Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HEARTFELT FESTIVE FUN
Martin Freeman is his usual loaveable self and the kids are adorable and hilarious in equal measure. Is it cheesy? Yes but what else do you want from a Christmas film?! Pure entertaining, emotive Christmas fun for the whole family.
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Mis K. E. Morris

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy Christmas
Good clean family entertainment for a cosy family gathering near or around Christmas. The acting of the children often matches that of the main characters, but I guess that no children's School Nativity Play will ever match the gadgetry employed in the final school presentation. What child would not give away their coveted present to take part in such a drama? One of the...
Published on 13 Dec 2011 by K. C. Smith


‹ Previous | 127 28 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Might be OK for the kids, but otherwise pretty silly, 28 Dec 2012
By 
P. Haynes (Maidstone, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
Essentially a (very) poor man's School of Rock, this is a rather wearing and silly story, not very well acted. Indeed Martin Freeman's portrayal of the teacher sinking under the weight of the craziness he's inadvertently started is quite trying, he basically acts the same way (and says much the same things) in EVERY scene. The teaching assistant is funny at times but mostly unbelievable - how can an idiot like this also turn out to be a very clever producer?

I won't bother you with the details of the story, because I lost the will to live during the film and frankly can't remember all of it (and no way am I watching it again to check!), but basically the teacher (Freeman) is tasked with organising this year's school Nativity play, and, still reeling from his girl friend's desertion and move to Hollywood, promises his pupils that 'Hollywood' would be coming to see their performance. Of course, because this is a film, and a very silly one at that, 'Hollywood' does come to the performance - which, stretching credibility way beyond any limits, ends up being performed in Coventry Cathedral, and includes kids being flown around on wires and singing and dancing like seasoned professionals, when they couldn't even sing in tune or dance in time just two days before. And, of course, the teacher gets his girlfriend back (I bet that surprised you).

I may have this story wrong, because it didn't make much sense to me and I wasn't exactly concentrating all the way through the film, but it was something along those lines. Or possibly not - I confess to not really caring.

Other reviews I've read say never mind how it looks to adults, kids love it, so I've given it two stars, but my kids didn't quite seem to share this view, both (7 and 3) drifting in and out of the film and actually wandering off before the end and missing the final performance completely. They are normally avid film fans who sit glued to the film all the way through and happily watch it again, given the chance, so I think that tells you all you need to know about this.

It's a pity, because the idea and plot could have been developed into a funny and heart-warming film, with better actors, a better director and a better script, but, alas, this wasn't to be.

Watch School of Rock instead - just as silly, but Jack Black is superb as the completely unhinged music teacher, and the climax is much more believable, and far more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nativity, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a lot of promise, a good solid comedic cast and an intrinsically funny topic - large numbers of children in tea towels acting. It starts off really well, the children are great and the thinly veilled air of hysteria that surrounds primary school dramatics is captured well.
Martin Freeman is convincing as the somewhat jaded teacher and his pompous 'lovey' friend at the nearby private school is wonderfully portrayed. However, what starts off well takes a downward turn and ends in a sludge of cheesy love story and a nativity production that is so improbable in its lavishness that it looses what was it's main strength - its basis in what could happen. Equally sad is that fact that the oppertunity for the state school to beat its snobby neighbour at their own game is lost because they beat them because of the money sloshing around the production rather than for their own enthusiasm. The talents that are in the film made this a real possibility they only needed a script to let them do it.
Nonetheless, a reasonable festive film if it's a rainly afternoon. It doesn't go badly wrong until the last 20 mins or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISINGLY FUNNY AND CUTE! COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER THOUGH!, 16 Dec 2010
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
NATIVITY is an OK film about a man who's girlfriend moved away from him. Now he is stuck in a school, a teacher, who is a kinda Ebenezer Scrooge man. He hates XMAS. But when the wacky, dodgy teaching assistant arrives, it all changes. What with Hollywood SUPPOSEDLY coming to film the latest NATIVITY play (by the main character), the whole city is excited. Desperate to get a ***** star review, after recieving a -** star last time, he lies his way into popularity. With Teacher vs. Teaching Assistant, this film is reasonably enjoyable. Gets extremely childish and some scenes are weird, but apart from that, thumbs up. I will make this a 3 star, but only because i cannot do 3.5!

I would say buy it, but dont expect anything better than your average christmassy film! THE POLAR EXPRESS is better! i'll still get this on DVD though! worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nativity! Combi Pack [Blu-ray + DVD ] (Blu-ray)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
I'd kept this as a treat for myself for the run up to Christmas and I was really disappointed.
I'd like to think I'm the queen of cheesy christmas movies, and although the kids were tres cute and the music bearable and almost catchy; I felt the story was quite thin and the actors just didn't have enough material to go on. Such a shame for such an established cast.
I watched it til the end but only cos I'd convinced my "girls night in" that it would be brill!
I'm also left wondering why such accomplished actors signed up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goes on a bit, 9 Dec 2010
By 
A. Hobbs (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love pretty much anything to do with Christmas, especially the films. However, i found this a bit of a disappointment. To be fair, there are some great scenes/gags, but the whole package seemed to drag on, and i found myself willing it to end. I'll stick to 'Scrooged', 'Elf' and 'National Lampoon's'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nativity DVD, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift. Hence I have not watched the DVD. However I been told it is very good, so may get the chance to watch it one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nativity, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. E. E. Warner "E Warner" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
It's a bit of fun to watch at Christmas and leaves you feeling happy but not the best film in the world. Glad I watched it though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nativity, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best Christmas film I have ever bought & I buy them every year. It's an OK film but I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't quite work, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nativity! [DVD] (DVD)
Certainly entertaining and funny but fundamentally just didn't work - you don't really connect with the characters or really find out their back stories. The film tries to be a lot of things at once - small school comes good is believable but the Hollywood ending plus lack on any depth makes for a poor film - as candyfloss for xmas, fine, but not one I'd really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 127 28 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nativity! Combi Pack [Blu-ray + DVD ]
Nativity! Combi Pack [Blu-ray + DVD ] by Martin Freeman (Blu-ray - 2010)
6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews