Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2011
Unbelievably good 3rd album from Corey Taylor's 'other' band.
Darker and more introspective than the equally superb Come What(ever) May, Audio Secrecy is a near perfect blend of melody and fury; as exemplified in tracks such as 'Say You'll Haunt Me', which combines emotional ferocity with heart-felt resolve.
That the album manages to sustain such a high level of quality and consistency over it's 14-track length, is testament to the craftsmanship and intensity that the band possess.
I defy anyone to listen to this album and not feel an irresistible compulsion to do so again and again, it really is that good.
When many are quick to download an album for free, I would have no hesitation in recommending that you purchase this, and add this album to your collection.
At the current retail price it's not even a choice; if it was more expensive, it would still be worth it.
And how many things can you honestly say that about these days?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
New albums can either go one of two ways; disappointing and not worth the build up or hype - or they can surpass even the most optimistic of expectations and be absolute treasures. This is definitely the latter. Fans will even be caught offguard by the sheer talent and directions this album goes in whilst those new to the band ought to be drawn in because there's something for everyone and it's all so well done. Stone Sour are going to be around for a very long time, and if this is the standard they're working to, bring it on!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
As a huge fan of the previous 2 Stone sour efforts, I had high hopes for the release of Audio Secrecy, especially following all the hype and build up the band themselves had placed onto the release.

It is with great pleasure to state that Audio Secrecy is everything I had hoped for and then some. As very much a fan of all aspects of music and rock/ metal music in general, it was nice to have an album which left no stones unturned. Corey Taylor himself described the album as `heavy, melodic, dark, slow, light and beautiful', or more to the point `everything I've ever wanted to do in one album'. These statements are definitely backed up with this release, as this album has it all, hard, fast, slow, melodic and heavy music passages. It really does try to cram it all in, meaning the album has songs that fit any mood the listener may be in at the time.

Ranging from the faster paced and heavier songs like Mission Statement, The Bitter End and Digital, to the more melancholy moments like Imperfect, Miracles and Hesitate. Stone Sour 'Audio Secrecy' is for me the album of the year.

After 20 + listens already I am yet to pick a favourite track, with it forever changing. This is not to say the album doesnt have any stand out tracks... it is just extremely solid throughout, with absolute zero filler. Even the 3 bonus tracks available on this version of the album are of a high standard and do not feel tacked on as can usually be the case with "bonus" songs.

If you liked the previous Stone Sour album, Come What(ever) May, you should love this release. However, if you are going into the album expecting a straight forward Metal album more reminiscent of early Slipknot, look elsewhere, as you will only be left disappointed. Due to this fact, I'm sure this will be the album where Stone Sour step away from Slipknots shadow and gather there own fanbase, to take with with them onto there no doubt continued flirtation with the more melodic side of the rock scale over the coming years.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Ive only been a stone sour fan properlly for about 2 years now, orignally i like some of there stuff then i saw them live a few times and changed my mind, this album ic completey different Jim Root says it best on the DVD "we did'nt want it to be come what ever may 2" and the the album it self hav'nt picked a favorite track yet so i'll say all of them, each one is written with passion and soul and thats a good enougth reason to buy the album
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I started listening to this waiting for the track i felt only tepid about, but it never came. They are all awesome and i love them. Say You'll Haunt Me is outstanding and definitely the highlight. After Come Whatever May i wasn't sure they could produce an album equally good, but Stone Sour have done it again. Thanks guys!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
I bought this album due to getting a little over excited while internet shopping (went a bit mad) and wasnt really expecting it to be anything other than 'an alright rock album' but I was blown away by how much I enjoyed this. I actually like all 17 tracks on this album which is something that rarely happens when theres that many songs. My favourite tracks have to be Digital (did i tell), Say you'll Haunt me, Lets be Honest and Anna (bonus track).

It seems with this album, Stone Sour have simply stepped out of the 'bit slipknot, bit stone sour' shell and just made an album that is just about them as a band. Im hoping that Slipknot release something else one day that sticks to their true sound (as opposed to Stone Sour's) that can be as good as this but if Stone Sour are going to release material of this quality I dont think I'll be bothered about having to wait.

Excellent album, well worth the money
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
From the beginning Corey said that "People are going to love this album and people are going to hate this album" I think it might be cause on the previous Stone Sour albums there has only been 1-2 Melodic songs, where as on Audio Secrecy its pretty much gone 50/50 so if Sour fans are looking to get something like the first Album then that wont be the case. BUT. I would put it on par with Come What(eva)May as there is more then a few songs I am constantly having on loop in the last 48hrs. All in all Stone Sour have made another album worth purchasing, just be prepared for alot of melodic songs on here though.
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
First of all every band has the right to evolve and change if it's the same thing over and over it would be boring! i have Stone Sours' first two albums and both are different and this one is as well the songwriting on here is of high quality songs like Let's Be Honest, Dying and Hesitate are amazing but the whole album is, it's a bit more melodic and couldn't be any further from the other two albums if it wanted to be it's hard to pick out my favourite track because they are all fantastic and i believe they have a new army of fans it went top ten in the UK this week! This album is an essential metal purchase buy it now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2010
I've been looking forward to the Audio Secrecy for some time so I'm pleased to announce this is an excellent album. Generally this is more of a mellow outing by Stone Sour but once you get past that the quality of the tracks is quite something. Clearly Taylor et al are trying to step further away from Slipknot and this does that, though it may alienate some fans who prefer the harder flavour of metal.

I for one though appreciate the mixture of hard/soft metal and the sheer quality of the album. Looking forward to the tour!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2010
i've been looking forward to the Audio Secrecy for some time so I'm pleased to announce this is an excellent album. Generally this is more of a mellow outing by Stone Sour but once you get past that the quality of the tracks is quite something. Clearly Taylor et al are trying to step further away from Slipknot and this does that, though it may alienate some fans who prefer the harder flavour of metal.

I for one though appreciate the mixture of hard/soft metal and the sheer quality of the album. Looking forward to the tour!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)