Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£24.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2010
Each incarnation of this book has been an important resource for archaeologists from the 'Time Team Literate' to the professional. There is no dumbing down and the problems of archaeology are made quite clear. The values of individual methods of research as well as the interpretation stances of archaeologists are dealt with sensitively. Although Kevin Greene is a Romanist and Tom Moore a late Iron Age specialist every other period is discussed in the same depth as their specialisms, as can be seen through the wide range of well chosen illustrations. I will add this volume to the four other editions on my shelves (the earlier ones are falling apart from constant use anyway) and use it as an introduction/inspiration/up-dater/enjoyable read/constant reference source/inclusion in the biblios. of the stuff that I write. I gather there is an associated web-site which will extend the book's great value. If you are an older archaeologist in a university, then this book will allow you to keep up with your students.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I purchased this book in the hope that it would provide a comprehensive introduction to Archaeology, which I am looking forward to studying at undergraduate level in the next academic year. My hopes have been fulfilled in that the book is thorough, appropriately (not dauntingly) detailed and very well illustrated. It deals not only with the practicalities of Archaeology but also some of the ethical issues that are associated with it, for example in excavation.

The other "standard" text by Renfrew and Bahn looks to be even more detailed and, in its latest incarnation (6th edition), is also vividly illustrated - this time, in colour. In due course, I will read that and post a brief, comparative review.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
This really is an excellent introduction to archaeology. it was the required text recommended by the Open University for Classical Studies students as an intro to the subject.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I found this book a really helpful way into the subject and would recommend it to anyone setting out to study archaeology.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
This book is excellent for beginners. The layout is great for finding exactly what you want to read, as the topics are in different chapters and subsections within chapters. Written clearly and understandable - no academic gobbledegook here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I purchased this book when I started my archaeology degree in order to provide a easy to read introduction to archaeology. I like that the book is clearly set out with clear illustrations to accompany text making it easier to read. here is lots of case studies included to help understand how archaeological techniques can be applied and the wide range of references allow detailed further reading of the subject. I definitely would recommend this to anyone interested in archaeology or those going into their first year as it provides a comprehensive introduction to the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Needed an archaeology text book for a college course. This one is great, easy to understand, and ideal for me as a beginner. It will also come in useful for my Archaeology degree course later in the year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
excellent undergraduate required reading, helps introduce the subject, and the substantial changes and improvements in techniques and aproaches over the last 30 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Perfect book for anyone interested in archaeology and how we determine what we find. References to case studies and links to other parts of the book for great detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
A great book for Archaeology students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)