Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars94
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£14.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2008
Ok, I'll admit it, I love A-Ha, even now. This album was released when I was about 5 and my sister, 5 years older than me, had this on cassette and I can remember we both played it to death, with the result that listening to it now conjures up some really lovely memories of my childhood. But anyway.....yes, there are some undoubtedly cheesy 80s songs on here such as (which I think has been mentioned before) 'The Blue Sky' and 'Love is Reason' but even now, the classics such as 'Take on Me' and 'The Sun Always Shines on TV' still bring a tingle to the spine because they have been really well produced and there is a great use of synthesisers in there (do I detect a Fairlight in there somewhere - ultra ultra expensive early sampling synth with a really unusual sound, used by Art of Noise a lot). When compared to some of the other 80s albums by other artists, this does stand out - or I could just be biased!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
This item has all the info you need on the hunting high and low album and details of A-ha themselves and also remixes of the songs from that album, if you like the first a-ha album you will love this item. very happy with this item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
bought this delux edition to replace my worn out cassette tape someone compiled for me in the 90,s this versions has a few more rarities and demo,s so well chuffed with the CD version so time to retire my cassette version to the attic
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
When I first heard that this classic cd was getting the royal treatment on its 25th anniversary, I was ecstatic since this is indeed what this masterpiece truly deserves. Sound quality has been
improved tremendously to be at par with recordings nowadays and is louder compared to the original cd which came out in the 80s. Hearing these beautiful songs once again made me relive the 80s when my late brother who loved a-Ha was still with us and we would listen to a-Ha songs together.

The extras are really worth it because after hearing the demos, you get to appreciate even more the final versions which made it to the classic cd. For example, "Take on Me" didn't exactly sound awesome in it's original or demo versions. The melody was there and the vocals but the brilliant arrangement was missing then. Which is why when they finally came out with THE version which made it all the way to No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles Pop chart, we know why it did.

Hearing the other songs in the cd, I now wonder why they were not released in America because they could have become big hits. Like "Hunting High and Low" with its beautiful melody and arrangement could have been a-Ha's answer to "Save a Prayer". I also like "Love is Reason" and wonder too why this did not become a hit in the US.

This is a must own for any a-Ha fan. So lovingly put together in time for its 25th anniversary!
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Amazing delux box set from aha
Beautiful photos lyrics everything you could want from this band
A must for all aha fans

Only disappointed the videos aren't in full screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
I went to see A-ha in March and brought this before to reminisce! Morton has a beautiful voice and this is probably one of my favourite albums because of the diversity of songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Absolutely love this CD , I purchased it because my original was scratched , love all the songs it was well worth the wait , when it eventually arrived
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
As a lover of music with a vast collection spanning the last 40 years, quite simply for me, the greatest album ever! It has everything and reminds me of a very special time in my life. Every song is a gem, and like most of their work, hugely underrated... Absolutely superb.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
One of my favorites from the mid 1980's, "Hunting High and Low" Aha's first classic collection is finally remastered and released as this fine band calls it a day. With all the music that came out during the 80's this one stood out from the pack. That angelic vocal delivery of lead singer Morten Harket combined with a band that was really
mature(and played real instruments). Moody and atmospheric with songs that soared and in all the emotions of guys in a band in their 20's so far away from their home in Norway. I could not stop listening to these songs, I was so deep into the likes of David Bowie, Grace Jones, Lene Lovich, The Smiths, Propaganda, The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen to name a few, my taste in music was expanding faster then I could take it all in, but I knew it was a great time to be around with music videos opening our eyes and thanks to the song and video to TAKE ON ME, I was introduced to this great band. I never could understand why the media and record companies in AMERICA forced this band to be pin up boy idols and left their musicanship by the waist only to abandon them just when they left their mark, is a mystery to me. I have followed this band most of ther career, I loved them like I enjoyed bands like the Moody Blues and the Beatles from their 60's and 70's. HUNTING HIGH AND LOW is full of explosive music, harmonies and good taste. They've gone on to make so much great music over the years, but this first one is so special. Aha will be missed by those
who have a good ear for tunes but we have their legacy. Still hear the sounds of "Living a boys adventure tale" in my brain so many years later, only now it sounds so much better, yet still gives me chills from back in that time of my life. Thanks Aha for all the music, one of the all time great singers in rock pop music history. I hope you continue doing solo projects! You are all just as talented on your own but Aha no one can compare to you!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I never really got into A-ha back in their day but bought this on the back of their singles. What a great listen, I sure missed a great band back then. All tracks are good and nothing should be omitted.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)