Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all started!
None of a-ha's album's are perfect - but it's impossible not to give them 5 stars, because each of them is so enjoyable in its own way.
I love this band - it started when I heard 'Take on Me' when I was 13, and this was the first album I bought with my own money.
Admittedly, it's sooo 80s, and not all of the songs age as well as their subsequent material. But...
Published on 8 Feb. 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic album but don't pay for the extra tracks
As a devoted teenage fan of A-ha this was a highly nostalgic album and I'm glad I bought it ... but the bonus tracks were of mixed quality and some of them sounded quite tinny with amateurish musical merit. Some things are better left as a good memory I think! I will definitely play the original album again but I'm not so sure the bonus tracks and B sides will get...
Published 9 months ago by Roger


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Pop with a little bit more, 28 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Hunting High And Low (Audio CD)
This was the first albulm I ever owned from about 1986 I think. It is as good as I remember. The pure pop excellence of Take on Me and The Sun Always Shines on TV really stand the test of time, sounding fresh to this day. The textured keyboards and the beauty, yes sheer beauty (!), of Morten Harket's voice shines in the title track and Living A Boy's Adventure Tale. Maybe its my age but this remains, in my opinion, a classic pop albulm and I would recommend it to all those who remember A-ha. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's debut album, 22 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Hunting High And Low (Audio CD)
From the amazing sleeve (how many people can you spot in the picture?!) to the amazing songs - this album is a classic.
'Take on me' There is'nt much to say about this song as everyone knows it, and most people love it (and the video)
'Train of thought' This is a simpler version than the one released as a single (the remix version available on a Greatest hits album)This song doesnt sound like anything else - dance pop with pan pipes and lyrics about a bored business man.
'Hunting high and low' A great ballad, and again a simpler version than the remixed single. This version is less orchestral, but also sweeter and fragile.
'The blue sky' Back to full-blown pop, with some great lyrics.
'Living a boys adventure tale' A somewhat epic ballad that really transports the listener to another place, Morten's vocals are soaring and heart wrenching.
'The sun always shines on T.V' The number 1 single is A-ha at their best, mixing pop sensibility with darker meaning.
'And you tell me' A song in the vein of the Beatles, simple short and catchy ballad.
'Love is reason' A pop stomper with a high energy feel, could have easily been a single.
'Dream myself alive' A deceptively good song, this must be one of the first songs to use samples - news clips and t.v show soundbites- mixed in with a catchy pop song.
'Here i stand and face the rain' This again, could have been a single, along the lines of 'Sun always shines' but even better!
It starts with an opera singer and acoustic guitar and ends with Morten singing his heart out over driving drums and synths.
This album is incredibly ambitious for a debut and although it sold in bucket loads, it's still underrated - if you don't have this album then give it a try, it should be in everyone's music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was 'A-Ha's debut album., 3 Feb. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Not bad for a 'debut' - considering most of the bands that came out of Europe did not do so well. Though we were unsure at the time of its release as to whether 'A-Ha' had actually made it or not, and were not simply 'One Hit Wonders', when they soared to the top of the charts with their second single (featured on this album) 'The Sun Always Shines On TV', then I think we all had a pretty good idea where they were going! No less than four hit singles on this, and had they released the catchy 'Love Is Reason' as an A side instead of the B side to their first single 'Take On Me', then I feel sure there would have been a fifth - perhaps even a second number one!

Some odd, and perhaps to many 'average' tracks on this, but not at all bad for a debut album. Their subsequent release 'Scoundrel Days' would allow 'A-Ha' to really come into their own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was 'A-Ha's' debut album., 14 Jan. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hunting High And Low (Audio CD)
Not bad for a 'debut' - considering most of the bands that came out of Europe did not do so well. Though we were unsure at the time of its release as to whether 'A-Ha' had actually made it or not, and were not simply 'One Hit Wonders', when they soared to the top of the charts with their second single (featured on this album) 'The Sun Always Shines On TV', then I think we all had a pretty good idea where they were going! No less than four hit singles on this, and had they released the catchy 'Love Is Reason' as an A side instead of the B side to their first single 'Take On Me', then I feel sure there would have been a fifth - perhaps even a second number one!

Some odd, and perhaps to many 'average' tracks on this, but not at all bad for a debut album. Their subsequent release 'Scoundrel Days' would allow 'A-Ha' to really come into their own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Fan's Edtion, 30 Sept. 2010
This is a two disc album the first being the original album with a couple of extra alternative mixes. Still a great album 25 years on... But people who are going to buy this will already know that... However i was glad i bought this 25th edition as it has a second disc of demo's and b sides even tracks i'd never heard before.... To be honest the second disc is all of the demo tracks from the early days and a selection became the album... however the other unchosen demo's capture the band in the early days and are very good... enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah hah!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunting High And Low (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
I never really got into A-ha back in their day but bought this on the back of their singles. What a great listen, I sure missed a great band back then. All tracks are good and nothing should be omitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy 25th years!, 18 July 2010
By 
I. Aleman "SP" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the anniversary of the 25th year of the a-ha's debut album, it was relauched in this remastered, full of bonuses version. A great album with excelent sound quality. The extra material are definitely worthy of buying even if you already have the original version. Not only that there are two different version of package, the regular jewel case and the digipak, which I think is not only avalaible through amazon.

Great music, great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined for Big Things, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A return to their origins with this excellent album.
Harking back to the 1980s, this collection of songs does not fail to disappoint. Morten's voice has lost none of its clarity, beauty and angst. Some of these tracks will be sure to stand the test of time. There are more than a couple of songs, which I'm sure, will be released as singles and will stand up well against the likes of Go West and the Pet Shop Boys. You mark my words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80 classic, 27 Nov. 2012
everyone knows there hit singles, but in a way they co created that 80ies feeling. Ask someone what they think of when they here an A-ha track they most likely will say the 80ies. So there is great merit in the album, it left its mark on a decade of blown up hair and shoulder-pads. Musically it is what you can expect of an eighties album, I especially like the falsetto vocals which are very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories, 6 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The original album was what brought me into the world of being an a-ha fan way back in 1985,my moment of never having heard of them, hearing the album and getting up as a convert to their style. The remaining tracks on this superb album consist of the 45s which I now have consigned to the loft. What great memories have been brought back by listening to these songs again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews