Jeff Beck,EarlKlugh, WEarren Haynes,Jimmie Vaughan,Hubert Sumlin,RFobert Cray ( oh yes theyre playing togetrher as well.,Bert Jansch. This is as good a DVD as you will ever get your hands on.The blues is broken down into it's various types with intros and plkaying that will have guitar fans drooling at the mouth.Eric Clapton is enjoying every moment of the day whether playing or not,and you have to ask yourself why is his current album so bland when he can plasy this awesome, take his opening song with Sonny Landreth,this is EC the guitar master at his very best.The work he puts into this festival aqnd the incredible music that comes from it,makes every secod worthwhile.An absolute must,two discs of the best music you'l hear anywhere this year,stunning and never forget the royalties from the release go to the Crossroads centre in Antigua tha works with those on drug and alcohol dependancy,so please buy this double DVD of fantastic music and at the same time support this work Eric Clapton set up a few years ago now and has given so much of his own time and generosity to.Also for each of these at the festival some of the greatest artists in the world,giving a day to remember and one of the greatest music DVD's of all time.
Five stars is not anywhere near enough for such music and quality as this release offers us,absoltely recommended throughout GET YOURS TODAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best musical experience this year!, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
OK - if you love great guitar music, you're in for a treat.

If you're lucky enough to have a great sound system to listen to a DVD through, you're going to be in Heaven.

This is so good, I even listened to Sheryl Crow without fast forwarding. I admit that Bert Jansch gave me an opportunity to make myself a coffee though. Can't have everything.

This DVD has given me the opportunity to hear Sonny Landreth. What an amazing player. Where have I been?

I bought this for Jeff Beck's performance, yet I was blown away before I even got to him!

This is one mind-blowing DVD - just the right mix of talk, back-stage shots and performance. Utterly captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just A Little Something Missing., 4 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the previous Crossroads Festival DVDs, and eagerly awaited the release of the latest one.

Having now watched it twice, I have to say that some of it is better than the previous ones and some is not quite so good. I always think of these DVDs in two parts. One part is all the varied artists that perform at the festival and the other part is the Clapton session in the evening.

This time round I found I liked the stuff by the other artists better than before, but I couldn't help feel that Eric's session was a little dull without any real sparkling performances from him or any of his guest players. I remember in the last Festival, Eric played a whole series of incredible blues tunes that really made your heart fly to watch and listen. There is nothing quite like that this time. He just seemed to rehash some of the tracks from the last festival and from the Live at Madison Square DVD with Stevie Winwood.

So while I have a few reservations on this one, it is still a really entertaining few hours of good music. I just did not get enough from it to give it 5 starts this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clapton still the best, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Robert Ashworth "Film buff" (Northwest England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this DVD. There are many great guitarist but there is non that come close to Eric Clapton.. He shows his superior to all that were there. I do not think there is any one on the scene that plays the blues like Eric Clapton. He shines. Long may he reign
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome! Mr & Mrs Trucks nail it as does Warren Haynes. (Just a shame that Warren decides to butcher Soulshine during his current live set.)
A must have DVD for all true music lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic! but same as the others, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Adam Stacey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
The music is still amazing but its pretty much the same as the other crossroad festivals. Everything is perfect and there is a wide range of music by a lot of different artists but most of them were on the other two aswell. I still reccomend it as it is very good but it is very similar to the first two crossroads festivals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads 2010, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with the purchase which was bought as a gift for a member of my family.
Iconic artistes and very worth while purchasing. another great Crossroads DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads Guitar Festival 201[DVD] [2010], 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] (DVD)
Opening track Promised land with Sonney Landreth & Eric Clapton is brilliant as are most of the DVD through to Dear Mr Fantasy with Steve Winwood & EC easily one of the best Live DVD's of 2011,

Regards Will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great installment in the series, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Piers Chapple (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Considering the short time between concert and distribution of the Blu-Ray, this is really an excellent production. Unlike another reviewer, I found the sound quality excellent for the most part and thought there was definitely a bias towards emphasising the guitar parts. Most of my listening is through a quality headphone amp and good headphones that normally show up any poor mixes very quickly.

The range of acts is excellent. A few to skip through but many more standouts. It would have been good if Clapton and Winwood had kept away from the songs they have now released on two other Blu-Rays/DVDs, and definitely more of Beck and Clapton would have been appreciated. Guy/Lang/Wood was also a very entertaining set.

Not sure what the issue is, but why aren't the previous Crossroad Festivals being released on Blu-Ray? Money is being left on the table.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD]
Crossroads Guitar Festival 2010 [DVD] by Eric Clapton (DVD - 2010)
13.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews