Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Genius
Most people who purchase this (expensive) box set are going to be hard core long term Bowie fanatics of which there are undoubtably millions around the planet. What can be said about the original album? not a lot really that hasnt been said time and time again and i cant imagine many people will be buying this boxset that doesnt already own at least one copy of STS. The...
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by Winslow Alan

versus
116 of 127 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a review exactly - but here's what you get
Since the Amazon product details are not yet listed (at the time of writing), I've listed below what you get in the deluxe box. Before that though, a couple of comments.

Station to Station is to my mind Bowie's masterpiece. The title itself is a pun; the track of the same name opens with white noise and chuffing noises like a radio tuning (station to station)...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Mr. T. Anderson


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bowie magic as always, 16 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
i'v been a bowie fan and lover of his music since the early 70s,so what can i say about this cd,it's been put together as of most of any other of his works,"excellent".but i'm bias, i just love this great singer/songwriter and always will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the true fans...., 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
The deluxe edition of this set certainly lives up to it's description of "the ultimate fan experience". Forget about all the whinging and moaning elsewhere over the cost and why the 5.1. mix is only available here....if you are a true fan you simply have to have this. The packaging is superb and the contents equally so. Every possible variation of the album is here along with a host of memorabilia, not to mention the Nassau Coliseun album(the album sleeve alone is worth the price of entry). Do yourself a favour...buy the box today. And thanks Amazon for not only being the cheapest around, but also for the spectacular delivery speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SET!!!, 27 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great set! you get so much stuff!! the '85 master, the 5.1 version,LP replica, Nassau live '76 2CD and double Lp,A 5 track EP with 2 unreleased edits(station to station edit and word on a wing edit) plus a 24 page booklet,poster, press kit and loads of other memorabelia!!! to get this stuff seperately would cost so much more1 i can understand putting the live gig on LP because it should have been released so long ago as it is such a brilliant live set and would have been released as an LP in '76 so this sort of makes up for that.i only have one problem with the E.P and that is that 'wild is the wind' single version isn't included? why? this would have made it a full collection of the single edits, that aside this set is magnificent and you get so much you won't believe when you get it! you even get a couple of badges,fan club certificate and tour programme! if you like memorabelia and are a completist(like me) then you need this set, but if you are just a casual fan just get the normal album, or if you are a big fan but are not rich there is a more standard edition which comes out the same day(£11.99) and includes the live concert. All in all a great set for the lover of art work and memorabelia but not for the casual or 'average' fan, i love david bowie and i am just 24! just goes to show, us youngsters love him too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall okay, 22 April 2010
This review is from: Station to station [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Okay delivery - no problmes regarding this issue. The product standard was a bit under what expected, but then again, what can I expect by a product that old and at that price. SO - overall okay experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but feel a bit short-changed, 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
Station To Station is definatley one of Bowie's greatest albums, however i always feel a bit disappointed by it's lack of tracks. Despite the fact that the opening track is over 10 minutes long, the whole album still only clocks in at under 40 mins. It's good then that all 6 songs are excellent, with my favourite being Stay. With a few more tracks on here this would probably have been my favourite Bowie album (the song It's Hard To Be A Saint n The City was originally recorded for the album but left off, which is a huge shame as it's a great track.) One of his greatest then, but due to it's shortness not my absolute favourite. Probably in my top 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Station to Station [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Golden Years contains some of Bowie's most brilliant and enduring songs, like the epic title track, the soulful Golden Years and the spiritually uplifting Word On A Wing, plus his graceful interpretation of Wild Is The Wind. This vinyl version contains the original six tracks, but there's also a CD album with live versions of Word and Stay as extra tracks. To me, the album represents Bowie at the height of his melodic, lyrical and vocal powers. Various styles blend together to form a perfectly cohesive sound. A stupendous achievement, probably the best album of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Dog with a Sausage, and all the better for it, 21 July 2010
By 
Anthony Costine (Waterford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
No doubt many young Americans made love in a doorway to this album back in the mid '70s. Regarded as Bowie's warmest, most heartfelt collection, the tracks are linked thematically to ancient flower symbols and various American cities. For instance, the title track references both Texas and the cocoa leaf which grows over the border down Mexico way.

The song "TVC15" was inspired by the letters on the fuel tank of Bowie's Harley Davidson twin engine bike (which Bowie eventually gave to L.A. drinking partner Dennis Hopper after one too many incidents involving red lights and white lines).

"Stay" is famous for it's amazing guitar outro by Earl Slick which lasts an astonishing 17 minutes. (Rumour has it that for most of that guitar solo Bowie was fellating the engineer in a nearby recording booth, which accounts for why there was no one to shout "Stop, Freecloud!" to the tape operator.)

Bowie admits that his vocals on Dmitri Tiomkin's achingly tender "Wild Is the Wind" are muffled somewhat by the overdubbed field recordings of two horses that he had befriended at this time, but the song is undeniably sexier than a warm banana slowly sinking into a bucket of camel jelly.

The huge hit single from the album "Golden Years" has endured down the decades as a testament to Bowie's uncanny ability to crouch in his overalls while staying true to his East London barrow-boy roots. The lilting harmonica refrain at the beginning of each chorus is pure genius and prefigures Bludgeon 'n' Ball's pioneering use of the same instrument by some thirty years.

I am especially excited by this edition of "Station To Station" as it's the only one - as far as I am aware - to include the original Warhol slipcase polaroid of the famous tin machine on the roof of the Cherokee Record Plant in L.A where the album was cut.

Shortly after this recording was made Bowie packed his bags and decamped to the Bratwurst sector of East Berlin where he pigged out on Turkish sausages for many years, but in his gut he must surely have known that Los Angeles would always be his spiritual home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Defeat snatched from the Jaws of Victory, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
I'm not going to review the content, every home should already possess a copy of this,we now are the proud landlords to 3 CD versions, each one different but essential.
I was waiting with baited breath for this, having read all the pre release reviews, studied the format options and made my choice.
Today it arrived, I opened the packaging and examined the shrink wrapped box... that had nothing printed on the sides..any of them.
Do the designers not know how people file CD's? a slip case should have artist and title at least on the side so that the product is easily identified and enhances your collection..
instead we have a black white box ( I know it's Bowie's Thin White Duke period,but this is a classic shoot yourself in the foot moment..
Instead of a set of dubious postcards and a budget cardboard album sleeve, I could have had a proper replica sleeve with an inner sleeve to protect CD's encased in a box, but no, just the flimsy covers in a generic box when filed, admittedly)
Still, musically it's everything I wanted and at a good price too.
But, Mr Bowie, if you read this, take a little more care with the packaging please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT EVEN SO MUCH AS A THANK YOU !, 20 Feb 2011
By 
D. Gilbert "Stone me, what a life !" (Coventry, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
Having read reviews of this here, i really couldn't make my mind up whether to buy it or not. I'm a fan of DB of the 70 to 74 era. I'd actually never heard Station To Station, (apart from the singles of course), until hearing a couple of other songs on bootlegs. My main interest is the live concert recording.........one i hav'nt got for some odd reason. One review kept putting me off, saying some of the recordings are "a little ropey"....."(superior) bootleg quality"....."2nd half of the concert is somewhat unbalanced"..... !! A LOAD OF CRAP !!!! I did buy it in the end, & it sounds excellent to me !! I've got a thousand or so bootlegs, so i know a bad one when i hear one.........AND THIS AIN'T BAD ! In fact, it's EXCELLENT ! So ignore that critical review.
Now MY criticism of the live show is this.......did DB not speak at all during this gig apart from introducing the band , ( which is a bit echoey ). It's blatantly obvious that the morons who engineered & produced this have edited out ALL of Davids between song chat and song intro's !!!! For the whole gig not a word is said, not even a thank you !!!!
Minus a star for their spoiling tactics !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get Hold of the Original Vinyl LP!!!, 22 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to stop wearing out my vinyl copy. I'm not sure what happened in the mastering process - but the tempo of the album has dropped.
It all sounds too slow and the groove isn't quite there. I've got Ziggy from the same series which doesn't suffer from this slow tempo problem. So ...get hold of an original vinyl copy to enjoy this Bowie masterwork!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Station To Station
Station To Station by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews