Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album
i was surprised at some of the reviews knocking this album as joe is always good to listen to. have only listened to it 3 times but i think it's excellent - his best for a while - great songs performed as only he can !
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by bjb50

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Joe drops the covers to concentrate on original songs
I can't say I'm a particularly big fan of Joe but I'm always willing to listen to his classy versions of classic songs and his last two albums 'Hymn for My Soul' and 'Heart and Soul' were particularly good, featuring great performances of some wonderful songs. This latest TV-advertised album is produced by Matt Serletic (who has recently worked with Carlos Santana) and...
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by G. E. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
i was surprised at some of the reviews knocking this album as joe is always good to listen to. have only listened to it 3 times but i think it's excellent - his best for a while - great songs performed as only he can !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe at his Best, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
This is a great CD, Joe is in good voice with a good variety of memorable songs. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Converted!, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
I was never a big Joe Cocker fan but having listened to this album, i'm converted. This album is awesome and what a great voice. This was bought for my husband for christams and it has been played in the car ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Joe drops the covers to concentrate on original songs, 5 Oct 2010
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
I can't say I'm a particularly big fan of Joe but I'm always willing to listen to his classy versions of classic songs and his last two albums 'Hymn for My Soul' and 'Heart and Soul' were particularly good, featuring great performances of some wonderful songs. This latest TV-advertised album is produced by Matt Serletic (who has recently worked with Carlos Santana) and features nine original songs rather than Joe's usual covers. As you'd expect Joe sings everything really well but I'm afraid that I found the songs mostly unmemorable and I felt that the backing and production, although very professional, were overdone and bland. The only cover is the final track, a cover of The Dixie Chick's `I Hope' produced by Nashville's Tony Brown, but this didn't sound any different to the rest of the album, with Joe being swamped by 'chick' singers. My favourite track is probably "So it goes" a restrained ballad with much subtler production, closely followed by the more upbeat gospel-sounding "Thankful".

I applaud Joe for doing something different and getting away from the covers but unfortunately for me this hasn't really worked, especially in comparison to his recent excellent albums. And when is his "Something to say" LP going to be released on CD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait?, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
Yes I think it was if only for the tracks 'Thankful' and 'I Hope'. These songs have the soul of Joe Cocker running right through them- soul after all is what he does best. Backing on the other tracks was a bit over done but if you pare that away you still have that unforgettable voice of Joe Cocker coming through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet, 6 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. V. G. Davis "Ellie's Dad" (Retford, Notts.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
I've followed Joe's career for over 40 years and have seen him live twice in his hometown of Sheffield. This album, his debut for Sony, is absolutely brilliant. His voice has never sound better [ditto Tom Jones] and all 10 tracks are excellent, especially the Nashville cut "I Hope".
My favourite release of 2010 [so far]!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocker brilliance, 9 Oct 2010
By 
D. Carmichael "DC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
Don't listen to the nonsense in some of the reviews, this is his best work in decades, much better that the weak cover versions in previous albums. Who wants Joe Cocker doing Karaoke anyway? Rush out and buy it and make Joe NO 1 all around the world!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard Knocks not at all bad, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
Not as good as "Have a little faith" but still quite good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Joe Cocker's music, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great purchase and will certainly enjoy Hard Knocks music for many years to come a great talend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OTTIMO SERVIZIO E PREZZO INTERESSANTE, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Knocks (Audio CD)
IL SERVIZIO DI SPEDIZIONE E' COME SEMPRE MOLTO VELOCE GRAZIE . MI TROVO MOLTO BENE CON QUESTO VENDITORE E COMPRERO' SPESSO DA LUI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Knocks
Hard Knocks by Joe Cocker (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews