Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deluxe edition
Once again EDSEL open the pandora box and made a great deluxe edition of this classic album from the late 80's
a must have for all the PWL sound fans.
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by J. H. J. Theuns

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection Marred by Squashed Dynamic Range
Typical of many modern remastering, this Deluxe Edition suffers from a limited dynamic range. A letdown, considering the clear, crisp audio can be made even more appealing if only Tom Parker (the mastering engineer) chose to combine the superiority of modern transfer & mastering equipment while retaining the wide dynamic range that's prevalent in late 1980s...
Published 1 month ago by oldcdfan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deluxe edition, 14 Jan 2011
By 
J. H. J. Theuns "chochito" (amsterdam holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
Once again EDSEL open the pandora box and made a great deluxe edition of this classic album from the late 80's
a must have for all the PWL sound fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason overload!, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
This Edsel compilation is nothing short of fantastic. Every Jason Donovan mix and rarity from the time is available on this and the album's successor, 1990's 'Between The Lines'. The packaging is lovely featuring lyrics, picture sleeves and an excellent essay to boot. It's a nigh on perfect release and of course is remastered so it sounds great too.

Have to admit, though, as I was coming to the end of Disc 2, I became a little Jasoned out! How many of these remixes I'll play again is open to debate, but they are there, that's the thing.

Congratulations to Edsel, who did such a good job on the recent Rick Astley albums, for this great product at such a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection Marred by Squashed Dynamic Range, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
Typical of many modern remastering, this Deluxe Edition suffers from a limited dynamic range. A letdown, considering the clear, crisp audio can be made even more appealing if only Tom Parker (the mastering engineer) chose to combine the superiority of modern transfer & mastering equipment while retaining the wide dynamic range that's prevalent in late 1980s recording.

The limited dynamic range is also evident in the other Tom Parker mastered PWL reissues, including the Japan-market Kylie Minogue's debut CD, and also Enjoy Yourself, released in 2012.

The original 1980s Enjoy Yourself CD may sound softer when played at the same volume, but when listened at a higher volume, the wider & more natural dynamic range makes listening more enjoyable. Bass sounds punchier, deeper & more natural, despite the overall audio quality lacks the crispness & clarity of modern remasters.

I hope that Tom Parker & other current mastering engineers would consider remastering future titles while retaining the dynamic range of the original master tapes.

It's a pity that many excellent modern reissues such as this comprehensive Deluxe Edition is marred by the loudness war.

Comparatively, the Rick Astley's Deluxe Edition of Whenever You Need Somebody, and Hold Me In Your Arms has a better dynamic range, mastered by a different engineer, Phil Kinrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. Oxley "Steps Fan 4 Ever!!" (Crook,Co Durham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
being a huge fan back in the day,i thought i would buy this collection for a trip down memory lane.making hit music is what S/A/W did so well for nearly a decade,and this cd is no exception.featured are the b sides to all his top 5 singles from the album,as well as the 12" remixes.though a few get a bit boring after a while,most are classic pop.mr donovan may have lost his way in life,but this album shows why he was pop royalty back then.so,take a trip down memory lane and buy a copy to replace your vinyl/casette...and before long,you'll be singing away to "too many broken hearts,"everyday"and,of course,"especially for you" wishing you were kylie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Remastering, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Fong Kok Meng "fong km" (Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
It was with a little trepidation when I saw this re-issue was under Edsel records. The Rick Astley re-issues sounded ok but not out of this world. Therefore, i was certainly amazed when I heard this CD and Between The Lines and was blown away by its sound quality. The sound was clear, crisp and had much more punch.

Nothing more can be said about the quality of the songs here. It was a # 1 album after all. Even the non-single tracks are good, i.e. You Can Depend on Me, Question of Pride, etc.

If you are a SAW fan, you'll love this. All the remixes, extended version, instrumentals are here. This is how a re-issue should be done - other record companies should take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
Absolutely great cd and a lovely set of songs by a great singer a most for everyone who enjoys good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SAW's best work, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
This is Stock, Aitken, and Waterman at the very height of their powers. This release contains plenty of extended versions, instrumentals, and remixes, although not all the hits have them. My highlights are the key-changing intro to the extended mix of Too Many Broken Hearts, and the instrumental of Nothing Can Divide Us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for my Daughter , she gave it 10 out of 10 . She will recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many more than "Ten Good Reasons" to give this 5 stars!, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
This review is for: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
The original issue of this album was 11 tracks, so here we get an incredible 26 bonus tracks! To be able to track down all the released mixes on CD singles would cost a fortune now and many of these bonus tracks were issued on vinyl only or were previously unreleased tracks anyway. So to be able to get all of this in a comprehensive collection deserves five stars. Usually I find something missing or something to gripe about, because I'm thorough and just a bit fussy. True to form I did find something, the Party Hardy mix of "Too Many Broken Hearts" is not here. This is most likely to be because it includes a snippet of Pat & Mick's "I Haven't Stopped Dancing Yet" in the middle and would sound very out of place here (I would have left it off too). It has since been released on the limited edition 3CD edition of "Pete Waterman presents The Hit Factory" Pete Waterman Presents The Hit Factory and fits much better on a various artist compilation, so that was the right decision. What we actually have here is every possible mix you can think of from this album and is therefore an archive of everything, rather than a double CD you would listen to from start to finish. The mastering is superb and one thing that was particularly pleasing was to see that "I Guess She Never Loved Me" (the B-Side to "Every Day") is complete. On the CD single of "Every Day" the intro is clipped. It is that attention to detail I appreciate greatly. I thoroughly recommend this, because it shows Stock Aitken Waterman and the team at PWL (who were extremely important to the success of S/A/W) when they were at their most creative. Jason's vocals sound so good on this album and we are so used to him as a singer, it's easy to forget before this he was a TV soap star in "Neighbours" (his character Scott being the inspiration for "Nothing Can Divide Us (Great Scott, It's The Remix)". The transition to pop star seemed to fit him like a glove. I can also recommend Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition). Both these reissues are superb. Many thanks to Edsel and Tom Parker for putting these together. I really appreciate it and I'm sure many other PWL fans and Jason fans do also.

By the way, I have also reviewed: Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 16 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Audio CD)
Tracks on Ten Good Reasons (1988/89)include:
1: Too Many Broken Hearts
2: Nothing can Divide Us
3: Every Day (I Love You More)
4: You Can Depend On Me
5: Time Heals
6: Sealed With A Kiss
7: Question Of Pride
8: If I Don't Have You
9: Change Your Mind
10: Too Late To Say Goodbye
11: Especially For You (Duet With Kylie Minogue)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) by Jason Donovan (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews