Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The age of sail brought to life...
Here are 19 sea shanties performed by Kimber's Men who were featured on BBC4 a while ago. The running time is approx 63 minutes. You will hear nautical ballads and modern songs too. A refreshing hour or so from a style of music that is centuries old and yet still enjoyed by many.
Published on 30 Sept. 2010 by C. FULLER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was a little disappointed with this album. Kimbers Men are very good when listened to in the pub but didn't transfer to CD. Disappointing.
Published 18 months ago by Wendy Millar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The age of sail brought to life..., 30 Sept. 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Here are 19 sea shanties performed by Kimber's Men who were featured on BBC4 a while ago. The running time is approx 63 minutes. You will hear nautical ballads and modern songs too. A refreshing hour or so from a style of music that is centuries old and yet still enjoyed by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down to the seas again !, 1 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Quite simply,a CD that demands your listening and one that grabs your attention, draws you in, so that each track provides greater pleasure. They're a great group and sea shanties deserve to become part of our listening experience again. A definite 'must buy, must have !'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real singing., 16 May 2013
By 
Mr. G. Hodgson "Treefellow" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Wonderful singing of traditional sea songs by down to Earth men who know and love the sea and old sailing ships as well as more modern themes. Great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sea shanties, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Nice cd that has many very nice sea shanty songs. This cd is well worth buying and it is very well priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
I was a little disappointed with this album. Kimbers Men are very good when listened to in the pub but didn't transfer to CD. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Bluenote (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
I've heard Kimbers Men on various occasions at Folk Festivals, and I always stop to listen and sing along with them. To be fair, I am not a shanty officianado and only have a casual interest in this sort of music. However, when I saw this album, containing 19 tracks, on sale for £3.74, it was a bargain too good to miss, with each track at around 20p! Also, some of the tracks are shanty classics, such as "John Cherokee", "The Alabama", "Johnny Come Down to Hilo" and "Leave Her Johnny Leave Her", songs which were sadly missing from my music collection.

Whilst most of this album brings to mind late night sessions in the festival beer tent, which is what I expected, the mix is lifted by the inclusion of one or two rather special tracks such as "God Moves On The Water", a gospel/blues song about the sinking of the Titanic that I knew from the singing of Blind Willie Johnson, but performed here in a more classic gospel style. All in all this is a well performed selection of shanties and sea songs, and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins Creed, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Inspired by Black flag I purchased the CD. Excellent mix of shanties and folk arrangements - even a blues number on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good to have a record of these old songs; I needed them for an event with a sea theme., 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Hearing songs sung a capella is unusual these days and it's good to hear groups of working people doing just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
these tunes bring a bucket load of cheer when you're sailing the high seas or indeed your local river or lake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great friendly bunch of guys, good entertainers too, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanties & Songs of the Sea (Audio CD)
Another christmas present request for my daughter Zoe, having met 2 of these great guys from Kimber's Men whilst on a recent Tall Ships Sea Shanty voyage around the South West of the UK. They introduced her to this style of music which she thoroughly enjoys and is now an avid fan. Thanks Guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shanties & Songs of the Sea
Shanties & Songs of the Sea by Kimber's Men (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews