Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2014
Not quite as good as 'Equoid' which (to my mind at least) is the best of the three Laundry short stories on my Kindle but good nonetheless. With any short story there is only so many pages to tell the tale so they don't have the space to expand the plot / end somewhat "quickly" which is obviously less satisfying than the longer stories where there is more 'time' to tell the tale. But this is really quibbling - it's a good story. If you like the other Laundry files and haven't read this one; do so! But if you haven't read any Charles Stross and wanted a 'sample' to try it out, I'd go with Equoid instead :-) Really looking forward to the next 'installment' of the Laundry files later this year!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
If you've read the other books in this series (Jennifer Morgue, Atrocity Files etc) then this is a smart short story that adds to the legend that is Bob Howard. Stross's writing is as sharp as ever and the only compalint I've got is it is short, wish it had been a full length novel. can't wait till the next book comes out!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
But too short. More Laundry please! And making me write another 14 words is tedious and unnecessary so there Amazon
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
The Lovecraftian world of the Laundry gets a short but enjoyable outing once again. As usual quite unpleasant in parts and amusing in others. If you've enjoyed the other laundry books it's a safe bet you're going to enjoy this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
As ever Stross paints the energetic world of Bob Howard with flair and panache in this short story that merely leaves the reader hungry for more.
An excellent read from an equally gifted author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Charles Stross has touched on the Laundry asylum before, and this excellent short story expands on the idea: what do you do with insane people who are too dangerous to be near anything technological?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
The only reason it's four stars is it's very short story for the money. It was only when I was on the second page I realised I had read it before in a collection of short stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Unicorns are supposed to be friendly creatures, surely? Don't be so sure: and don't assume that the countryside is a green and pleasant land, either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Nice Laundry episode featuring some very dalek-like nursing staff. I'd read this before in a Stross collection but enjoyed reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Enjoy all Charles Stross's stories and this is no exception ,sadly too short I want more .many good ideas I'd like to have seen more of
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse