Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights, Camera, Rock Action!
What a fabulous package this is : Mogwai's first full live record spans three nights in New York in April 2009. The CD is a full 75 minutes of tasty rock action - every note is clear and precise, every punch of drums and strum shows that Mogwai's strength comes in creating a mood, an atmosphere, a fog of feeling that betrays the influences and also sounds distinctly of...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by Mr. M. A. Reed

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the size i thought
was a bit shocked by the size thought it looked like a free disc u got in a paper.
dont know what the dvd is like because it a gift hope its better than it looks
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by michelle2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights, Camera, Rock Action!, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
What a fabulous package this is : Mogwai's first full live record spans three nights in New York in April 2009. The CD is a full 75 minutes of tasty rock action - every note is clear and precise, every punch of drums and strum shows that Mogwai's strength comes in creating a mood, an atmosphere, a fog of feeling that betrays the influences and also sounds distinctly of itself. If you are a fan of Mogwai's hypnotic and medidative live show - the nearest equivalent for me is a Pink Floyd show where the music becomes a soundtrack to a bout of inner exploration - this is a fair recreation. The dreamlike quality of the 58 minutes of live footage by Vincent Moon (who really needs to buy some new cameras, as I'm bored of a subYouTube black&white now) enhances the mood of the music but is a predictable artistic trick ; with a stunning soundtrack. Between the CD and the DVD, you get 17 songs and two hours of great music - and a download code for the six DVD-only songs for a total of 17 audio tracks ; 11 on CD, 6 to download and 8 or so to watch. It's a useful, careful and tasteful package I will be returning to many times in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You either love them or..., 23 Aug 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
You have to love them don't you? I'm surprised how few reviews there are for their previous albums, I would have thought that their extensive fan base would have ensured loads of positive feedback - or are they/we(the fans) just too cool for that?
Nevertheless Mogwai have built up a solid back catalogue and a lot of it is displayed herein. The included DVD is a record of the concert - and is a tad arty farty to be honest but this is what they do, moody exciting music that reaches across artistic boundaries. I mean the Zidane thing was just so crazy it really worked, but in many ways this album is a conventional live "best of" given the added twist of having been filmed and presented in this way. No real surprises then, this is one for the fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful live album, 18 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
This is Mogwai's first live album, a recording of a gig in Brooklyn last year. It's a very lavish package, with a live album, the Burning live DVD, and also downloads of additional material.

There's a spread of material here from all their albums. The quality of the recording is very good, you can hear every scrape of guitar string even amidst the inevitable onslaught that comes in many of their songs. If anything, some of the tracks are even more embellished, I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead in particular benefits from additional keyboards. Later, Hunted By A Freak emerges as one of the strongest of the bunch. The roar of appreciation when it's off kilter guitar picking starts up is quite something to behold for an instrumental!

The track Cody contains some slightly thin vocals from Stuart Braithwaite and is a little jarring. The other tracks draw from all Mogwai's repertoire of talent, the slow-builders (Friend of the Night, I Love You, I'm Going To Blow Up Your School), the elephant-on-the-loose (Glasgow Megasnake), and the epic mindblower (Like Herod). For this last one especially it's well worth watching the `Burning' DVD (tastefully shot by Vincent Moon). When the sudden guitar assault comes mid-song the camera is on the crowd. You can feel their exhilaration as they simply scream and roar with a combination of fear and elation, which sums up Mogwai's live experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mogwai's Live Experience Captured, 4 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
If you buy this album you will either have saw Mogwai live or you will need to see Mogwai live. Beautiful music yet again with that hint of a live atmosphere makes this album one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive., 23 Sep 2011
By 
Raul Pinto "headradio" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
I bought this album mainly because of the DVD and I wasn't disappointed. The high contrast scenes are visualy stunning. A great company for Mogwais music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
very good codition as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different angle on Mogwai live., 26 Aug 2010
By 
Mike (Keighley, W.Yorks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
14 years in tha making and we finally have a Mogwai live album. I can understand any possible reluctance in releasing a live album in the past. Mogwai are unquestionably brilliant live but it is nigh on impossible to capture the aural maelstrom that is Mogwai live and do it justice, impossible to replicate that shockwave that hits you in the chest and takes your breath away the split second after they cut loose on a song like Helicon 1 or Xmas Steps. This is kind of hinted at a couple of times on the DVD, most notably on Helicon 1 where the sound goes a bit muddy and I have visions of the mixing desk going haywire and clipping out all over the place, unable to cope with the magnitude of what it is trying to process.

So is this a big drawback? Not really because this is extremely well recorded, drawing out the intricacies and delicate melodies in Mogwai's music that lie beneath the wall of sound, something that you don't always pick up when you see them play live. What you get then on the CD, if less so on the DVD, is a very intimate recording of a very ferocious live band. So what you lose on one hand, you gain on the other in what is a very valuable and interesting album. The quality of the DVD recording is not as good as the CD but has a stronger tracklist.

Definitely an album to be highly recommnded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Sep 2010
By 
G. Moss "drgarymoss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
Great music, great DVD and six bonus tracks to download. Not only superb value, but a well-designed set worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the size i thought, 9 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
was a bit shocked by the size thought it looked like a free disc u got in a paper.
dont know what the dvd is like because it a gift hope its better than it looks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mogwai tread water, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Klausk (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Special Moves (Audio CD)
The trouble with the, so called "Post Rock" genre is it is just that, it is "post" rock. It doesn't rock. Mogwai are a typical example of this. Songs begin quietly, and then build up into a lot of noise, and return to being quiet again, or just stay quiet. Only Slint are actually capable of holding one's attention in this way, as their songs have a really creepy and menacing way about them. Added to by barely discernable words, deepening the mystery. Mogwai, after a lot of sweet albums, come nowhere near this. It is doubtful whether they ever will, quite frankly.

As for the dvd. Mogwai are not performers. It might aswell be a group of roadies on stage. Lots of stern faces and un-memorable people. A black and white setting, presumeably, to make the performers more interesting than they are, which is clearly impossible. Like a lot of modern bands they have little or no presence.

Mogwai - trapped in a cul-de-sac of mediocrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Special Moves
Special Moves by Mogwai
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews