Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Dimensions Signalled New Direction For Philly Trio, 9 July 2010
By 
douglas smith (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
This album marked a new beginning and new direction for the Philly trio after leaving a successful stint with Philadelphia International. With a new label (Ariola Records), a new member (Helen Scott replacing the late Fayette Pinkney) and a sexy new look (cover dresses by Zandra Rhodes), the girls jumped on board the disco train under the direction of Giorgio Moroder.

The result is pure magic and hits such as `The Runner' and `Giving Up, Giving In' have truly stood the test of time and sound as current today as they did some 30 plus years ago. Indeed, acts such as The Nolans and Bananarama have covered these disco classics on their most recent albums.

Although Sheila Ferguson and Valerie Holiday swap lead vocals throughout, newcomer Helen Scott provides great harmonies that gave the group a different and perhaps slightly more pop sound.

In addition to the hits, `Looking For Love', with Moroder's trademark synthesizers and hypnotic driving beat, is a highlight and could have provided the girls with another chart topper had it been released as a single.

The inclusion of some bonus tracks, in particular the overlooked 'Golden Lady' featuring Sheila, make this great value at under a tenner.

Fingers crossed that the equally good Ariola follow up`3D' and the live and more collection `Gold' find their way onto cd soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giorgio Moroder produced album for the Three Degrees, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
After a successful period in the early 70s the Three Degrees went through a short lull in their career. This album from 1978 brought the girls back to chart success.
This was largely thanks to the addition of production by Italian producer Giorgio Moroder who had recorded his own solo albums and produced and arranged for other artists such as Donna Summer, Munich Machine, and Roberta Kelly.
The trademark production by Moroder is all over this album with hard driving disco beats and heavy synthesiser sounds. There are some great ballads too and the CD version is very good with the addition of the extended 12" mixes of the single releases added as bonus tracks.
Although Moroder had been more associated with a more underground and creative genre of Euro disco he had become more commercial with catchy disco pop through the success with Donna Summer.
This album has a heavy disco pop feel to it but it is a quality production of pop music.
This is the best album by the Three Degrees for me and I love the feel of the songs and the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
The Three Degrees at their very vest thanks to the wonderful work of Georgio Moroder. A huge departure from earlier albums, the first 3 tracks sequenced in a 17 minute disco heaven, 3 huge hits with all the tracks killers not fillers. 7 fantastic bonus tracks including the full 8+ minute long remix of "The Runner" which has gotta be one of the best and catchy dance numbers of that period. The complete remaster makes this album sound superb and is unbelievable that the tracks are over 30 years old. Ordered through Amazon and arrived promptly as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Degrees meet Giorgio Moroder: Magic in the air, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
This album was originally released in 1978 and its re-release on CD was long overdue. This exciting collaboration with Giorgio Moroder was a match made in heaven and it rightfully restored The Three Degrees to the charts. Dance music doesn't get any better than this. The first three tracks are sequenced together to make up one big dance extravaganza, starting with the first single release from the album 'Giving Up, Giving In'. The Three Degrees put in some feisty vocals on this album and Sheila Ferguson is in top form. It's sheer energy from start to finish. The stand-out track for me is 'The Runner'. With its throbbing, pulsating rhythm and its snappy vocals, it's still one of the best dance songs ever recorded. The biggest UK hit from the album was 'Woman In Love' which reached the top three in early 1979.
The original album only had six songs, but this essential re-release has been expanded with no less than seven bonus tracks. They almost make up an album of their own. Four tracks from the album are included here in their single version. Further bonus tracks come in the shape of the single B-side 'Out Of Love Again' (with some extraordinary vocals), the movie soundtrack 'The Golden Lady' and the 12-inch version of 'The Runner'.
Apart from that, the album has been remastered and it includes extensive liner notes, reproductions of record covers and interviews with the group members. Sheila's story about her inspiration for the 'The Runner' lyrics is hilarious.
I've been waiting to get this album on CD for a long time and now it's finally available. Get it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Degrees Go Electric!!!, 13 July 2010
By 
F. J. Smith (Marlow, Bucks, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
This really is a stunning lp helmed by Giorgio Moroder and Pete Belotte,responsible for the majority of Donna Summers 70s hits a la I FEEL LOVE,which is vertually the template for the uptempo tracks here;Givin' Up Givin' In and The Runner were both uk top 40 hits while the lovely ballad Woman In Love was the biggest hit;reaching the top 3.My fave track is The Runner,written by Moroder and lead singer Shelia Ferguson,with brilliant lyrics and a amazing electronic backing;this reissue includes the 12" version along side other single versions.If you only know the 3 Degrees from the When Will I See You Again era then the Lp will come as a shock;i can remember the 1st time i heard Givin' Up.Thanks to Big Break Records for reissuing this,Japanese copies go for a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 25 Jan 2011
By 
T. Bowles "darcydr" (bexhill, u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
New Dimensions...its been a long time coming this cd, but its well worth the wait, some class act the three degrees and there little go at disco- dance tracks, is still great, its great they kept to the way the long play record was when it first came out. its great fun this cd and it shows how good the ladys where and what great voices they had, they could turn any song they sing into a good song...........its great fun and makes you feel good............enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Givin' the 3rd Degree!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. D. Hauxwell "ICHIBAN" (NOTTINGHAM UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
After a good few years on PIR and having hits with "When Will I See You Again, Take Good Care Of Yourself, TSOP, and a brief stay at EPIC which did them no favours at all, the Degrees moved onto ARIOLA and were teamed up with Donna Summer's then producer Giorgio Moroder to work his electro disco magic and the result "New Dimensions".
The album kicks of with a sort of homage to "When Will I See You Again" with "Giving Up, Giving In" (also the first single release reaching #12 in the UK charts) with it's breathy vocals intro before Sheila's kick ass vocals tell you how she aint going to put up with his lying cheating sweet talking ways, the album then flows (like being in a disco) into the other two tracks.
The Runner (the third and final single release from this album reaching #10) was the opener to side two of the original vinyl release), written by Sheila about how her man is frightened to show his true feelings and runs off, the album includes three versions, the 7" single edit, the extended mix, and the stonking 12" club mix (which was released as the usual black 12" vinyl, but in three limited colours, red, white and blue). The next track "Woman In Love" a love ballad, was the second release from the album, and after "When Will I See You Again" which got them to #1 this was their other biggest hit getting them to #3.
With this album being the expanded version you get seven extra tracks, the single versions of all the releases, the 'B' sides, the theme song from the Bond inspired film "The Golden Lady" (again written by Sheila) and the 12" extra long club mix of "The Runner".
If your a 70's disco baby, or a fan of these ladies then this is a must for your record collection, I dare you to put it on and not find yourself dancing around the living room
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moroder magic! Great sound quality and bonus tracks, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
This review is for: New Dimensions Three Degrees (BBR CD)
I was very young when this album was originally released and at the time I used to buy 7" singles because I was unaware of 12" singles. So I bought "The Runner" on 7" single and was fascinated by the B-Side which was a longer version which I used to play more than the A-Side. So you can imagine my excitement years later when I discovered 12" singles and the extra long version of "The Runner". All of those mixes are included here now and it's great to have them all on one CD. "The Runner" is usually included on compilations in an edited version that runs just over 4 mins, but here you get the proper 7" single version that was played on the radio. It would have been nice to have the 12" version of "Giving Up Giving In" as a separate track also. The 12" version is here, but it segues into the following track, because the first 3 tracks are a continuous 17 minute non-stop Giorgio Moroder disco extravanganza, which is really good. I guess space restrictions and not wanting to duplicate tracks was the reason for it not being here. I've since managed to find the "Giving Up Giving In" 12" version on another CD called "Soul Classics" from 1992 (but it wasn't on Amazon, so I had to find it on an auction site). It's good to have all the bonus tracks here and interesting that "The Golden Lady" is the soundtrack version which is about 40 seconds longer than the version on Three Degrees The Best Of. This CD has great sound quality and tracks like "Woman In Love" really benefit from perfect sound quality. I would recommend this CD. It's almost worth the price just to get that fabulous cover.

Fans of this album may also be interested to know that a previously unreleased and very different sounding mix of "The Runner" was included on Ben Liebrand's Grand 12 Inches 4, where Ben (unfamiliar with the track) managed to include the wrong version from the master tape. He corrected this error on a later edition, but in the meantime it unwittingly released an otherwise previously unreleased mix to the public that maybe shouldn't have ever seen the light of day. The version seems to be a pre-Giorgio Moroder version, because it sounds nothing like the finished version. I hope that helps someone who loves the Three Degrees but may not be aware of that version being available.

I have also reviewed: Three Degrees 3D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Three Degrees Album Ever!, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Jun_Arta "Jun" (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
I love this album in the late seventies... and now this CD version with many bonus tracks make me love it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moroder perfection, 24 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Dimensions (Audio CD)
This CD release has been a long time coming. It's The Three Degrees heading straight for Giorgio Moroder after his success with Donna Summer and Roberta Kelly.
The main difference Moroder's work with The Three Degrees is that he goes for a more Hi NRG sound, merging it with the Disco sound which was starting to fall out of flavour at the time. The writing is strong as is the production of the album.
A must have for Moroder fans and Three Degrees fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Dimensions
New Dimensions by The Three Degrees (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews