Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't turn it off!
New albums can either go one of two ways; disappointing and not worth the build up or hype - or they can surpass even the most optimistic of expectations and be absolute treasures. This is definitely the latter. Fans will even be caught offguard by the sheer talent and directions this album goes in whilst those new to the band ought to be drawn in because there's...
Published on 8 Sept. 2010 by Fks Reynolds

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough but still a little average
If I had never heard Stone Sour's earlier work I would probably love this album but when compared to that earlier stuff this album pales in comparison. If you love Stone Sour you will like this album, if you just like them you will probably get a little disappointed
Published on 25 Feb. 2011 by Mrdee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't turn it off!, 8 Sept. 2010
By 
Fks Reynolds "sparkly_spike" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
New albums can either go one of two ways; disappointing and not worth the build up or hype - or they can surpass even the most optimistic of expectations and be absolute treasures. This is definitely the latter. Fans will even be caught offguard by the sheer talent and directions this album goes in whilst those new to the band ought to be drawn in because there's something for everyone and it's all so well done. Stone Sour are going to be around for a very long time, and if this is the standard they're working to, bring it on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio secrecy WOWNESS, 9 Sept. 2010
By 
N. Coidan "N.Coidan" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ive only been a stone sour fan properlly for about 2 years now, orignally i like some of there stuff then i saw them live a few times and changed my mind, this album ic completey different Jim Root says it best on the DVD "we did'nt want it to be come what ever may 2" and the the album it self hav'nt picked a favorite track yet so i'll say all of them, each one is written with passion and soul and thats a good enougth reason to buy the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album and worth the wait, 17 Sept. 2010
By 
Jez1972 (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
First of all every band has the right to evolve and change if it's the same thing over and over it would be boring! i have Stone Sours' first two albums and both are different and this one is as well the songwriting on here is of high quality songs like Let's Be Honest, Dying and Hesitate are amazing but the whole album is, it's a bit more melodic and couldn't be any further from the other two albums if it wanted to be it's hard to pick out my favourite track because they are all fantastic and i believe they have a new army of fans it went top ten in the UK this week! This album is an essential metal purchase buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I'd hoped, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
Valleysboy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been looking forward to the Audio Secrecy for some time so I'm pleased to announce this is an excellent album. Generally this is more of a mellow outing by Stone Sour but once you get past that the quality of the tracks is quite something. Clearly Taylor et al are trying to step further away from Slipknot and this does that, though it may alienate some fans who prefer the harder flavour of metal.

I for one though appreciate the mixture of hard/soft metal and the sheer quality of the album. Looking forward to the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening to it, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
Valleysboy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
i've been looking forward to the Audio Secrecy for some time so I'm pleased to announce this is an excellent album. Generally this is more of a mellow outing by Stone Sour but once you get past that the quality of the tracks is quite something. Clearly Taylor et al are trying to step further away from Slipknot and this does that, though it may alienate some fans who prefer the harder flavour of metal.

I for one though appreciate the mixture of hard/soft metal and the sheer quality of the album. Looking forward to the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Marmite..., 14 Sept. 2010
By 
Michael (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
I really feel that this is another strong album from Stone Sour. Granted it's not like their other two and granted it's not as heavy but I believe it still delivers the same quality as the others. Sometimes you can buy a second/third album of an artist and sounds exactly the same as the last and can tire quickly. These guys have obviously tried to create a varied sound with each album they produce, which I think shows their true talent! This album will not be for you if you are expecting a real heavy sound, it's a lot mellower than their last two. Corey said that people will love this album and people will hate this album and he's spot on but for me, I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour : Back in the saddle, 6 Sept. 2010
As a huge fan of the previous 2 Stone sour efforts, I had high hopes for the release of Audio Secrecy, especially following all the hype and build up the band themselves had placed onto the release.

It is with great pleasure to state that Audio Secrecy is everything I had hoped for and then some. As very much a fan of all aspects of music and rock/ metal music in general, it was nice to have an album which left no stones unturned. Corey Taylor himself described the album as `heavy, melodic, dark, slow, light and beautiful', or more to the point `everything I've ever wanted to do in one album'. These statements are definitely backed up with this release, as this album has it all, hard, fast, slow, melodic and heavy music passages. It really does try to cram it all in, meaning the album has songs that fit any mood the listener may be in at the time.

Ranging from the faster paced and heavier songs like Mission Statement, The Bitter End and Digital, to the more melancholy moments like Imperfect, Miracles and Hesitate. Stone Sour 'Audio Secrecy' is for me the album of the year.

After 20 + listens already I am yet to pick a favourite track, with it forever changing. This is not to say the album doesnt have any stand out tracks... it is just extremely solid throughout, with absolute zero filler. Even the 3 bonus tracks available on this version of the album are of a high standard and do not feel tacked on as can usually be the case with "bonus" songs.

If you liked the previous Stone Sour album, Come What(ever) May, you should love this release. However, if you are going into the album expecting a straight forward Metal album more reminiscent of early Slipknot, look elsewhere, as you will only be left disappointed. Due to this fact, I'm sure this will be the album where Stone Sour step away from Slipknots shadow and gather there own fanbase, to take with with them onto there no doubt continued flirtation with the more melodic side of the rock scale over the coming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corey Taylor.....You would never know it is the same singer!!, 12 Oct. 2011
I like Stone Sour but I don't like Slipknot!!

Audio Secrecy is the latest offering by Stone Sour, Corey Taylor's other band, but you would never believe it is the same singer. The two bands are such a contrast.

This is the third album Stone Sour have recorded and they just seem to get softer and more melodic. However this is not a bad thing as there are some seriously catchy tunes with the track 'Say You'll Haunt Me' being the highlight. I just can't stop playing it, with the whole album growing more and more on me the more I play it. Not only does Corey Taylor change his singing style but his looks too, going from long-haired to crew-cut.

I unfortunately missed Stone Sour in England last year as I hadn't really heard of them. I would have loved to have seen them at The Download Festival, better known as The Monsters of Rock Festival, in my day. There are some amazing American rock bands out there at the moment, that don't play just 'thrash', bands such as Three Days Grace, Shinedown, Seether, Theory of a Deadman, Black Stone Cherry, Breaking Benjamin and of course Stone Sour. I wish these bands would tour the UK and educate the British youth what true music is all about. Long Live Rock 'n' Roll, well American rock at least!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album i've got, 23 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after listiening to Stone Sours debut album a month earlier. It is by far the best album i have ever bought and the leap from there gritty debut album to there more powerful yet cleaner work is stronger than a kick in the ribs.
Anna, Imperfect and Dying are all fantastic songs by one of the best bands in modern rock. The mix of acoustic and electric guitars in nearly every song creates a proper feeling of embarking on a journey with Corey Taylor as your manic driver.

But now there's a song i've got to talk about that deserves its own paragraph:

HESITATE, track 8 on this masterpiece.
It is powerful with strong lyrics. It builds up from simple 3 note picking to a menacing downstroke under tone before erupting into one of the best choruses rock music can handle. This currently my favourite song, replacing StreetCar by Funeral For A Friend on my top spot.

Do you love slow but powerful vocals with a excellent guitar rift in the background?
If you do this album is for you. I recommened to anyone who buys this that the moment you open it put on Track 8 and close your eyes.
Audio Secrecy. The current best album of the 2000's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Little off guard and unprepared....., 21 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audio Secrecy (Audio CD)
Unbelievably good 3rd album from Corey Taylor's 'other' band.
Darker and more introspective than the equally superb Come What(ever) May, Audio Secrecy is a near perfect blend of melody and fury; as exemplified in tracks such as 'Say You'll Haunt Me', which combines emotional ferocity with heart-felt resolve.
That the album manages to sustain such a high level of quality and consistency over it's 14-track length, is testament to the craftsmanship and intensity that the band possess.
I defy anyone to listen to this album and not feel an irresistible compulsion to do so again and again, it really is that good.
When many are quick to download an album for free, I would have no hesitation in recommending that you purchase this, and add this album to your collection.
At the current retail price it's not even a choice; if it was more expensive, it would still be worth it.
And how many things can you honestly say that about these days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audio Secrecy
Audio Secrecy by Stone Sour (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews