Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars96
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

As a long-standing fan who has been reduced to tears of laughter to the point of near death by the man, I was a bit disappointed by this latest release. I didn't read any reviews for it, and simply bought it as a fan with high expectations. I admit, there were times when I laughed...a lot...but I wouldn't call this material his best. The highlight for me is the bit about dwarves.

As an aside, the DVD itself has no special features, so this also felt like a bit of let-down, even more so since reading from another reviewer who was actually there when it was being filmed and said that there was a whole bit cut out.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
I went to see Billy Connolly's Hammersmith show earlier this year and after watching his poorest DVD to date a few years ago (Live in New York) there's no doubting that in his last 2 Live DVD's (Including this one) he is back to his best.
After reading the two 1 star reviews given for this DVD so far I'm amazed that the two reviewers cannot see the humour in this DVD. When I watched this show all I saw were the crowd in fits of laughter and loving every minute of the show. So to suggest that the laughter is canned, etc is ridiculous. This show was a complete sell out and I've heard more laughter at this show than any other comedy sahow I've been to (Including Peter Kay, Lee Evans, Frankie Boyle, etc).

With regards to Billy laughing, anyone who knows anything about the Big Yin and his comedy show's will know that he is renown for changing a lot of his act each night. Some things he says on stage come fresh from his memory and he is laughing at the thought of the story, or the story itself.
I only managed to go to one of his show's this year but in 2007 I went to watch him twice and was surprised that at least 40-50% of his act in the 2nd show was absolutely nothing to do with the first show, and I've read and been told that he does this during every tour.

Of course Billy has had better DVD's than this one, but then that is not surprising when he is nearing the end of his stand up career, the age of the Man and the fact that over the years he has produced some of the best stand up by any comedian. He himself is a very hard act to follow. But those giving this DVD any less than 5 stars have either lost their sense of humour completely or were watching the wrong DVD.

This is not Billy at his absolute best (I believe his peak was about 10 years ago) but this DVD is still a lot better than pretty much any other stand up DVD you'll buy this Christmas.
77 comments|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
I almost didn't buy this because of the negative reviews elsewhere on this page and i'm a big fan of BC. I'm glad i bit the bullet and grabbed a copy, it is much better than some of these people would have you believe, it is funny all the way through, there is tons of new material and it IS worth buying.
Billy Connolly is still funny, his observational style is still way above anyone elses version and he knocks the new breed of stand ups into a cocked hat! If you think that Michael McIntyre is funny then you know nothing about comedy and you shouldn't buy this, it's real, it's genuinly funny, it's everything good stand up should be.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Bought as a present for someone who has been a fan of Billy Connolly for many years. Unfortunately, for them, it seemed as though he was swearing for the sake of it, (and yes, they are well aware Billy swears a lot), so it has been given to a charity shop, where hopefully someone will find it more entertaining than any of us did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
I was actually at this recording of this DVD, unfortunately there's quite a bit cut out of the performance which was probably the best comedy show I have ever been to. The DVD is excellent nonetheless and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Billy. It's a shame they cut some of the material out as it actually made sense on the night whereas if you are watching for the first time some of it doesn't seem to tie together well, as many of you know Billy frequently goes off on a tangent whilst telling a story and it would've been nice to include all the stories and tangents. Try not to let it put you off tho, it was an excellent night and it's an excellent DVD!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Great sense of humour by one of the most famous Scotsmen alive, if it weren't for James Bond Sean Connery, but I always hope he'd use his opportunity to initiate self assessment for a collectively guilty human world society full of Blatellasouls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
Watched this last night and was very unimpressed. As a big fan of Billy's older stand up shows, this has got to be the worst, with his stand up going downhill over the last few years or so. Infact, I would go as far as to say this is the worst stand up show I have watched over the last few years. I agree with the other reviews - Billy seems to have lost that ability to make the viewers laugh out loud, instead, you barely raise a few smiles while watching this. His material is unoriginal and sadly at times, has been stolen from other comedians, for example Billy slags off the `sat-nav woman' and Indian call centre workers - unashamedly ripping off jokes which comedians used about 5 years ago...how original! His anecdotes have the essence of an alcoholic grampa, telling exaggerated tales of otherwise dull and banal situations. And as everyone knows, when all else fails use the `f word' excessively, because everyone loves a Scotsman grunting the f word at every opportunity, don't they. Oh, wait that has also been done before...please sit down grampa, you've had one too many. My advice is do not buy this DVD, because even the die hard Connolly fans will no doubt be disappointed. It is evident after watching this, the old Billy Connolly stuff was better - with his best material around 10-15 years ago. There are also better Scottish comedians out there, such as Frankie Boyle and Kevin Bridges, also avaialble from Amazon.
99 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
Unfortunately this is a very poor performance by a man who was once a comedy hero of mine. Connolly's typical scatterbrain style is still in evidence. Just without the comedic gold that was once at the backbone of his material. During a lot of awkward moments the artist guffaws artificially almost imploringly at the audience during a number of his unamusing anecdotes.
In the past I have found myself almost wetting myself in fits of uncontrollable laughter at BC in his prime. Sadly I could raise no more than a smile (or was it a grimace) during this uncomfortable soliloquy. Gone are the days when the camera pans over the audience , theatre goers turning a shade of puce gasping for breath at the great man's droll invective. What ever it was he had, he has no more. Not in this DVD anyway.
Please, I implore you to first seek out the "Big Yin's" back catalogue before considering purchasing this stinker.
77 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
great blu-ray for your comedy collection.i read the comments about this for the dvd and i disagree,if u are a billy fan then you will love this.the only minor things is its shorter than his other dvds and sound is a bit low but apart from that very good buy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
Dear English friends,

What does England mean for a french like me (i will not say a word about N....N..i don't want to hurt anybody by making her or him explode like a Cole bottle mixed with Mentos)...? Let's go :

1/ Sir Winston Churchill

2/ The Fab Four

3/ The Battle of England (we owe you one)

4/ Sherlock Holmes

5/ Michael Parkinson

6/ The Magna Carta

7/ An iced cool beer on a sunny afternoon

8/ Rock Music

8/ Her Majesty The Queen

9/ The marvellous english country side

10/ The English Litterature (Doyle, Le Carré, Amis father and son, Coe, Greene, Maugham,Jerome, Pinter, Dickens, Kent, Stevenson and this elisabethean actor who did't know the art of writing et who didn't exist...Queen Elisabeth the first did the job...I have shown how in my book "Willie was a poltergeist")

But above all this, this incredible sense of humor ging from the Goon Show to Sean Lock via Tommy Cooper, the Ealing studios years, Monthy Python, Fawlty Towers, Terry-Thomas, Hugh Laurie and Steven Fry, Jimmy Carr...with an oscar to Billy Connolly....The man is so funny that i had almost an accident due to a bladder becoming suddenly overactive...THe peruvian music is the most amazing story that i ever heard...You have à comic genius, o lucky you !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)