Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2010
Four years after dipping her toes in the music market with the strong but safe, 'Never Say Never', Kim Wilde returns with quite possibly the album of her career. Reawakening her old sound with an incredible 2010 twist, this really is an inspired return to form that builds on the strengths of 'Never Say Never' (the re-recorded 'Kids...', 'Perfect Girl', 'I Fly', 'Maybe I'm Crazy' and then goes supersonic!

Album opener, 'King of the World' (a tribute to a recently deceased friend) kicks the album off at a pace, with guitars from all angles ("Electric Guitaaaaaaar!!!) and Kim in complete control. It has hit written all over it, as does the 2nd track 'Lights Down Low' a track that could and should be topping the charts worldwide. It's as strong as any of her biggest hits and would be embraced on dancefloors around the globe if only it got the airplay.

The pace slows only slighty on 'Real Life' which is a real teaser as it builds and builds, promising a massive chorus which it finally delivers. Insantly likeable and laden with hooks, it could easily be a big single. Glenn Gregory joins Kim on 'Greatest Journey' a grinding ballad in the style of 'Cambodia' before she rocks out again with 'I Want What I Want', a rousing attitude stomper that captures the overall mood of the album well.

A ballad with Nik Kershaw, 'Love Conquers All' follows which altho good is probably one of the weaker tracks on the album. Good but slightly dated and therefore not quite in step with the rest of the tracks, but this is soon overturned with 'Hey! You!' a massive concert friendly assualt, with echoes of Depeche Modes 'Personal Jesus', that could easily be another single. The pace doesn't let up with 'Suicide' and 'This Paranoia' which hark back to Kim's earliest albums, and evoke a very early 80's/New Wave feel.

'Loving You More (Than You Know) follows, a massive electro heavy, atmospheric ballad which is quite possibly one of the best ballads Kim has ever sung. Material like this is gold dust, and she totally delivers on this one. It's a much more produced version than those she's sung live recently, very much in the vein of Depeche Mode's 'Home'. Then comes 'Get Out' a breathless belter of a song that never lets up from start to finish leaving you exhausted by the end. Any current girl band would kill for this song and Kim stamps her authority all over it. If they had the balls to release it and it got picked up by radio it'd be MASSIVE!!

Back into cruise control for 'My Wish Is Your Command', another 80's rock number similar to 'Chequered Love' before the album turns on its head with 'Jessica' a self penned ditty where Kim sings beautifully with just a piano and a few sparse backing vocals. If you liked 'Lucky Guy' from her 'Close' album you'll LOVE this. If it was just a little bit longer it'd be perfect and it closes the album in a surprising and delicate way.

An album like this doesn't come along every day. If you've ever liked Kim Wilde, take a chance and buy this album. It seriously will blow you away with it's energy. There's at least 8 absolute belters on here that will stick in your head like the best of her hits. It's criminal that we all know it will go unheard by the masses, but in some ways that's what makes us love Kim all the more as she's put her heart and soul into this album for us fans and for that I can't thank her enough. Now how about a gig at the Shepherds Bush Empire..?
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This is probably Kim Wilde's best album and it is so great to see it released in her home country!

Kim Wilde for the 21st Century, this has all the ingredients for a hit album - powerful vocals, rocking guitars, electro synths and energy!

Best tracks are definately "Lights Down Low", "Real Life" and "I Want What I Want".

Would love to see this do well in the UK...if you liked Kim in the 80s and 90s or just like decent music, do yourself a favour and buy this album!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
At last a UK release (shame its not CD aswell as MP3 ) on Kim Wilde's 2010 original release and follow up to Never Say Never in 2006

I have been a Kim Wilde fan since 1981 when Kids in America was released and i have to say this has to be one of my favourite Kim Wilde albums.

It contains the usual mixture from pop to quite heavy stuff. My favourite track is deffinatley My Wish Is Your COmmand, its very fast and heavy on the guitar! Love it

The alcum also contains guest vocals from Nick Kershaw and Glen Grergory which is also a nice touch

Seriously - buy this album, you wont regret it, and while you are at it buy the latest release Snapshots too!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
I stumbled across this album while checking out some of Ms Wildes older hits... good grief, it's amazing! I regret to say I was totally unaware that she was still making music after thinking she had settled into a tv career. Big mistake.
For anyone who thinks that this is Kim Wilde making a cash in album based on her earlier success, you are so so wrong. For others who think that she couldn't possibly cut it in todays music scene, well just go and listen to 'Lights Down Low' and tell me that isn't a fantastic pop song. Amazingly the album has other songs just as good on it.
I honestly don't understand why the quality of songs on this album isn't getting it a release in the UK, shameful. I'll end by saying basically, even at the exorbitant prices importers are charging for it, it's still worth buying.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
Based soley on the forthcoming single "Lights go down" this must be one of the most amazing dance singles to be released in years by the pouted one Ms Kim Wilde.She has to be one of the UK'S most underated singers & she consistantly delivers in her amazing vocals.This is a fantastic follow up to 2006's "Never say never" & her string of European hits over recent years,sadly I doubt this will hit the English market,it's too good in a market filled with cloned manufactured wanabees , that Kim must only cringe at.She has delivered every possible style of music from 1981 to date & after all is still the biggest selling female UK artist of the Eighties.Buy this cd & you will still love it twenty years from now,as I say based on the first single to be lifted from it it is fantastic.Thank heavens for Ms Kimbo of Wilde,& all who sail with her.
88 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
I have been a fan of Kim Wilde for a long time now. After visiting her website I found that she had an album out which I wasn't aware of. I listened to this album first on Youtube, I have lost count on how many times. I then decided to buy the CD and still enjoy listening to it now. So if you are a Kim Wilde fan and aren't aware of this album I do recommend you give this album a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
Well Kim has done it again taken the pulse of the Music world,great opening track "The King of the world" makes a perfect introduction to "Come out & Play" in all its has let her music grow long on concept with full of life,speaking of "Real life" has a brilliance sound to it, you can hear Kim's unique voice shines through w great melody, as if Coldplay wrote the song for her.
OK the Lead single "Lights down Low" sexy pop/rock song bring out brilliance with full of emotions. But that's all it takes to get her emotions going, and passionate peaks like "Lights down low" & " Get out" brings out the highlighs of the album but you best believe she will not give her explanation,two of her best ever, Get Out kicks off with pure bliss and never lets you down
Heavy guitar sound -Paranoia & Suicide sound like -GreeDay on there good day,It's a bit dizzying i still think Kim should stick what she does the best, which is Pop music.
Duet w Greg from Heaven 17 "Greatest Journey" & "Love conquers all" other than that it's the sort of relaxed and smooth experience yet nastalgic- that happens to a special person like Kim Wilde who takes you to a jurney and yet still devoted to Love.
Its decently an album that has steady and modern sound with full of interesting surprises, must have in your collection.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
As a former Kim Wilde junkie, I approached this album with some trepidation having not been very impressed with some of Kim's later work. However, I was encouraged by the generally positive reviews on Amazon so went ahead and bought it. It is a really excellent album with hints of Avril Lavigne, Sophie Ellis Bextor and Kylie but with Kim's own unique style. Her voice is sounding as good as I've ever heard it and the album is a joy to listen to all the way through. I agree with an earlier poster who said it is one of her best ever albums. Really strong tracks with a modern twist that will appeal equally to old school fans (such as myself) and newer younger listeners. My personal favourite tracks are the rocky "Lights Down Low" and the opener "King of The World". Buy it! It's brilliant!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
What an absolutely brilliant album! I've been a fan of Kim Wilde since she first appeared on Top Of The Pops in 1981 with 'Kids in America' and have followed her music ever since.

This is, without a doubt, one of her finest records to date. Not a bad song on here, and as previous reviewers have pointed out she very much returns to her rockier roots. The opening track 'King of the World' is unbelievably catchy as is the first single to be taken from the album 'Lights Down Low'. In fact all of the songs are amazing, the only exception being 'Love Conquers All' although having said that it's still pretty good, just not as strong as the others.

It's scandalous that she does not get the airplay or recognition she deserves in the UK these days as her music and talent puts a lot of other more popular acts to shame. If only she would be given a chance by the powers that be, maybe we could get her back on our TV screens and on our radios, and it wouldn't be a moment too soon!

Buy this album, I can guarantee you'll love it!
44 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
I have been listening to Kim Wilde's Come out and play album for 2 weeks now and I can't stop blasting it from my car stereo. The last time I was this excited about an album was decades ago, back in the 80s when real music was still alive and created. With the help from her team, they managed to create a fanastic album where all tracks are quality both lyrically and musically. All tracks are number ones in my opinion, there isn't a bulking one on this album. She covers a wide range of singing styles and lyrical meanings which basically puts every nowdays clone music making singing clowns to shame. Her voice is still as smoky, sensual and interesting as it was when she first sang Kids in America. All I can say, that she is like a really, really expensive, vintage musical wine, sounds better with time. Well done for Team Wilde for bringing real music back into circulation. It was time, I have been waiting for this revolution for a long time.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)