Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding album!
Body Language' represents a return to a more adventurous direction for Kylie without losing that commercial sensibility cemented by her previous record 'Fever.'
Influences here include Urban beats, especially evident in the fantastic 'Secret (Take You Home') and 'Red Blooded Woman,' Electronic Hip POP represented by the truly kooky 'Sweet Music' and Prince-esque funk...
Published on 5 Nov 2003

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pop 'til you drop
Well. First, this is not her best album, but, i have to say this, I'm still waiting for her best album!!!. Don't get me wrong!! I'm her fan since ages!!! Have all the albums, all the DVD's, all the mixes.....This is what i think:
The songs are good, i'd say even better than the ones on "Fever" with the obvious exception of CGYOOMH, which as you all know is...
Published on 5 Dec 2003 by Mauricio


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding album!, 5 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
Body Language' represents a return to a more adventurous direction for Kylie without losing that commercial sensibility cemented by her previous record 'Fever.'
Influences here include Urban beats, especially evident in the fantastic 'Secret (Take You Home') and 'Red Blooded Woman,' Electronic Hip POP represented by the truly kooky 'Sweet Music' and Prince-esque funk on 'I Feel For You.'
Kylie even slows the pace with a slice of RnB Electro on 'Chocolate,' the anthemic orchestral 'Loving days' (a MUST for a single)! and the sublime 'Someday' (featuring Green Gartside).
Body Language is an absoulote must have record which is on an entirely different level to her last album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pop 'til you drop, 5 Dec 2003
By 
Mauricio "rodiesc" (Asuncion, na Paraguay) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
Well. First, this is not her best album, but, i have to say this, I'm still waiting for her best album!!!. Don't get me wrong!! I'm her fan since ages!!! Have all the albums, all the DVD's, all the mixes.....This is what i think:
The songs are good, i'd say even better than the ones on "Fever" with the obvious exception of CGYOOMH, which as you all know is excellent....But to be fair, "Slow" is an OUTSTANDING track!!!. That techno 80's Atari-sound-like is quite adorable.....
Other goods: Secret (must be a single), Chocolate (must be a single too), Loving days (goody goody).....
Hey people, let's admit Kylie is a pop entertainment number....a long one cause she's in business for 15 years now.....but she's not a genius, she never was one....and she never acted as one. But she's here, she's doing very good, she's a good singer (again she never said she was THE VOICE).
And i would say this product is good, better produced than "Fever", with better lyrics (worst it would not be possible) and more spirit than a bunch of pop acts around. Finally, at least "she is with the music and not against it", like some "rebels" and thank God she's not as "Dirrrty" as some cute girls whose torture-voices and crap-music are like being dead and keep getting sick.
Buy it and give it a chance, you'll enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a grower!, 22 Jan 2004
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
I have to admit that on first listening I was disappointed with 'Body Language'. I loved the Fever album and have fond memories playing it over and over in the summer of 2001, working away on my computer or prancing around the room getting ready for a night out. 'Light Years' was alright, definitely better than her previous stuff but 'Fever' was simply fab. I was eagerly anticipating 'Body Langauge' but an extension of 'Fever' this wasn't. Instead it conjured up images of cocktail lounges -it sounded like the type of easy listening music that you have in the background of upmarket bistros. But I hadn't given it a fair hearing. Over the past weeks it's grown on me enormously, to the extent that I'm constantly humming 'Red Blooded Woman' and 'Chocolate'. Every track effortlessly flows into the next. I haven't heard such a cohesive album since Madonna's 'Ray of Light'. Though she didn't have a hand in writing any of the tracks bar 'Slow', this album really gets at the essence of Kylie. She's revealed herself and this intimacy with thoughts and feelings really strike a connection with the listener. 'Promises', 'Loving Days', 'Secret' are also brill and contrary to some critics' opinions, 'Still Standing' is great. Yes there is a Prince influence but that's not a bad thing, especially since Kylie herself was a fan in her early days. I've reviewed my original opinion of 'Fever', as an album 'Body Language' is infinitively better - no fillers here. There may not be the equivalent of the stumping anthem of 'Can't get you out of my head' but when Kylie is this interesting, you know you're onto a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have album of 2003, 17 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
I have adored Kylie for a while now, and love all previous releases. The first time I heard Slow I wasn't sure, however, the track really grew on me and when played loudly it sounds fantastic. It is in by far the best single release since CGUOOMH. The album follows a similar route, there are some instant stand out tracks, and some slow burners which in turn become true favourites. Red Blooded Woman, Secret and Still Standing are strong contenders in my opinion for the second single release from this album. All in all the album is illuminated with electro-pop, 80's influence and a tinge of R'&'B. After Light Years and Fever is was difficult to imagine where Kylie would go next, or how she would be able to better especially Kylie. With Body Language she has accomplished that. Kylie really does do everything with such style. This album will be loved by Kylie fans and will greatly appeal to those not familiar with her music up to date. BUY IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Import, 2 Jun 2005
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
This import edition of Kylie's album Body Language is worth it if you would like to hear the tracks You Make Me Feel and Slow Motion, which are bonus tracks. But the standard edition is fine for me, including the normal 12 tracks and at a cheaper price you are probably better off getting that edition. Includes Slow, Red Blooded Woman and Chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Move with the body, 30 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
It's all too natural for singers and other artists to want to stretch their limits, not keep themselves restricted to the same ol' same ol'. Sadly, Kylie Minogue stretches too far in the wrong direction in "Body Language," the lackluster follow-up to dancepop hit "Fever."

It opens strongly on the sensuous "Slow," with its sly beats and slithery vocals. It's not a very dancey song, but it is a strong one. Unfortunately that doesn't carry over to the awkward, angular "Still Standing" or the singsong "Secret (Take You Home)." They almost are good pop, but they never become catchy or half as fun.

Halfway through, there is a revival of sorts with the bouncy "Sweet Music" and sexy, built-up "Red Blooded Woman." A symphonic edge enters with the slow, swirling "Loving Days." Then it's back to the uninspired stuff -- the robotic vocals and video-game beats of "Obsession" and the embarrassingly awkward "I Feel For You," and ends with a freaky remix of "You Make Me Feel."

Obviously after "Fever," expectations were high -- okay, while the album was just dancepop, it was fun, bright and unabashedly sexy. But Minogue strays too far in the wrong direction with "Body Language," leaving behind a lot of the musical influences of her previous release. That turns out to be a major mistake.

The music is a lot slower, and often a lot less disjointed -- the beats are repetitive except in "Red Blooded Woman," and too often they end up sounding like samples lifted from a video game. There's also an awkward blend of 80s synth and 21st-century R&B and hip-hop vibes. It doesn't mesh, and it doesn't work.

Minogue's voice is a pretty little wisp. She doesn't have great vocals, but she does know how to tailor the songs to fit her like a glove. The songs she sings are equally wispy, with strained rhymes like "Count backwards/five four three two one!/Before you get too heated and turned on" and "That's right, let me give you something for your appetite/You know I wanna be with you all day and night." Okay, whatever.

Minogue's follow-up to "Fever" abandons too many of the things that made that album such a success, in favor of sexy video-game beats and an awkward mix of dance and rap. This "Body Language" is interesting, but not really worth studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back again, 25 Nov 2003
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
As i am not really a fan of pop music and the pop charts i found it quite disturbing that i actually wanted to listen to the new Kylie album. She first caught my attention as a credible artist when CGYOMH was first released. I really liked her last few singles.
Her new album is equally as credible, probably not to all die hard Kylie fans, not being one myslef i can honestly say this is a fine example of modern pop. Very enjoyable with 80's electro funk dance beats and an orginal leap for pop (for once). I don't really care if Kylie is the brains behind this infectious piece of music, a quality pop album is few and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respectable Pop, 27 Nov 2003
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
Never been a fan of the 80s or anything about them. I thought the current revival would be embarrassing. Kylie has proved me wrong with a stunning release. At the first playing the album didn't seem much and risked become samey by stickng to the 80s electro-pop style throughout. But sticking with it you find a wide array of classy, respectable, catchy tunes that will continue to grow on you for weeks. There are many tracks that stand out as being potential singles. Great work Kylie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!! Kylie singin' in the in the rain., 23 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
This album is soooo refreshing!!!I think Kylie has matured and was smart to "dare" a little more on her choice of songs.There are a few "easy listeners" on the track like "Chocolate" and "Secret". The best is, (in my opinion) "I FeelFor You", which stands out and gives great vibes, with the sound of rain and thunder breaking into an up-tempo beat which gets you running onto the dance floor.
"Body Language"is a 5 Star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is awesome!, 26 Nov 2003
This review is from: Body Language (Audio CD)
I was very skeptical at first because of the rumors of Kylie's new sound, but I fell in love with this album the moment I heard it. By the second song, Still Standing, I was ready to get up and dance. Body Language does have a different sound than Fever or Light Years, but is definately just as fun, sexy, and danceable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Language
Body Language by Kylie Minogue
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews