Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!
This album was a purchase for an opera-loving relative. She absolutely loves it. She particularly commented on the quality of the singers/soloists, which sometimes on compilations like this can be patchy. Also the great variety of music on offer, with one disc dedicated to overtures. Overall, a great purchase especially at such a reasonable price. Definitely recommended
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by C.H: Spain

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just about okay.
The music I received is terrific, the sound brilliant. The problem was that only 57 tunes were received not 100.
Published 12 months ago by gordon f


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, 1 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
This album was a purchase for an opera-loving relative. She absolutely loves it. She particularly commented on the quality of the singers/soloists, which sometimes on compilations like this can be patchy. Also the great variety of music on offer, with one disc dedicated to overtures. Overall, a great purchase especially at such a reasonable price. Definitely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Goodness knows where some of these recordings were found but it's true to say that they are real Golden Oldies, Mario Lanza, Maria Callas, Joan Hammond and the 'best pairing ever' for the Pearl Fisher's Duet of Jussi Bjorling and Robert Merrill (every recording since, and there are many, pales into insignificance,). It contains something for everyone - arias we all know and love and in some cases, even sing along with, it's irresistable. Even if one is not an opera buff - some operas are truly boring - this collection has all the best bits. The reproduction is good, we don't have a fantastic sound system but the sitting room is full of well-balanced sound and the Bose system in my car makes it sound even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful selection, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Jonathan J. S. Brown "JJSB" (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this selection mostly of singers from the middle of the 20th century. Many of them are very good indeed and it is sobering to realise just how good many of them were compared with the modern superstars. For example there are a number of recordings of Bjorling in great voice and I can understand why one poll put him as the greatest singer of the century but there are many others who rate very highly indeed. Amazing value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SINGERS FROM A GOLDEN AGE, 6 Feb 2012
By 
G. R. Horne Esq (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
100 Opera Hits is excellent value for money in that it gives the opportunity to hear some of the great singers from the post-war years and shows up the rather over-praised moderns. On the tenor front there is plenty of the incomparable Jussi Bjorling, fine examples of the quality of the early Di Stefano, Mario del Monaco , the wonderful Carlo Bergonzi and the rather wayward but thrilling, Mario Lanza. Add the sopranos Renata Tebaldi, Callas, Victoria De los Angeles and Sena Jurinac plus some of the leading baritones such as Robert Merill and Tito Gobbi and you have a wide selection to enjoy. There are a few tracks from some who might be called good second raters but , all-in-all, a selection well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 199 Hits - Opera, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Helen Lore Zetter "helen zetter" (wisboroughgreen w.susex u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Fab.Another great buy!Considering the price,to get hours of music it is just great.Certainly there are some discs I like better than others but certainly I would not change my choice of package.The little booklet within the pack I find very useful too,as the music that I am not that keen on can be looked up and skipped without reading pages of description for each work.I do find it is so easy to buy such inexpensive packages through Amazon rather than standing about searching in record shops while they blast out the latest pop discs in which I am just not interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Foundation for Listening to Opera, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
This boxed set represents incredible value including, as it does, some of the greatest recorded performances of many of the standard arias, choruses and orchestral interludes. There are many tracks of jussi Bjorling and Maria Callas including some performances that have never been matched. Jussi Bjorling in Nessun Dorma,the Flower Song, O Paradiso and the famous performance of the duet from the Pearl Fishers with Robert Merrill. Maria Callas in Casta Diva, Vissi D'Arte. And there are tracks with Kirsten Flagstad, Renato Tebaldi, Elizabeth Schwartzkopf, Tito Gobbi, Luigi Alva Guiseppe Di Stefano, Mario del Monaco and even a few to remind us just how good Mario Lanza could be. The quality of the recordings is variable since some are quite old; some are excellent and none is unacceptable. If you want to get to know more about Opera you cannot do better than buy this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pile opera high, sell it cheap, 11 Sep 2012
By 
BJB (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Excellent value for a CD packed full of famous bits you've heard on the telly. Highbrow it ain't, but it's a good listen and the versions used are by recognised performers. If you've ever sat through an entire opera and squirmed with boredom at all the rubbish bits between the good songs, this is the album for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Introduction to Opera, 14 July 2012
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
At about 7p per track you cannot go wrong here and this set is a great introduction to Opera. Listen to it to see what sort of operas you want to explore in more detail and what you don't like. Some of the tracks sound fairly old, but most are of good audio quality. Great value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FISHING FOR PEARLS BEYOND PRICE, 12 Jun 2012
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Other reviewers have concentrated rightly on the quality of the singers, most of whom have been selected from the top ranks of what must truly have been a golden age of opera. Let me instead praise the wonderful accompaniments, by some of the greatest orchestras and conductors of the age, in a choice of arias, choruses and overtures that could not be bettered. This is wonderful music that alternately thrills, soothes and caresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars opera fanatic, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
delighted with your choice of recording.-use them at home and driving to work-would love to have a write-up with each record-a wee story with each recording would have been helpful as my knowledge of both french and italian are practically nil. thank you for what i got. john red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits - Opera
100 Hits - Opera by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews