Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Still Crazy After All These Years
Theres a good reason this album won a Grammy. Best Album of 1975 is due rewards for one of the strongest of Simon's early solo catalogue. It is littered with tracks that have now become 'classics' including the funky US Number One (50 Ways To Leave Your Lover), the final studio collaboration between Simon & Garfunkel (My Little Town) and the beautiful title track (Still...
Published on 10 May 2006 by Mark Palfreeman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Some vintage Paul Simon which I always enjoy listening to.
Published 3 months ago by grumpyoldman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Darren TOBIN (Hilton Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Crazy After All These Years (MP3 Download)
The best solo album from this male singer songwriter which is one half of Simon and Garfunkel a great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF HIS FINEST ALBUMS, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember when this first came out - played it to death! I think one of Paul Simon's finest works - his voice is so clear and soulfull.
He certainly is one of the best singer/songwriters we've ever had and have followed his career spanning over 6 decades.
Never get tired of listening to Paul Simon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music memories were made byf, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
paul simon is such a gifted musician, and the music is so evocative today of days gone by. music which doesn't date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good album, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You'll all know Paul Simon and this album prooves he is still a great singer/songwriter buy now go on ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Crazy after all These Years, 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this one, but then if you like Paul Simon your never disappointed. can't wait to buy the essential Paul Simon if this CD is anything to go by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 12 Mar 2012
By 
F. Perry (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply Paul Simon does not put a single foot wrong throughout the course of this whole album. Each track is perfectly crafted and polished until they shine like jewels.We all know the singles from the album but the remaining tracks are all of similar quality. He may have equalled this level of excellence with "Graceland" but he has never surpassed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Simon!, 2 Sep 2006
By 
Michael Bermingham "mjbermingham" (Birr,County Offaly,Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember buying this album when it was originally released.At the time I thought it was not as catchy as its predecessors 'Paul Simon' and 'There Goes Rhymin Simon'.However after a few listens I really got to like it a lot.Although different from his previous work this is still Simon at his best.Beautiful melody combined with the unmatchable Simon lyrics make this a winner all round.

The album opens with the beautiful 'Still Crazy..', with Simon emphasising his strong solo vocal style.Art Garfunkel joins him for 'My Little Town', their only joint song since splitting in '70.After this comes a collection of superb Simon ballads including his number one hit '50 ways..'.Closing the original album the beautiful 'Silent Eyes'is my personal favourite off the album.The 'extras' on this remaster are also worth having.

Truely a worthy addition to any collection of Simons music.If you like Simon at all you have to have this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some vintage Paul Simon which I always enjoy listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Waited longer than normal but it arrived and was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Simon at a solo peak, 27 Nov 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Every album Paul Simon produced in the early to mid 70's is worth buying and this is no exception. There are some great songs: the title track, "My Little Town" with Art Garfunkel, "50 Ways To Leave Your Love", "Gone At last" and "Have a Good Time". The other tracks certainly aren't weak, but for me these are the best.

The musicians on the album are all first-rate. The drummer is mainly Steve Gadd (including his famous intro to 50 Ways) with Grady Tate on one track. Theres variously Michael Brecker, Phil Woods, David Sanborn and Eddie Daniels playing Saxophone (all top Jazz players). Phil Woods plays the storming solo Saxophone outro to "Have a Good Time".

The highlight for me (as a Pianist) is the late Richard Tee's superb uptempo Gospel Piano playing on "Gone at Last". It won't be to everybodies taste but its easily my favourite track on the album. If you like that style of playing investigate albums by the group Stuff of which Richard Tee and Steve Gadd were both members - as indeed was Gordon Edwards who plays bass on "Gone at Last".

After this album Simon never reached these heights again until the release of Graceland 11 years later. This is a laid-back masterpiece and should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews