Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted more
This is , of course, wonderful - but why oh why did Ella only record twelve Kern songs? He is up there with the best of them (Porter, Gershwin, Rodgers & Hart, Mercer etc). I will not list any of the omissions - you know what I mean!
Published on 3 Dec. 2011 by Mr. Charles R. Day

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ella sings Jerome Kern
I was a little disappointed with this CD - and with the LP from which it came. Ella sings as well as ever and Nelson Riddle's arrangements are, as always, skillful and varied. There are only 12 tracks on the CD as on the vinyl original to give a total playing time of 50 minutes - rather frugal by today's standards. But my main objection was with the choice of material...
Published on 2 Sept. 2012 by Dr. H. A. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ella sings Jerome Kern, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I was a little disappointed with this CD - and with the LP from which it came. Ella sings as well as ever and Nelson Riddle's arrangements are, as always, skillful and varied. There are only 12 tracks on the CD as on the vinyl original to give a total playing time of 50 minutes - rather frugal by today's standards. But my main objection was with the choice of material. Kern wrote so many great songs and several of these that are included are not amongst his best - `Let's begin', `You couldn't be cuter', `She didn't say yes'. Where were `All through the day', `Can I forget you', `Make believe', `In love in vain' or `Smoke gets in your eyes' for example? These had not been widely recorded by other artists, even in the 1960s. I would normally expect to rate everything that Ella records as 5* but I cannot honestly do that here.

Jerome Kern Songbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted more, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
This is , of course, wonderful - but why oh why did Ella only record twelve Kern songs? He is up there with the best of them (Porter, Gershwin, Rodgers & Hart, Mercer etc). I will not list any of the omissions - you know what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but one of the best of the Songbooks, 5 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all of Ella's Songbooks. I love this one particularly. It's beautifully orchestrated, the lyrics are witty and delivered with Ella's inimitable style, ease and mastery of a tune. I love it. One of the best of the Songbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ella in top voice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ella Fitzgerald/ Jerome Kern review, 26 April 2011
By 
Arthur Byrne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Only just got into Ella's music. This is great stuff. Great songs, wonderful voice. Listen to song previews if they are there. Price just fine. I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jerome Kern Songbook
The Jerome Kern Songbook by Ella Fitzgerald
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews