Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Naz album but I'm a softy!
I made the same mistake with both Nazareth and Uriah Heap where the first albums that I bought were the their most critically-acclaimed early 70s albums and so for many years ignored their late 70s and 80s output. Since I most like the lighter side of Hard rock bands (prefer Mark III Purple to Mark II, love Rainbow, Whitesnake, UFO, prefer RJDIo Sabbath) and grew up...
Published on 30 Jun 2012 by Francis R. Brennan

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite 'wonderland' , but it will take you somewhere.
Nazareth had just come of the back of the albums Expect No Mercy and No Mean City, arguably two of their best ever records; so it comes as a bit of a surprise that the fella's changed style and went for a more American A.O.R sound. The vocal deliveries are as good as you would demand from Dan McCafferty, and the musicianship with Zal Cleminson still on board from the...
Published on 30 Jan 2006 by Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Naz album but I'm a softy!, 30 Jun 2012
By 
Francis R. Brennan "brennans37" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malice in Wonderland (Audio CD)
I made the same mistake with both Nazareth and Uriah Heap where the first albums that I bought were the their most critically-acclaimed early 70s albums and so for many years ignored their late 70s and 80s output. Since I most like the lighter side of Hard rock bands (prefer Mark III Purple to Mark II, love Rainbow, Whitesnake, UFO, prefer RJDIo Sabbath) and grew up listening to AOR bands like Journey, Foreigner, Boston, Asia and Kansas, needless to say I really like Malice in Wonderland. Dan McCafferty is one of the few singers who can scream as well sing ballads with real subtlety and I prefer the softer side of his singing. Jeff 'Skunk' Baxter's production is supreme and the backing vocals are beautifully-layered on this and on the next album 'The Fool's Circle' which is also highly recommended. Needless to say my favourite tracks are Holiday, Hearts's Grown Cold and Fallen Angel. Naz fans that prefer Hair of the Dog and No Mean City will think I'm talking tosh as will Heapsters who all seem to hate 'Fallen Angel' which I love! What's wrong with bands experimenting with their sound. It keeps it interesting.Buy it if you love classic rock with great tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malice in Wonderland (Audio CD)
I absolutely love my new 'Malice in Wonderland' CD, Nazareth are truly an amazing band! It was brilliant to hear this album again and also to listen to the 'live' tracks. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TURNING A NEW LEAF, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malice In Wonderland (Audio CD)
A very interesting Nazareth album,opening the 80's with a new sound,a smoother almost pop sound,no surprise really when you have Jeff Baxter at the helm(formerly of The Doobie Brothers/Steely Dan),Baxter's influence runs thru this disc.

Best tracks the 80's Quo like 'Holiday' a perfect album opener,the knife in the heart ballad 'Hearts Grown Cold',believe me if you've ever split from a loved one,those lyrics hurt,right to the bone,finally the class of the acoustic led 'Fallen Angel'

The rest well Baxters production tends to remove the rough edges of the likes of 'Turning a New Leaf/Showdown at the Border' and 'Ship of Dreams',making the sound not unlike latter day Doobie Brothers material,stick with it you'll love them.

The remaing tracks well not that great the likes of 'Big Boy' and 'Fast Cars' not really that impressive. Previously i would have given a 3 star rating but this Remaster has superior sound,superb Digi Pak packaging and decent booklet and most importantly 7 bonus live tracks including superb renditions of 'I want to do Everything For You'/Beggars Day/Expect No Mercy & Broken Down Angel.The live tracks are from Hammersmith 1980,the same source that provided the 4 track live ep from 1980 which adorned the previous 30th anniversary edition of this disc.So 4 stars for this edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite 'wonderland' , but it will take you somewhere., 30 Jan 2006
By 
Paul "pikie1977" (Hull, East Yorkshire. England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Malice In Wonderland (Audio CD)
Nazareth had just come of the back of the albums Expect No Mercy and No Mean City, arguably two of their best ever records; so it comes as a bit of a surprise that the fella's changed style and went for a more American A.O.R sound. The vocal deliveries are as good as you would demand from Dan McCafferty, and the musicianship with Zal Cleminson still on board from the previous album was still at a high standard; unfortunatly the songs are maybe not as well written as previous offerings.This is probably due to the experimental nature of the sound Nazareth were going for and later albums with a similar theme such as Sound Elixr have showed that Nazareth learned from the experiences of this album.
The album opens up with Holiday; not a full on rocker that usually opened up a Nazareth album, but in fact a very well crafted storytelling song with an incredibly catchy tune, memorable chourus and superb backing vocals that made the song a hugh favourite amongst Nazareth fans and a definate in their live set for many years. The rest of the tracks would find it hard to live up to such a good song, but tracks such as Talkin' To One Of The Boys and Talkin' 'Bout Love run it quite close with their unusual sound and catchy lyrics. Heart's Grown Cold and Fallen Angel are ballads with a anguished feel; you can almost feel the pain and suffering that the songs project coming through the speakers. Both of these songs became favourites to play live as well. The rest of the tracks have a sound to them that would definately play better across the Atlantic, although if you are a fan of groups such as Journey then you could add a star to the album rating.
All in all you have a collection of songs here that are well crafted, well thought out and well executed, but you can never move away from the feeling that Nazareth just don't sound quite right doing this type of sound. Fortunatly there is just enough of the old sounding Nazareth to please exsisting fans as well as give new fans a taste of what Nazareth do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different approach, same class, 5 Nov 2012
By 
D. R. Jacks (Hawarden, Flintshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Malice in Wonderland (Audio CD)
Following the hard rock majesty of No Mean City (in my opinion one of the finest British rock albums ever and therefore a very hard act to follow) this album certainly shocked me when I heard it in 1980. Tommy Vance played the grinding "Turning A New Leaf" on the Friday Rock Show and I thought, OK, that sounds like the Nazareth of old and went ahead and bought the LP. It turned out that none of the other tracks were like anything Nazareth had recorded before. Yet, with repeated listens and ignoring the sniggers of my mates who thought the album was c£$p, I grew to like it immensely. Jeff Baxter (a brilliant guitarist in the early Steely Dan days) brought a bit of gloss to Nazareth's traditional earthy sound with his production without any causing any damage to the band's credibility in much the same way that Mutt Lange had done no harm to AC/DC a year earlier on Highway To Hell. It's OK to polish the diamond sometimes, Nazareth had been an honest, hard rock band for years and had little to prove in that area. Lyrically, the album is superb and most of the credit for this must go to Zal Cleminson who wrote the startling Heart's Grown Cold, as raw a song about drug addiction as you'll ever hear, possibly inspired by Thomas Hardy's use of the same phrase in a poem about watching his body slowly decay. Maybe, maybe not, just a thought. Zal was also responsible for Talkin' To One Of The Boys, Big Boy, (written in Zal's SAHB days and included on the SAHB Without Alex album "Fourplay" in 1977 but given a reggae sound for Malice) and the excellent Showdown At The Border. I'm afraid that when Zal left to join Elkie Brooks' touring band (yes you read that correctly), Nazareth lost a major talent and never achieved this artistic peak again. Of the band-written compositions, Fallen Angel is a very fine song indeed, achingly plaintive and heartfelt. Holiday, is a wonderful pop/rock song but also a clever and tongue in cheek look at fame and fortune. The band is as tight as ever and McCafferty's grizzly growl on No Mean City is tamed somewhat for a wider audience. Yes, there are one or two lower points (which is why I give it 4 stars) ie Fast Cars and Ship Of Dreams, but this reissue makes up for them with a fantastic selection of live tracks. All in all it works and Malice is a great album. I loved it in 1980, the weird cover, the message ("no malice intended PAL")to Paice Ashton and Lord on the back who had previously released an album of the same name three years earlier, but mostly I loved the skill and creativity of the multi-talented and versatile Nazareth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who wrote the previous reviews??, 2 Mar 2013
This review is from: Malice in Wonderland (Audio CD)
Were the previous reviews written by the band? Have to say that this album is poor, and a couple of tracks terrible.
Having said that McCafferty's voice is still one of the most distinctive out there, does he drink whisky laced with gravel.Will order a couple other later albums today to see if they are any good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Balanced Nazz, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malice in Wonderland (Audio CD)
My fav Nazareth albums are Razamnazz Rampant Loud N Proud and Hair of The Dog, but I do have a soft spot for this album, released in 1980 it's not a heavy sounding album but also it's not a light 80's sounding album, very melodic, and I find a lot of the melodies stick in my mind, a very well balanced album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliving my youth, 6 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malice In Wonderland (Audio CD)
A great album by Nazareth. Bought it on CD to replace LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malice In Wonderland
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews