Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Debut
If you have a penchant for haunting, beautiful, ethereal music, then the Smoke Fairies are made for you. I became aware of the duo last year through 'Living With Ghosts' and 'Frozen Heart', two tracks that have etched themselves indelibly on my memory with their cyclical guitar licks and fragile vocals . It was, therefore, with some anticipation that I awaited their debut...
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by Doctor Pint

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
Saw the reviews and really expected something special and "new". I was really looking forward to hearing it. I don't know, perhaps they're better live but I've listened to this several times now and all I get is a cross between Clannad and Enya (artists I personally can't stand - all "Celtic lite" whimsy) with a few southern USA guitar riffs thrown in. I'd been...
Published 24 months ago by S. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Voices. Great sound. Great album. Recommend these girls to anyone. Need to buy more of their albums. Unique sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Singing Angels, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although The Smoke Fairies don't make my exact type of music, i must confess that i find them wonderful. Their voices are absolutely divine and complete each other in a perfect way. And the same happens with the guitar playing.
They may sound like angels, but they sing about really dark stuff. I can feel that. The album cover supports my sentence.
I believe this is a very strong album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 27 Jun 2011
I saw the Smoke Fairies at a festival last Saturday. They were superb. I immediately bought the Amercan double digipak of the album and the ep compilation at their stall. The singing is marvellous and the playing is delightfully subtle. They have all the best attributes of many musical influences in the mix, as others have said.They have listened and learned on a massive scale and yet they are all of their own.

If you ever need the antidote to Lady Gagaitis then this is it. Great music played by two intelligent,self-effacing and skilful young women.Absolutely top notch and great frocks too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely lovely lovely, 25 Dec 2010
By 
Jason (NEWARK, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through Low Light And Trees (Audio CD)
Great album if you have not heard the smoke fairies before I'd advise you get this you won't be disappointed sublime vocals and excellent musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke Fairies - Through Low Light and Trees, 19 Nov 2010
By 
J. P. Rake (London town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two spectacularly talented girls who have written a beautiful, moving,almost haunting album. As many have commented, an inspired cross between traditional English folk and American blues, particularly the slide guitar, and some slightly more indie songs. The harmonies of these two soaring voices is incredible, but you really have to see them live to appreciate what amazing girls they are. Album of the year? Without a shadow of doubt. My new favourte band? Stupid question really. GO AND SEE THE LIVE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HMMMMM, Not yet sure..., 13 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on strength of a vid I saw online. That song was gorgeous !!! It's called 'Strange Moon Rising'

I'm a little let down by the balance of the album - though I've only listened to it three times. Hopefully it will be a slow burner.

I'm not going to give a track-by-track review, but I would like to say that I think the hype around this band is a little OTT. Sorry if you don't agree.

It's an album that, if it doesn't grab me in the next few plays will be stuck at the back of my collection of cd's... and will rarely see the light of day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great new band, 12 April 2011
By 
Mr. T. Shield (Inverness Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent CD from a new band with a unique sound. One to follow in the future. I look forward to maybe seeing them live some day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 23 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Low Light And Trees (Audio CD)
Could say lots about this album but why bother - it's the best thing I have heard in ages and it's fab. So just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through Low Light And Trees
Through Low Light And Trees by Smoke Fairies (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
In stock on July 13, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews