Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deluxe edition
Once again EDSEL open the pandora box and made a great deluxe edition of this classic album from the late 80's
a must have for all the PWL sound fans.
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by J. H. J. Theuns

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection Marred by Squashed Dynamic Range
Typical of many modern remastering, this Deluxe Edition suffers from a limited dynamic range. A letdown, considering the clear, crisp audio can be made even more appealing if only Tom Parker (the mastering engineer) chose to combine the superiority of modern transfer & mastering equipment while retaining the wide dynamic range that's prevalent in late 1980s...
Published 4 months ago by oldcdfan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deluxe edition, 14 Jan 2011
By 
J. H. J. Theuns "chochito" (amsterdam holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
Once again EDSEL open the pandora box and made a great deluxe edition of this classic album from the late 80's
a must have for all the PWL sound fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MANY, MANY REASONS TO BUY THIS ALBUM..., 21 July 2003
By 
Morning Star (Portalegre, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Audio CD)
If you like good pop music from the 80's, well this album is a MUST!Probably this is one of the best STOCK,AITKEN and WATERMAN productions.
MANY,MANY great songs, hits that made chart history like:"TOO MANY BROKEN HEARTS","SEALED WITH A KISS", "EVERY DAY(I LOVE YOU MORE)" or the huge hit with KYLIE:"ESPECIALLY FOR YOU".
Such energy and positive vibrations emerge from this 1988/1989 production!AN EXCELENT ALBUM!ENJOY IT...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason overload!, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
This Edsel compilation is nothing short of fantastic. Every Jason Donovan mix and rarity from the time is available on this and the album's successor, 1990's 'Between The Lines'. The packaging is lovely featuring lyrics, picture sleeves and an excellent essay to boot. It's a nigh on perfect release and of course is remastered so it sounds great too.

Have to admit, though, as I was coming to the end of Disc 2, I became a little Jasoned out! How many of these remixes I'll play again is open to debate, but they are there, that's the thing.

Congratulations to Edsel, who did such a good job on the recent Rick Astley albums, for this great product at such a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut album, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Audio CD)
Like Kylie Minogue, Jason Donovan first achieved fame as an actor in Neighbours, the Australian TV soap, before switching to a musical career. This was Jason's first and most successful album, including his first five British hits. Like Kylie's early albums, it was a Stock Aitken and Waterman production. As I've said elsewhere, I'm not a huge fan of their productions overall, but there are exceptions including Jason and Kylie.

The first single, Nothing can divide us, became a British top five hit. Especially for you, a duet with Kylie, gave Jason his first British number one. He followed up with two solo number ones, these being Too many broken hearts and a cover of Sealed with a kiss, the oldie that was originally a hit for Bryan Hyland. The final British hit from this album, Every day I love you more, peaked at number two. Six other great sings (You can depend on me, Time heals, Question of pride, If I don't have you, Change your mind, Too late to say goodbye) complete the album. Some of them sound good enough to have been released as A-sides, but I suspect most of them were used as B-sides. To be honest, it is remarkable that any album should produce so many huge hits because if people like the first two, there is a tendency to buy the album.

Jason had further success with two more albums produced by Stock Aitken and Waterman and the singles taken from them, though none made number one. However, Jason eventually had a fourth British number one with Any dream will do, from the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical Joseph and the amazing Technicolor dream coat. One album on Polydor provided Jason with further success, but I haven't kept track of his career since then.

So as things turned out, Jason's musical career peaked at the beginning, but while this album is long out of print, hits compilations are more readily available. Nevertheless, if you enjoy this type of music, this album is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. Oxley "Steps Fan 4 Ever!!" (Crook,Co Durham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
being a huge fan back in the day,i thought i would buy this collection for a trip down memory lane.making hit music is what S/A/W did so well for nearly a decade,and this cd is no exception.featured are the b sides to all his top 5 singles from the album,as well as the 12" remixes.though a few get a bit boring after a while,most are classic pop.mr donovan may have lost his way in life,but this album shows why he was pop royalty back then.so,take a trip down memory lane and buy a copy to replace your vinyl/casette...and before long,you'll be singing away to "too many broken hearts,"everyday"and,of course,"especially for you" wishing you were kylie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Remastering, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Fong Kok Meng "fong km" (Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
It was with a little trepidation when I saw this re-issue was under Edsel records. The Rick Astley re-issues sounded ok but not out of this world. Therefore, i was certainly amazed when I heard this CD and Between The Lines and was blown away by its sound quality. The sound was clear, crisp and had much more punch.

Nothing more can be said about the quality of the songs here. It was a # 1 album after all. Even the non-single tracks are good, i.e. You Can Depend on Me, Question of Pride, etc.

If you are a SAW fan, you'll love this. All the remixes, extended version, instrumentals are here. This is how a re-issue should be done - other record companies should take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Donovan: Ten Good Reasons, 23 July 2004
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Audio CD)
What can I say this is his finest album, I remember getting this for my christmas that same year, and I still have it. Just go buy it! If you are an eighties fan and think that Jason Donovan is just simply gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
Absolutely great cd and a lovely set of songs by a great singer a most for everyone who enjoys good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SAW's best work, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
This is Stock, Aitken, and Waterman at the very height of their powers. This release contains plenty of extended versions, instrumentals, and remixes, although not all the hits have them. My highlights are the key-changing intro to the extended mix of Too Many Broken Hearts, and the instrumental of Nothing Can Divide Us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for my Daughter , she gave it 10 out of 10 . She will recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition) by Jason Donovan (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews