Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars with use it is proving an excellent partner for those learning Welsh
At first glance I was unsure if I'd bought the wrong one? It is more informal than the OED-type dictionaries. However, with use it is proving an excellent partner for those learning Welsh. Its up-to-date use of colloquial (spoken) Welsh takes a little getting used to, but not too long. I'd recommend it to all learners, but it would be a little too informal for the serious...
Published 6 months ago by H. H. Williams

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth even 77p
Normally, I'd say it's worth 77p to try a book, but I wouldn't recommend this one even if it was free - it is unusable! I can't comment on the range of words it includes or the accuracy, but the way it is laid out makes it unusable.

The list of headings and translations is shown in one continuous line, with nothing (not even a full stop) between the end of the...
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by Ms Hannon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth even 77p, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Ms Hannon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
Normally, I'd say it's worth 77p to try a book, but I wouldn't recommend this one even if it was free - it is unusable! I can't comment on the range of words it includes or the accuracy, but the way it is laid out makes it unusable.

The list of headings and translations is shown in one continuous line, with nothing (not even a full stop) between the end of the last entry and the beginning of the next. This makes it hard to find the word you want on the page.

There is no way to jump from one letter to the next, you have to press the 'Next Page' button on your Kindle to get to the part of the dictionary you want. It opens at 'A', so if you want to look up a word beginning with 'T' you just have to sit there and keep pressing that button till you finally get to the T's. If you press 'Menu' then 'Go To', you can only jump to the beginning or end of the book. If the letters were arranged into separate chapters that would at least be an improvement.

Even if this was free it would still be one to avoid as you'd never be able to use it. Awful book, I'm deleting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unlike any dictionary I've used before, 6 Sept. 2012
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
I can't make head nor tail of this 'dictionary'. It was the first book I bought on Kindle - maybe Kindle books ARE strange, but this is certainly NOT like a printed dictionary. I have no idea how to use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 2 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
This so-called pocket dictionary is completely useless for a learner. Even the most common everyday words are missing. The book is also completely unusable as a dictionary. A total waste of time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value if you want to understand older texts, 7 May 2014
By 
Patrick Carmody (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
Kindle version
This seems to me to be a fair dictionary of printed Welsh from maybe the early 1900's.
So, no modernisms. And no clear distinction north/south.
Some other reviews complain about the layout - all squashed up, no headings.
It took some getting used to, but way I use it on my Kindle is -
a) I have put a few markers into the text (Cyn-, Gy-, etc). So I can quickly get to these points
b) if that fails (and there are always problems with mutations), then I can search for part of the word
eg: for cymdeithas, I might search for "ymdeithas"
This takes a few seconds, but comes up with all the entries which contain this text (highlighted).
Of course, the best is "y Geriadur Mawr", but it does not fit in my pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only 77p but I wish I'd listened to the reviews!, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
Simply put, don't buy this.

Don't buy this for your Kindle thinking you'll be able to fox the ridiculous layout by using the search function to search for words! I downloaded a sample and was able to use the search to search for a word so I thought I'd overlook the layout and buy it anyway but our dear author has been canny and indexed the sample but not the whole book, taking this dictionary from practically useless to utterly useless... neu hollol anobeithiol ;)

Dewch ymlaen Amazon, rydyn ni eisiau geiriadur Cymraeg Kindle!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not right for me, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
I bought an ebook version and it is too cumbersome for my use. Other folk may just as well think it marvelous for its content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars with use it is proving an excellent partner for those learning Welsh, 21 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
At first glance I was unsure if I'd bought the wrong one? It is more informal than the OED-type dictionaries. However, with use it is proving an excellent partner for those learning Welsh. Its up-to-date use of colloquial (spoken) Welsh takes a little getting used to, but not too long. I'd recommend it to all learners, but it would be a little too informal for the serious (thesaurus-reading) users needing reference translations. It's size is also very practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of money, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
What a waste of money. You can't look up a specific word and have to scroll through the whole dictionary. Have tried all ways but get message saying service is unavailable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not what i would call a dictionary, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
very poor. words in it I don't need, and no way of putting in a English word in to translate to welsh. not impressed at all, waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English (Kindle Edition)
Very difficult to find the word you want, and not very user friendly. Would not recommend it to beginners in Welsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Pocket Dictionary, Welsh-English
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews