Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `I Was Always a Lover despite the Killings'
That is a recurring quote from Mr Pride (deceased - but you probably got that from the title). This is a violent western from director Tillen Russell, who has been more famous for his TV and documentary work. He has gone for a full throttle action fest that starts as it means to go on, with a bad gun deal going wrong. The perpetrator is Ransom Pride, and in the subsequent...
Published on 29 Jan 2012 by Tommy Dooley

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Forgiveness Here.
Indie director Jim Jarmusch coined the phrase "acid western" for his surreal post modern film "Dead Man". A very apt description of the almost hallucinogenic journey that film takes. This one is shot in the same sepia tones as that one with the same bizarre characters inhabiting the film. There is an Indian in this film that is a dead ringer for the one in "Dead Man"...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by Bob Salter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Forgiveness Here., 9 Jun 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Indie director Jim Jarmusch coined the phrase "acid western" for his surreal post modern film "Dead Man". A very apt description of the almost hallucinogenic journey that film takes. This one is shot in the same sepia tones as that one with the same bizarre characters inhabiting the film. There is an Indian in this film that is a dead ringer for the one in "Dead Man". Kris Kristofferson is the star to add his name to the credits in this film, whilst Robert Mitchum added his to the latter. The River Phoenix film "Silent Tongue" could also be considered an acid western. These films all seem to have been heavily influenced by the Pulitzer prize winning author Cormac McCarthy's writing, especially "Blood Meridian" his very dark blood soaked vision of the old west. Violence and cruelty are the norm in these works, and it is sometimes hard to spot who the good guys are.

In this film a young woman travels to Mexico to recover the body of her dead husband, thus fulfilling a promise she made to him in the past. She is accompanied by the dead mans brother. They come across a whole host of nasties and a few 'odd uns' to say the least. There is plenty of gunplay, and that young widow is mighty quick on the draw. Hunting the both of them is the dead mans Reverand father, who was once a gunslinger. The Reverand has a good knowledge of the Bible but tends to need a bit of forgiveness on occasions. Our Reverand wants the woman dead for past perceived misdeeds, which is a strong case in point. To complicate matters further the body is held by a very weird Mexican woman Shaman, who sports a rather strange wardrobe that has not come off the rail at M & S.

I have to admit from the outset that I am not a fan of acid westerns, being more a traditionalist who likes the good guy to wear the white hat for easy identification purposes. Having said that I admired the style and atmosphere that Jim Jarmusch created in "Dead Man". "Last Rites etc etc" is not as good as that one by some way in my opinion, although it is certainly better than most of the recent poor westerns. I think particularly of the horrendous "Defiance". Lizzy Caplan is good as the girl on a mission, as is Dwight Yoakam as the Reverand, although there is not a lot from the rest of the cast. Kristofferson has little screen time to impress, although he is featured prominently on the DVD cover. I wonder why? The story itself follows the familiar revenge path, although more unusually set in 1913. In these days of political correctness we seem to be getting more and more lady gunslingers. I think particularly of Sharon Stone in "The Quick and the Dead". In the past they tended to look after children and occasionally shoulder a rifle when the wagon train was surrounded by Indians. How times have changed! Weird characters, sepia tones, lots of milli second flashbacks, and a fest of violence does not necessarily add up to a great film. This one is average at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `I Was Always a Lover despite the Killings', 29 Jan 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
That is a recurring quote from Mr Pride (deceased - but you probably got that from the title). This is a violent western from director Tillen Russell, who has been more famous for his TV and documentary work. He has gone for a full throttle action fest that starts as it means to go on, with a bad gun deal going wrong. The perpetrator is Ransom Pride, and in the subsequent shootout he kills a Priest, and this is Mexico which takes a dim view of that sort of behaviour; even though he has been shot and killed, the sister of the Priest who comes across as a Shaman / Witch, won't let the body be buried. Not sure if the Catholic Church would agree with her, but I guess she is not up for a theological debate.

Enter Juliette Flowers (Lizzy Caplan) who was Ransom's love interest and she has promised to bury him with his momma. But she will have to deal with Pappa, the Rev Early Pride, (Dwight Yokam) who is an ex gunfighter who has seen the Lord, become a preacher and developed a dysfunctional alcohol dependency along the way. Ms Flowers strikes a deal with the grieving sister but it involves Ransoms brother Champ (Jon Foster -`Terminator 3'). So the intrepid pair set off to reclaim the body. Meanwhile Rev Pride takes out a bounty on Flowers' head as he considers her to be nuthin betta than a whore!

Thus the scene is set for a blood infused western that is shot and framed with great care, it oozes style like a Vogue Special and that goes for the costumes too. The music is spot on in that it adds to the mood instead of creating it as is the sad case for many a film. There are even stylised sub titles when it goes all Mexican. We have a plethora of characters and stars of yesteryear including Jason Priestly and Kris Kristofferson - who I would have liked to have seen more of. We have frontier gallows humour, iconic shots including more than one church without walls and characters from the less mundane side of life including a gun toting dwarf. The one off thing is the deliberate insertion of subliminal shots that get longer air time the further into the film we go. They act as add on's to the on screen action and like mono sodium glutamate in food are really not that necessary here too.

All of that said I really enjoyed it, this has been compared to Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy which is a book I love; whilst this is nowhere near as visceral it kept my interest at full tilt for the whole ride. As ever there are some plot twists that stretch credulity a tad and the ending will leave some feeling short changed. Despite all of that it is still a slick, well made and acted western in the modern genre and as such I will gladly like to see more of Mr Russell's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love cowboy and western, but this was rubbish, waisted my money, will try to sell it on eBay, just to get some pennies back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and stylish western, 13 Oct 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
When Ransom Pride is gunned down in Mexico after accidentally shooting a priest his lover Juliette Flowers has to keep her oath to him to bury him next to his mother. When she gets there she finds his body in the hands of the local bruja or witch who's brother was the priest. She will only exchange the body for his younger brother so Juliette sets out to carry out her promise. Ransom's father however is a reformed killer now preacher who despises her and will do anything to stop her. A strange and motley crew of helpers assist Juliette on her quest as the story leads to its bloody climax. Set on the US/Mexican border around the time when motor vehicles are starting to challenge horsepower there is nothing original in this film and some of it is style over substance but its still an entertaining watch in a genre that is largely ignored nowadays. The whole film is beautifully shot in pin sharp sepia and faded colours and many scenic shots wouldn't look out of place in a frame on your wall. Lizzy Caplan smoulders as Juliette and Kris Kristofferson makes an appearance as a friend of Ransom's father who assists him. Worthy of 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars wasted time, 26 April 2012
By 
Michael Wilden (denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry , the heading just about says it all, I found this film, slow draw and boring. The acting is ok, but the whole things been done before, and better too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars AAAGH!!!, 6 Nov 2011
Dire! This film should have had the last rites read over it and buried. This went to a local charity shop with a warning that they couldn't charge more that a few pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not as expected., 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this dvd was bought because of the main actors are usually a guide to a good film story well shot and performed. Sadly in our case this was not so. The story line was broken and missing in parts the characters couldnt speek up enough to hear clearly the plot, and the only thing at the end you couyld say with conviction was "thats a relief its over"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Rites of Ransom Pride [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
9.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews