Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2005
When a record comes out from Queens of the Stone Age, lyrically and musically it has a world of its own, its witted, its great and songs like "No One Knows" has that swagger to it. When I picked up the latest edition of Desert Sessions, the last track gave snippets of upcoming albums, and The Eagles of Death Metal were on there.
I loved that song the moment i heard it, it was simple, short and groovy. The only thing that had me worried was whether this new guy (Jesse Hughes aka J Devil Huge)sounded that good as a whole on the record. I'm glad to say, this album is fantastic, the rock n roll is awesome and Jesse has the voice made for it.
Josh Homme makes good work on the drums to, his work on Flames go Higher and the cover of "Stuck In The Middle With You" (which in my opinion is a thousand times better than the Louise version) are undescribable, you just have to listen to them.
I suggest while you wait for QOTSA's Lullabys to Paralyze, grab a copy of Peace Love Death Metal, support the moustache, and rock on baby.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
Rock'n'Roll tweaked up a notch thanks in part to Carlo Von Sexron on drums, aka Josh Homme from Queens Of The Stone Age.
Making up the three piece Timmy "Tipover" VanHamel (guitars, singing) & Jesse "the Devil" Hughes (guitars, singing) this is good music!
Stand-out track "I Only Want You" opens Peace Love Death Metal, a frenzied but tight piece of punked-up rock'n'roll setting the bassless overdriven tone for the album's 15 tracks.
As always from one of Homme's 'projects' you get real value for money - a real buzz.
Those who bought.... Desert Sessions might very well like to try this.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
The first 'Eagles Of Death Metal' CD has been sitting on my shelf since 2004, largely unplayed, as a 'Queens Of The Stone Age' side project. Sad to say, the recent Paris attacks reminded me of the band once again.

The music mostly consists of fuzzy guitar playing & vocals by 'J Devil Huge', impressive sounding drums by Joshua Homme or 'Baby Duck', and bass on only 2 songs by QOTSA's Nick Oliveri. A number of tracks have effective 'pauses' in the music.

The album would have benefited from more quality control. I would have preferred a mini-album consisting of the best 8 songs:-

'I Only Want You'
'Speaking In Tongues'
'So Easy'
'Flames Go Higher'
'Bad Dream Mama'
'Stuck In The Metal' (A cover of the 1973 'Stealers Wheel' hit 'Stuck In The Middle With You')
'Already Died' (Nick Oliveri on bass)
'Miss Alissa'

The other 7 tracks are a more mixed affair, sounding like B sides or album filler. Some of the songs have a 'swampy', blues feel. 'Midnight Creeper' (1:51) is a sparse solo effort by 'J Devil Huge', with a double-tracked vocal. Tracks 11-14 in particular show a dip in quality. Track 15 'Miss Alissa' is somewhat 'buried' as the final track, and revisits the sound of 'I Only Want You'.

Gerry Rafferty's 'Stuck In The Middle With You' was featured in the 1991 movie 'Reservoir Dogs', during an unpleasant 'torture' scene. The bluesy 'Kiss The Devil' has questionable lyrics, presumably in support of 'The Devil', or even 'J Devil Huge' himself. The song credits actually show the name 'J Everett Hughes'. The album was produced by Josh Homme.

The true stand-outs on the CD are 'I Only Want You', the raucous 'Speaking In Tongues', the slower paced 'Already Died', and the cover version. Now I need to catch up with the rest of their career !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2006
its hip, its fun, its got josh homme on the drumbs, what more could you ask for. i was sceptical about about this album before i bought it. i thought it might not be that good, or worse that eagles of death metal would replace QOTSA, but they wont. its differnet but just as gooooood.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2005
This is a great little album! Take Homme et al, add a little crushed Chuck Berry and force through a Country and Western bluegrass blender and bake in a dutch oven for an hour and you may get something like this. Theres the odd tinge of Jon Spencer on some of the tracks which isn't such a bad thing.. The songs are simple, catchy, different and stand being played again and again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2004
This is one of those albums that tries hard not to be pigeon holed.
It's a brave mix of rock, blues and doo-wop, which works amazingly well.
I defy anyone listening to Stacks O'Money, Midnight Creeper or Whorehoppin to not think Little Richard was there with them keeping time.
This is an awesome album of quickfire 3 minute gems, and if anyone who is lucky enought to have seen them live can recount, they smoke......
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
Great album-heard about them from a surf mag review. checked em out on I-tunes and was an instant fan. I especially liked this album. Something new for me to enjoy. Great to hear something a little different.Will be keeping my eye on more from this band for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Love the album it is lots of fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Brilliant album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2005
I wasn't sure at first, but....
Yes, It Is Rock'n'Roll And It Is Good.
Need I say more?
The dedication by Huge is a good clue: Listed include various Stones plus Cramps etc. There's blues in here, a hint of Big Black, a smidge of Canned Heat. Lovely.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.99
£7.99
£5.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)