Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digging deeper
Each incarnation of this book has been an important resource for archaeologists from the 'Time Team Literate' to the professional. There is no dumbing down and the problems of archaeology are made quite clear. The values of individual methods of research as well as the interpretation stances of archaeologists are dealt with sensitively. Although Kevin Greene is a...
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by Digger

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too pricey for what it is
This is one of those student textbooks that costs a small fortune and ends up soaking up dust on a shelf. Here's a fact: the Bibliography starts on page 322 and goes on until page 379. Fifty-seven expensive pages of references in an 'introduction'.

And in the index you'll find Time Team and other television programmes, but don't bother looking for 'Holocene'.
Published 4 months ago by LiamD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digging deeper, 23 Dec 2010
Each incarnation of this book has been an important resource for archaeologists from the 'Time Team Literate' to the professional. There is no dumbing down and the problems of archaeology are made quite clear. The values of individual methods of research as well as the interpretation stances of archaeologists are dealt with sensitively. Although Kevin Greene is a Romanist and Tom Moore a late Iron Age specialist every other period is discussed in the same depth as their specialisms, as can be seen through the wide range of well chosen illustrations. I will add this volume to the four other editions on my shelves (the earlier ones are falling apart from constant use anyway) and use it as an introduction/inspiration/up-dater/enjoyable read/constant reference source/inclusion in the biblios. of the stuff that I write. I gather there is an associated web-site which will extend the book's great value. If you are an older archaeologist in a university, then this book will allow you to keep up with your students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intro to archaeology, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. David Riley "rileyx1" (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This really is an excellent introduction to archaeology. it was the required text recommended by the Open University for Classical Studies students as an intro to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook, 8 May 2013
By 
RobW (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book in the hope that it would provide a comprehensive introduction to Archaeology, which I am looking forward to studying at undergraduate level in the next academic year. My hopes have been fulfilled in that the book is thorough, appropriately (not dauntingly) detailed and very well illustrated. It deals not only with the practicalities of Archaeology but also some of the ethical issues that are associated with it, for example in excavation.

The other "standard" text by Renfrew and Bahn looks to be even more detailed and, in its latest incarnation (6th edition), is also vividly illustrated - this time, in colour. In due course, I will read that and post a brief, comparative review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and thorough introduction to the subject, 2 Jun 2010
I found this book a really helpful way into the subject and would recommend it to anyone setting out to study archaeology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is excellent for beginners. The layout is great for finding exactly what you want to read, as the topics are in different chapters and subsections within chapters. Written clearly and understandable - no academic gobbledegook here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needed an archaeology text book for a college course. This one is great, easy to understand, and ideal for me as a beginner. It will also come in useful for my Archaeology degree course later in the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archaeology: An Introduction (Kindle Edition)
Really worth having, full of great information for anyone interested in or starting to study Archaeology. I would highly recommend having this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent undergraduate required reading, 18 Nov 2013
excellent undergraduate required reading, helps introduce the subject, and the substantial changes and improvements in techniques and aproaches over the last 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too pricey for what it is, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those student textbooks that costs a small fortune and ends up soaking up dust on a shelf. Here's a fact: the Bibliography starts on page 322 and goes on until page 379. Fifty-seven expensive pages of references in an 'introduction'.

And in the index you'll find Time Team and other television programmes, but don't bother looking for 'Holocene'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2feb570)

This product

Archaeology: An Introduction
£17.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews