Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If ever DVD was invented for a movie...
Perfect! If you enjoyed Koyannisqatsi then this is an absolute must. It is that film made much much better. How? First of all, it is shot on 70mm not 35mm so there quality is multiplied by four. Secondly, motion control tracking was used, which means that all those clever speeded up pieces of film now get to move at the same time. Thirdly, the cameraperson/director just...
Published on 7 Nov 2001 by J. Spybey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sure of what this film is trying to convey.
This film does contain some great visual moments. As at least one other reviewer stated, one of the major faults with this film is the sequences do not tell the viewer where they were filmed, though there are some along the way you may be able to suss some of the locations out for yourself.
I believe this is supposed to be a sort of visual poem, though I'm not too...
Published 8 months ago by JLH


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If ever DVD was invented for a movie..., 7 Nov 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baraka [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Perfect! If you enjoyed Koyannisqatsi then this is an absolute must. It is that film made much much better. How? First of all, it is shot on 70mm not 35mm so there quality is multiplied by four. Secondly, motion control tracking was used, which means that all those clever speeded up pieces of film now get to move at the same time. Thirdly, the cameraperson/director just got better at his art. EVERY shot in this movie is a piece of artwork. It is that amazing. Of course, if you are wanting plot and drama you will have to look elsewhere. What holds this film together is awe. Everytime a new shot appears it is like opening a new christmas present and wondering what is inside, gradually peeling off the layers until you see it. If you want to see the world in all its extremes, to see the beauty in Peru, India, Indonesia and pretty much everywhere, you just got to see this movie. Cannot be recommended high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW.....what a beauty!, 20 May 2006
This review is from: Baraka [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I felt like one well walked elephant after watching this film! It never fails to captivate the eye and ear; using visuals and music only, it takes you on a journey around the tips of the world and back.

You can see that Fricke has almost put his life into the cinematography, which will endlessly take you closer to the edge of you seat; with every shot revealing a new and astounding outlook of this beautiful world. I have never felt such an array of emotions from a single movie! From sand desserts, to forests, waterfalls, volcanoes, the sky, people at prayer, to people at war; each shot is uniquely precious with a character of its own.

The music is elegantly wrapped around the visuals; sounding similar to God Speed You Black Emperor and Explosions In The Sky, which alone would take you on a journey of a lifetime. This inspired soundtrack adds the extra dimension to the stunning photography.

I would recommend you find the biggest TV and the best sound system, turn up the volume, shut the curtains and swell into your surroundings. Never to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant, 22 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. David Solomons (Prescot, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Baraka [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
I saw this film a long time ago, and spent years looking for it. Now, thankfully, it's readily available. I have shown it to lots of people of all ages and from all walks of life, and every one of them, without exception, has agreed that it is brilliant. Any review will give you a description of this film, so I won't bother repeating them. Suffice to say, it's once seen, never forgotten. I defy anyone not to find this movie one of the best pieces of cinematography ever. The musical score alone is worth the price. I also have koyaaniqatsi by the way, which although great in its own right, doesn't match this masterpiece. Absolutely breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 21 Jun 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
My kids bought me this for fathers day. What an absolutely stunning blu ray!

Baraka (a Sufi term for 'blessing') takes us on an audio visual kaleidoscopic journey on an epic scale at times through 150 different locations throughout the world. Filmed on 70mm to give a brilliant picture resolution which is outstanding on this remastered version as is the music. Audio is very good. Lots of religious chanting, singing and sounds of nature. Colours are so vibrant and detail extraordinary! There is no narration or talking in this film, just imagery and a beautiful music score. You can make your own mind up as to what is being conveyed here.

The opening scene of a snow monkey sitting so peacefully in a hot spring in Nango, Japan is fantastic. Not a ripple on the water, so relaxed and at peace. I felt like getting in myself! There's a cracking piece of the Kekac monkey chant, hypnotic.

I won't go on about the locations so as not to spoil it but I had to look some of them up which was interesting. One thing. . .keep an eye out near the end for the Imam Mosque Isfahan in Iran. A masterpiece of Persian architecture with it's seven colour highly polished tile mosaics. They almost look like diamonds. Breathtaking images indeed.

This is a must have bluray for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best High Definition transfer to date. Bar none., 11 Oct 2008
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was lucky enough to see this wonderful piece of work in advance, and viewed it on a Samsung 100hz 1080p TV through a PS3. It is, without doubt, the best image I have ever seen on a TV screen of any sort. To date, I would say Blade Runner is the best transfer from a non-digital source, and that was shot on 35mm and scanned in at 4K resolution, which is a far "finer" definition than can be displayed on domestic television sets at present. Well, Baraka was shot on 70mm, and has been scanned in at 8K, and the result is absolutely knock-out.

When I first moved to HD, I was hoping that Baraka would get the treatment it so rightly deserves, but knowing the high costs involved, I thought it would never happen. Well, obviously someone out there has deemed it worthy of that cost, and I can only thank them for it.

If you haven't seen Baraka but are interested in seeing it, you really should pick up a copy. It's the perfect demonstration of HD, although that is secondary to the work done by Ron Fricke and his crew.

If you're already familiar with Baraka and wondering simply whether this is a Blu-ray worth picking up, please, take my word for it, it'll be a while before this is beaten. I just hope you have TV with the specs needed to really get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 24 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Baraka [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
BARAKA is an ancient Sufi word used by mystics to define man's inter-Connectedness to the universe. It simply translates as the breath Or essence of life from which the evolutionary process unfolds.Anther meaning is bless. This is a unique documentary filmed in 70mm film . Dazzling landscapes, curious people, fantastic creatures. A must see for all the nature enthusiasts. You will be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There ought to be a sixth star for something like this!, 2 Feb 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baraka [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
According to the sleeve, this film is 92 minutes in length. When the credits appeared, I could not believe that anything more than an hour had passed.
I bought this film on spec because of a special offer whilst buying Koyaanisqatsi (also filmed by Ron Fricke and one of my favourite films ever) and have just watched it for the first time. I am now buying a second copy for my mother's birthday.
This film manages, without a word of dialogue, or a single actor, to show us, simultaneously, both the diversity and the similarity of the entire human race.
The haunting soundtrack fits effortlessly into a kaleidoscope of images, showing mankind at it's best, worst and simply trying to survive. Shots of Kuwait during the gulf war, Ayers rock, pilgrims at both the wailing wall & Mecca, battery hens, Rio de Janiero slums and so much more, are expertly liked together in such a way that cities, countries and continents flow seamlessly together into a whole that leaves the viewer stunned and breathless.
There is not a single bad shot in the movie. No matter how bleak the subject matter, it is photographed with such care and compassion that one is left with an impression of beauty and wonder.
If Ron Fricke were to film the 3rd sequel to an abyssmal, 'made for TV' no-brainer, it would be hailed as the next Citizen Kane. That he doesn't, is a credit to him. That, instead, he can continue to make films such as this, is a credit to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could you make a better job of it?, 27 Jan 2011
By 
John Currie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am only leaving this review as it amazes me how much some people can over analise, criticise and generally be negative about a movie that in my view was made with some degree of passion and good intention, and also that some reviews are recent but the movie is over a decade old so a little unfair.
I have a book titled Enough is Enough published in 1975 that deals with the excesses and greed of the developed world and mess the developed world is making of this planet. Rather than criticise it, I see it as a sign that it seems to take an age for anybody to do anything to improve things as these issues are still argued over.
Not so long ago the media slagged the motorway protesters, remember Swampy? Guys like that stuck thier neck on the line...and what have we got now, governments hijacking the whole be green issue and making it appear like they are leading the way when it was being begged for by the few many years ago.
If you are a well read or educated, or even a well travelled person, then yes Baraka may not have a profound or even meaningful impact on you admitedly, but i first saw it about 10 years ago when i began to think alot more about stuff outside of my bubble, and for that reason i am emotionally attached to it. It opened me up to many new avenues of thought.
I think it should perhaps be shown in schools, and maybe the images of the children looking for scraps of food in the rubbish tips would with a little luck give some sense of perspective of their own lives.
All I have left to add is...if you do not buy it for yourself, buy it for your kids, but dont buy a KFC bargain bucket to eat while watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Profound and Beautiful Films Ever Made, 9 April 2010
By 
Nicholas Lees (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd heard a lot about Baraka prior to picking it up, specifically about its enormous influence on documentary film-making and the visual arts, its cult-status as a somewhat mystical work of art and the fierce following it has generated. This may sound rather overblown, but in a word Baraka is mermerising.

Without any commentary or narration, Baraka takes the viewer on a journey to a world both familiar and alien: Earth, in all its living glory. This is a profound work of art that has truly found its medium in high definition. The Blu-ray transfer is incredible, the picture has the vitality of the living world. Through a kaleidoscope of expertly juxtaposed images, the film immerses you in the living, breathing, pulse of the natural and human world. With obviously painstaking skill, the creators of the film weave together images from around the globe to demonstrate the interconnected nature of life on Earth. The juxtaposition of scenes reveals a keen artistic awareness on the part of the director, as links, analogies and metaphors resonate between seemingly different social spaces and geographical locations. The film covers the full spectrum of the natural and human world, exploring themes of terror, awe, hatred, joy and beauty as if they were tones in some scale of human experience.

This is a deeply ecological film, which is the source of its great power as well as one or two flat moments. Certain sections are crude and beat the viewer over the head with their message. The depiction of 'primitive' peoples as representing purity and modern technological society as corrupt and debased is also rather hackneyed and unreflective. Yet for me the urban, technological components of the film have a beauty of their own: they too are part of the great rhythm and heartbeat of the world. Ultimately the great power of the cinematography carries Baraka over the simplistic nature of some of its messages, utterly engrossing the viewer and creating a sense of sublime interconnectedness with the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Baraka, 28 Feb 2010
By 
This is one of the most amazing Blu-rays I have ever seen, the images are at times jaw dropingly beautiful and at others somewhat disturbing. Ron Fricke has use 70mm film to capture scene's from all over the globe from a crystal church to people finding rubbish on a tip to sell. This film is awe inspiring and thought provoking at the same time. I have had the DVD of this and I thought it was amazing then, but when I got the blu-ray version it just lifted the whole film. Baraka will not be to everyones taste but if you want to see the world and all it's beauty then this is one to see, even the sad images have a beauty of there own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baraka - Ron Fricke [DVD]
Baraka - Ron Fricke [DVD] by Ron Fricke (DVD)
Used & New from: 3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews