Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I had heard Charlotte Madison interviewed on Radio 4 at some point, I think it was Front Row.
She seemed intriguing, but at the time I could not afford the book in hardback.
I'm glad I waited to read it in paperback as my views would be independent of the radio programme.
The book gives an insight into the emotions of a soldier, the female part is relevant...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Cornish Bloke

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'If the prime minister isn't enough top-cover for your conscience, I don't know who is.'
'If the prime minister isn't enough top-cover for your conscience, I don't know who is.' The quotation is self-knowingly glib, and comes at the end of the book when Captain Charlotte Madison has already decided to leave the Army, and is finding killing people increasingly soiling and difficult to reconcile with how she feels about herself. She has also been clear from...
Published on 22 May 2011 by AfghanistanPage


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Dec 2010
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
I had heard Charlotte Madison interviewed on Radio 4 at some point, I think it was Front Row.
She seemed intriguing, but at the time I could not afford the book in hardback.
I'm glad I waited to read it in paperback as my views would be independent of the radio programme.
The book gives an insight into the emotions of a soldier, the female part is relevant regarding sexism but irrelevant as it shows a side that the males cannot.
In many ways I felt saddened by her demise, her relationship with her husband, that she did not wish to 'share' her experiences with him. Perhaps when he read her book he may have felt the same.
The action sequences I found exciting and whilst the book is not a literary masterpiece, I would buy any future books she might write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apache for girls!, 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
Ed Macy had mentioned a beautiful blonde female Apache pilot in his book 'Apache', the first female Apache pilot in the AAC. So I got some what excited when I found Dressed to Kill by Charlotte Madison. I read it in a few afternoon's and wasn't disappointed. While it isn't as good as Macy's 'Apache' it does cover the same periods of time and characters from an altogether different perspective. Namely, from that of a woman. The book goes through a lot, from Charlotte's beginnings with the Army to training with the AAC and following the Apache conversion course, before moving through her numerous tours, and its one hell of a ride. It was strange but welcoming to follow a girls account through this male dominated theatre of war and mixed in with the flying, the fighting, the briefings and usual army humour are dirty finger nails, men's smelly feet and wedding planning! The only reason I didn't give it that 5th star is because there were one too many detailed accounts of the struggles of going to the toilet as a woman while in Afghanistan. My missus would say the same about the toilets in the local clubs so felt it unnecessary. But then again, for the first time ever, the other half wants to read a book that interests me, and it probably helps other women relate so i'm sure she'll enjoy the book as much as I did, while complaining about the one too many accounts of shout-outs and battles. Altogether, an excellently written and exciting read that differs from the usual modern warfare account and will hopefully interest both sexes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Killer Read, 5 Aug 2010
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
What a thought-provoking insightful read 'Dressed to Kill' is. Charlotte Madison took on the men, became their equal, earning their respect and finally showing that female pilots in the military can do the job without any special allowances because of their gender. As an ex-military officer myself, I was very interested in her personal thoughts on the war in Afghanistan and how it affected her. A woman's natural instinct, so they say, is to nurture and protect so as a frontline Apache pilot, Charlotte clearly wrestled with her concience almost daily when faced with the dark side of war. She is definately one tough cookie and I am truly in awe of her determination and resilience when faced with 3 long tours in such a horrible place. The book will open your eyes if you thought that servicemen and women are uncaring and unaffected by what is happening in Afghanistan. A gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
I loved this book, Charlotte comes across as such a nice, fun person in it and it gives a fascinating insight into the life of an Apache pilot. Many war biographies just focus on the actual warfare but Charlotte includes quite a bit asbout what goes on in the basecamps which adds a nice bit of depth to the book and makes for a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, highly reccomended, 18 July 2011
By 
E. Weatherup (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressed To Kill (Kindle Edition)
I looked at the other reviews and thought this would be a winner; and it is!

There are a number of pitfalls the author could have stumbled into and she deftly avoided them all; especially given the political background to the war, her status as first female Apache pilot, the relationships aspect and so on.

My only problem is I don't see how the author writes another book, given that this one covers her whole army career, but if she does I shall almost certainly buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearly told. Different perspective on serving in Afghanistan, 9 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
She is clearly exceptionally capable, operating what is arguably the most difficult aircraft in current use-at least among Western allies. The writing is open and talks about bad breath, latrine smells smelly feet, boy friends, weddings, and embarrassments. Where I was disappointed was not in the writing, which is very well done,but in her apparent lack of deeper thought beyond her immediate experience, and the egregious waste of a major investment when she leaves the military at the end of her third tour of Afghanistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting perspective from a lady pilot, 31 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book. It's not as technical as Ed Macy's Apache and, for me, it loses a little because of that but Charlotte writes very well and gives a superb picture of the realities of life in the middle of nowhere, and the (unnecessary) additional pressures of being a female officer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 22 Mar 2010
By 
A. Salter "Salty" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Hardcover)
This book is definitely one of those books that once you start you can't stop untill you have finished. The book is very well written and its good to get a female perspective on the war in Afghanistan.
Capt Madison also gives a huge insight into how she/women still have to try and prove themselves in the military. From her CCF days and into the regular army. Not only was she trying to survive and deal with the horrors and exhaustion that she and her crew faced every day but also dealing with the narrow minded Muppets that still inherit the ranks today.

This book is not very tech minded like other books in this genre, and I don't belive that this book was ever intended to be a military PAM on the Apache which is good. It strikes a good balance of what you need to know tech wise and the story she is trying to tell. She gives a good insight into the minedset of a woman and the sort of things they think about at any give moment in time and her own particular mindset weather she is at work, relaxing or trying to get her head down in her pit after a hard day.

This is a stonking good read and its a shame that the AAC has lost one of its best pilots. However she has nothing left to prove. All we can say is Thank You for your service, and all the best for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely gripping and very well written, 5 April 2010
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Hardcover)
I bought "Dressed to Kill" after hearing the author, Charlotte Madison, interviewed on the radio. She was interesting and easy to listen to and she is interesting and easy to read. It is rare that I find a book so gripping that I just want to keep reading without a break. It's also rare that I find auto-biographical works particularly interesting. However, "Dressed to Kill" kept me hooked from start to finish.

A lot of thought has clearly gone into this book, both in terms of content but also presentation. Any military-related book is going to contain lots of abbreviations and acronyms, but how many books actually put a glossary right at the beginning? It's a small point, but one which most publishers miss. However, it makes reading military books so much easier when, not only is there a glossary, but it is right at the beginning so that you can find it easily. This book gets that right (although a few abbreviations are missing from the glossary, but only where they are defined within a page or so of their use).

In terms of content - this is a pilot's experience of how/why she entered the military and how/why she became an Apache pilot, then the realities of three tours in Afghanistan. What makes this more interesting than many military auto-biographies, is that this pilot is the first female Apache pilot in the British forces, so as well as the military story there is also the added complexities of being a woman plunged into a very male world, with people coping or not coping with this change to what they had previously been used to. It clearly made things difficult and uncomfortable for Charlotte Madison, as it still does for those women who are in the military now. Another factor that made this surprisingly interesting was the unexpected detail of how technology has made Apache pilots more emotionally involved with the action, with sights that magnify the targets so much and with procedures that involve analysing recordings of each kill, that the pilots watch the deaths of the enemy forces in close up day after day. Let's hope the military organise decent monitoring and treatment for those affected by this.

It's a shame that Charlotte Madison decided to leave the military after three tours, but it is completely understandable. I do wonder if it is something she might regret a couple of years later.

Anyway, a cracking good read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dressed to kill / charlotte maddison, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. C. Hicks "hicksie" (ipswich, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dressed to Kill (Paperback)
good book ,,, more of a personal account , rather than giving technical details charlotte maddison gives details of her time in service and a little of what effect it had on her!!! a very good read, BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac33b7ec)

This product

Dressed To Kill
Dressed To Kill by Charlotte Madison
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews