Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not called "Bhangra Fever" for nothing...
I bought this as a sampler of Bhangra music and I can't take the damned thing off my car CD player! It's impossible to listen to without smiling or jigging along which is very embarassing for a 50-something white male like me.
Why didn't we have this stuff in the 70's?!
Published on 12 Mar. 2006 by Mr. M. G. Gamble

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice compilation, worth its price
Nice compilation, worth its price. Speaking of the tracks, traditional flavor last fresher and more interesting than disco-like beat, that suffer for new trends and sounds in disco music.
Published 6 months ago by Max


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not called "Bhangra Fever" for nothing..., 12 Mar. 2006
By 
Mr. M. G. Gamble "grumblin' man" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
I bought this as a sampler of Bhangra music and I can't take the damned thing off my car CD player! It's impossible to listen to without smiling or jigging along which is very embarassing for a 50-something white male like me.
Why didn't we have this stuff in the 70's?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bollygood!, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
A Skalman (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
This is the first Bhangra CD I've ever bought and I'm glad I did. The two CDs contain such a wide variation of rhythms and beats that there's more than enough music to keep all your moods satisfied! It's addictive stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars *british* bhangra, 7 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
Well, I can't help but agree it's a catchy good album, ***however*** when I ordered it I was after an example of traditional bhangra.

So as a bit of extra info for anyone else thinking of getting this album here's an excerpt from inside the cover:

"Bhangra has been evolving in the UK for over three decades now, and has become a pioneering and exciting new style of music.

Whilst Bhangra is originally a form of folk music from Northern India, the new style of British Bhangra, which is what is represented on this album, is radical new sound which draws on a large spectrum of musical influences. Representing the breadth and depth of the genre, the tracks on Bhangra Fever " are certainly the most in-depth look at the world of Bhangra ever put on one album.

Tracks such as ........ are all fine examples of "traditional" in your face Bhangra dance tracks. Listen to these tracks and you'll discover a rhythm that's infectious and distinctive as reggae.

...... oush the genre towards Euro-Beat influences, whilst ..... and .... are magical collusions of Bhangra and Rap. ..... and .... take Bhangra firmly into the House arena. "

So as I said, good album, but anyone looking for folk music for reference or dancing and will find it VERY VERY clubby and western and modern in places. If you want your bhangra without clips and strong influences of british pop and club scene then you probably want to look elsewhere. If you are happy with fusion then it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for 1st introduction to Bhangra, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
D. M. Keys "DK" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
I would recommed this for anyone who is confused about where to start to find a good introduction to Bhangra music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BHANGRA FEVER !, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
Service,delivery and price and quality were all excellent.
The cd was not as good as expected,but that was no reflection
on the supplier!
I guess my expectations were too high for the music,it was a bit
of a mish mash of what I though Bhangra may be-they mixed it
too much with r&b stylee.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only by one Bhangra album., 24 July 2004
By 
Ian Jenkins (Newport, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
But seriously folks this Cd is so infectious it should be illegal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice compilation, worth its price, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
Nice compilation, worth its price. Speaking of the tracks, traditional flavor last fresher and more interesting than disco-like beat, that suffer for new trends and sounds in disco music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's not very good anyway., 29 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Spencer-ahmed (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
Specifically requested that this be delivered in time for a bollywood themed party, at least a week before - and it arrived 4 days too late. It's not very good anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (An average and a bit more) bhangra cd, 16 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
after taking a listen to this double cd package, i would recommend that you do buy it even though it's exactly like a normal bhangra cd, with some pretty hefty dhol beats on some of the phatt trax to just some plain songs that are nothing special, but the phatt trax completely cover up for the ordinary trax!!!!!!!!!!! A MUST BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhangra Fever (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bhangra Fever
Bhangra Fever by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews