Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


276 of 282 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic kettle
Overall this kettle is working really well. It looks great, boils the water quickly and accurately, doesnt make too much noise and does not have a plastic interior that would taint the water

Firstly this review is for the Cuisinart CPK17U sold in Europe (not the Cuisinart CPK17 sold in the USA) the main difference between these two models is that the CPK17 has...
Published on 27 Jan. 2011 by Calumn Montgomery

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The best kettle
This is definitely the best kettle I've ever owned and seen. Robust, fast and good looking. The only thing that I'm not a huge fan of is the blue light that is always on, even when not in use (the only way to turn it off is by unplugging the cord).

---
Update Jan 2013:

After almost 2 years of usage it just stopped working. The light is on but it...
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by Nuno Loureiro


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good looking Kettle, and that's about it. Will last more than a few months if you are lucky., 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Avoid. Like quite for quite few others Amazoners the kettle did not last very long, worked for less than two months. But not problem to send it back and have a refund as I was lucky it broke down before the and of the one year warranty. I have now a different Kettle, from Dualit if you want to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kettle, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
just great multi temp is so useful build of kettle is the best buy buy buy and was sent and packed fast and well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice and good looking but I turn it off when ..., 7 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Very nice and good looking but I turn it off when not in use as it has a bright 'standby' light that just burns electricity needlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, suspect build quality., 5 Mar. 2014
By 
MB. (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
We looked carefully for a replacement kettle after our 15 year old Morphy Richards kettle started to leak.

Positive:
Good appearance, choice of boil temperatures, good capacity, reasonably quiet.

Negative:
Kettle casing is not insulated and therefore very hot if touched. The "open" button has black transfer lettering that completely faded away with 10 days. Poor build quality. The water leaked from the main container and caused a mini explosion after only 7 months.
There is a permanent blue light on the kettle when placed on the base unit. Kettle returned to manufacture 9 days ago, still awaiting replacement customer service indicated may be a further 7 days. The Cusinart customer service dept. took over 5 minutes to answer the phone, they said they were "very busy" perhaps there is a high failure rate?
Please purchase with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
well build solid feel - smart design and easy to use - fun watching the temp indicator!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent quality, long guarantee, expensive but it works! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flimsey pakaging, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
The kettle came in what was called "frustration free pakaging". This was the manufacturers box only which did not stand up to UK postage arriving with a large gash in the cardboard box and a significant dent in the kettle. I sent it back and bought the same kettle in a local store which was 50p more expensive. The kettle works great but Amazon should review the lack of protective pakaging on such goods no matter how frustrating as it more frustrating to have to return a damaged product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eco Kettle?, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
SA (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I have been searching for an environmentally friendly kettle to replace my Eco Kettle, which has recently died. I definitely wasn't going back to the Eco Kettle (recommended by the Energy Saving Trust): the design is poor and the manufacture is worse -- it started leaking from the base within months of purchase.

So, what to choose? From the reviews on this and other sites, it seems that so-called eco-friendly kettles may have low energy use, but they also all have design problems and break/start leaking within a year or so, meaning you have to replace them -- so they're not really eco-friendly at all. I chose the Cuisinart because it had the best reviews and the longest warranty, which would seem to suggest it might last a bit longer than the others.

I've now had it for two days, so don't yet know whether it will last, but my observations so far are mixed:

Pros:
1. Good design, in the the kettle is well balanced when pouring, and pours nicely: it doesn't 'spurt' or spill. It is reasonably compact, but has decent capacity.
2. Variable temperature control, with an LED display that keeps track of the water temperature as it heats, so you can simply turn it off when it reaches your desired temperature, rather than pre-setting it (though you can pre-set it as well, of course).
3. Water measure pane, with marks for both litres (0.5, 1, 1.7) and cups (2 & 4).
4. A 3-year warranty.
5. Reasonably fast to boil.

Cons:
1. The kettle does get very hot, as it doesn't have a separate internal boiling chamber. They do warn you of that, and it's easy enough not to touch the kettle itself BUT the lid also has this problem, and the only way to close the lid after you've filled the kettle is by hand... So, if you want to boil 2 or more kettles in quick succession, be prepared to use a tea towel to press the lid down. (Why didn't they either: a) line the lid to prevent over-heating, or b) have a knob on top of it??)
2. The lid opening mechanism seems pretty flimsy -- something on which I think others have commented.
3. Others love the blue-lit chamber and LED display. From an energy use point of view, I'm not so keen. The problem is easily solved: turn it off at the wall. But given that Cuisinart are presenting this as an eco kettle, why have the lighting at all?
4. It is noisy in comparison to other kettles I've had, particularly when there's less water in it, I think.

So overall, it seems like a good kettle (so far), but it isn't the eco-kettle of my dreams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Premium price, but premium quality?, 7 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Few kettles cost more and you'd be surprised and disappointed if it did not perform well as a result. The overall impression is one of precision engineering which inspires confidence. Minor negatives are the bulky handle and weight, the latter is common to many steel kettles, but if you are elderly and perhaps arthritic you might find a different material and design is more suitable. In addition, the filter and/or its housing structure, which incidentally is plastic, within the kettle causes the last cupful to pour erratically and slowly..this is rather irksome given that heating small amounts is encouraged and economical. A three year warranty does give peace of mind. Browsing the web post Christmas discovered a price of £65: almost a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth The Money, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. C. May "ChrisM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart CPK17U Multi Temp 1.7 Litre Jug Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
We bought this kettle approximately 6 months ago after searching around everywhere for a quality kettle. I always read customer reviews on various websites before I decide to buy most things, but on this occasion I spent weeks reviewing kettles.

We settled on this one because of its good reviews and the look of it as we wanted a metal kettle, even though it was in my opinion, very expensive for something that boils water.

Initially we were very impressed. It feels expensive when you have hold of it, it looks good, it's no noisier than any other kettle, as other reviews have stated and we soon realised that the hype over the various temperatures that it boils water to, is worth investing in. I love my gadgets and to have a gadget kettle was very exciting initially.

I am a big coffee drinker, both instant and ground and I have found that drinking instant at 85 degrees and ground at 95 degrees really does make a big difference in the taste of the coffee. When you drink it at the old fashioned 100 degrees that most other kettles boil to, the coffee tastes a lot more bitter. I also drink a lot of ginger and vanilla tea and again that tastes really nice brewed to 90 degrees rather than 100. So I am really happy with that facility and I would really miss it if any future kettle didn't have it.

So you can probably tell so far that within the first few months both myself and my wife really loved the kettle. However over the next few months the kettle started to irritate us and here's why:-

1) The word 'Open' on the button that opens the lid completely wore off. Not what I expect from a so called £80 kettle.
2) The silver paint on the handle on the power switch is wearing off, making the kettle look cheap and not worth what we paid for it.
3) The only way to switch the blue LED light off is to turn it off at the mains
4) Sometimes if you turn it off at the mains when it's still hot you get an error code when you switch it back on and it can take 4 or 5 goes to get it to work.
5) Sometimes if you try and switch it off in the middle of a boil you get an error code and the kettle won't work for up to 30 minutes.
6) When there's not much water left in it and you're pouring out the last little bit in the kettle, the spout seems to divide the water into 2 streams and one of the streams always misses the cup.
7) Sometimes you press a temperature button then press the power button and the kettle just sits there and doesn't boil, a bit like its crashed. Switching it off and on again at the mains cures this, but its very annoying.
8) Finally the outside body of the kettle gets very very hot. I know all kettles get hot to touch but this one is like nothing else I've ever come across in all my years of buying kettles. The metal outside seems to somehow be ever hotter than the water it contains (even though I know that's probably impossible). Just the slightest touch even for a nano second and you're left with a nasty burn. I still have a mark on my arm from a burn 2 months ago.

So there you go - to sum up - a very expensive kettle that initially appears to be really clever and fantastic quality. However after living with it for a few months it makes you realise that it's not good value for money and its not a high quality product as cuisinart would have you believe. Please think carefully before buying it as I'm really not sure how long this will last.

I might stick to a good old fashioned kettle next time or another gadget one that alters the temperature, but probably another make.

UPDATE:-

The kettle is now approximately 13 months old and things have not got any better. The paint on most of the buttons has completely worn off and now you can see cheap clear plastic underneath. The word 'open' on the button for the lid has worn off. The kettle keeps switching itself off at 50 degrees (this happens almost every day) and at some point most days it stops working altogether and needs resetting at the mains. All in all I feel as though it was a bad purchase of a poor quality kettle which is vastly overpriced. Hence I have reduced my score from 3 stars to 1 star as I am really unhappy with it.

If you really want a kettle that boils at different temperatures, I would advise that you find a different kettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews