Customer Reviews


331 Reviews
5 star:
 (287)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain
I've been informed by a friend of mine that Dreamies is like crack cocaine for cats. I don't know what they put in the stuff, but next doors kitties go ballistic over the damn stuff. Ok that's that out of the way. The reason I've put fingers to keyboard is that these packs retail at £1.38 at the local supermarket (The one where you slap your backside as you leave) If you...
Published on 6 April 2011 by F. Patel

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: is like a cat drug
The caring cat owner should really beware that if you get these for your cat just ONCE, you may end up regretting it. They seem to have an almost drug-like effect on cats that creates an addiction and dependency on them. Cat will definitely feel happy and be purring like a Porsche with a new engine, but it'll also just want more, and more, and more...and you'll find it...
Published 20 months ago by GratuitousViolets


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: is like a cat drug, 10 April 2013
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The caring cat owner should really beware that if you get these for your cat just ONCE, you may end up regretting it. They seem to have an almost drug-like effect on cats that creates an addiction and dependency on them. Cat will definitely feel happy and be purring like a Porsche with a new engine, but it'll also just want more, and more, and more...and you'll find it very hard to refuse when the greedy desperate behaviour of the cat starts kicking in.

While it is nice to treat your cat with something delicious, these are not even actually healthy for the cat at all; they are made with grain, which cats aren't really built to digest properly or gain any actual benefit from (they're carnivores, after all). I suspect something addictive has been put into the mix or sprayed on so that cats find it impossible to resist, quite dependent upon and leading to owners being guilt-tripped into buying.

A lot of people are finding since introducing this product into their home, their cats have become increasingly fussy when it comes to other food, turning their nose up at wet food and dry food alike. It's amusing at first, when you bring a packet of Dreamies into your house and your cat goes cuckoo over it, practically trying to trip you up and howling when you go to open the packet because you're not quick enough or accommodating enough. But this soon wears thin...when the cat is literally refusing to eat and hanging around where you keep the Dreamies waiting for his next 'fix'. Our cat does this really annoying thing of "pretending" that he needs let out to do his business...only to trick you into getting up so he can lead you to what you think is going to be the door, but actually is to where he knows the Dreamies are kept (cats aren't stupid but we humans can be). I've heard of other cats doing the same with their owners over this brand, which was amusing at first, but is now slightly alarming.

Several accounts I've heard of cat owners going through three or four bags of these a week - and you're only meant to go through twenty pieces a day - simply because their cats have become so dependent on them and so fussy that they won't eat anything else. The bag says 'treats cats crave' on it, which is definitely true, but in essence...the cats won't crave anything else, giving owners a lot of issues if you've gotten the cat into a perfect eating routine (especially if you've just gotten your cat into being content with the tasteless economical brands).

If you're the kind of person who is having a hard time getting their cat to eat anything at all, go for the Dreamies by all means (desperation must, I guess). But I'd suggest if your cat has a really good routine of eating right, don't bring these into the house and DON'T let a friend or neighbour treat your cats with them. Introducing these could mean having to retrain both cat and owner respectively just to get the cat rehabilitated from them, lol.

So three stars for the fact they do what they say on the bag, but two stars deducted for the fact that really, there's something much deeper going on with this brand that really needs investigating. These are cat drugs essentially, and that can't be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 6 April 2011
By 
F. Patel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamies Cat Treats Chicken 60g (Pack of 8) (Misc.)
I've been informed by a friend of mine that Dreamies is like crack cocaine for cats. I don't know what they put in the stuff, but next doors kitties go ballistic over the damn stuff. Ok that's that out of the way. The reason I've put fingers to keyboard is that these packs retail at £1.38 at the local supermarket (The one where you slap your backside as you leave) If you don't mind the wait, purchasing them off of Amazon you get them for £0.94. That's a saving of 44p a packet. Which in the not so long run adds up something rotten. And supermarkets are where you are supposed to save money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming on., 7 Mar 2011
By 
J. Caddick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My back up supply of 8 packets of Dreamies has just arrived and I can only say thank goodness for Amazon, not only a good price but nice fast service too. I was trying to make the first pack last until the new lot arrived as I just didn't know how to explain to the cat that he had eaten them all, my life would not have been worth living! (I live nearly two hours from the nearest supermarket so couldn't just pop down and buy some more) My cat is 18 and he thinks he has already died and gone to heaven and you would honestly think he was two months old, the acrobatics he goes to, to get me to give him some more. He actually sits on the arm of the chair staring at the packet, willing it to fall off the shelf and magically open. I have written to the manufacturing company to complain to the 'inventor' but have been informed "he is currently on the run from owners such as yourself who are driven to distraction by the constant demands of their feline companions".
I can only advise you not to by this product unless you want to turn your cat into a drooling demented loonie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paw Licking Good, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Our cats are terribly difficult to please when it comes to their food and can often turn their noses up at a bowl of what they had declared to be nectar the previous day. I therefore purchased these treats with some trepidation, unsure whether they would turn out to be a hit or a miss.

Well, a handful of treats is hoovered up in super quick time, without any of the usual sniffing that can accompany something new, or any of the fickleness that they often display on day two, three and so on. They tried the cheese version of the treat first but have now also tried the beef, chicken and salmon - I am amazed to say that they are all a big hit (beef seems to be their particular favourite) and are certainly worth considering as a treat for the cat or kitten in your life. Middle cat's eyes light up when she just sees one of the treat bags being picked up and she gets terribly excited - she is normally the most ambivalent of cats, so these have to be good.

The Thomas' cats vote this cat treat a HIT - and they are certainly not easily pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY YOUR CAT THIS DRUG, 26 Feb 2014
Dreamies have 2 issues

1 - they have been designed to be seriously addictive and make your cat aggressive towards getting their fix of dreamies. there are cases starting to come in with cats just sitting all day waiting for their fix or trying to tear the packets open clawing their owners.

2 - there are also starting to see health issues with the urinary tract and kidneys associated with these things.

before you feed your cat these things because you think its fun to see them go berserk THINK.......... would you feed your kids LSD just for kicks to see them trip out!

IF YOU THINK IM A NUT MY VET ADVISED ME OF THE ISSUES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paw Licking Good, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreamies Cat Treats Chicken 60g (Pack of 8) (Misc.)
Our cats are terribly difficult to please when it comes to their food and can often turn their noses up at a bowl of what they had declared to be nectar the previous day. I therefore purchased these treats with some trepidation, unsure whether they would turn out to be a hit or a miss.

Well, a handful of treats is hoovered up in super quick time, without any of the usual sniffing that can accompany something new, or any of the fickleness that they often display on day two, three and so on. They tried the cheese version of the treat first but have now also tried the beef, chicken and salmon - I am amazed to say that they are all a big hit (beef seems to be their particular favourite) and are certainly worth considering as a treat for the cat or kitten in your life. Middle cat's eyes light up when she just sees one of the treat bags being picked up and she gets terribly excited - she is normally the most ambivalent of cats, so these have to be good.

The Thomas' cats vote this cat treat a HIT - and they are certainly not easily pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My cats love them!, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Celticprincess "What you send out, comes back... (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been buying another brand of cat treat for many years now for my cats. I saw these and wondered if my cats would like them, so bought some and shouted the cats when they got delivered.

Yeah! Nash and Molly LOVE these. They scream for them now, they love them so much. I've gone through packets of them already, as they go to where they are stored and scream for them when I don't give them to them lol

I love my cats and my cats love Dreamies, so they get them :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chumpys treatie of choice, 19 Feb 2014
BA DUM BA DUM BA DUM BA DUM..Yes, thats the sound of Chumpy hammering down the stairs once he hears the rustling of the pack.."do you want some treaties?" I say... do I really need to ask??
"Just gimme now" Chumpy says with his paws folded, and his back paw tapping the floor.

Sometimes eats out of my hand like a horse taking sugar lumps, or enjoys chasing bickkys thrown at a distance

Addicted.. yes. Im convinced the manufacturers put the same addictive ingredient in these as they do Pringles crisps in a tube.

This might be bad news for Dreamies but he has since tried Felix crunchies in mixed grill, and likes them more!! NOM NOM NOM NOM lickety lips. (do cats have lips?) DOH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pussy pleasures, 20 Oct 2011
i have three cats who go crazy for them, when i want them in at night i just rattle the bag at the back door and stand back or get run down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paw Licking Good, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Our cats are terribly difficult to please when it comes to their food and can often turn their noses up at a bowl of what they had declared to be nectar the previous day. I therefore purchased these treats with some trepidation, unsure whether they would turn out to be a hit or a miss.

Well, a handful of treats is hoovered up in super quick time, without any of the usual sniffing that can accompany something new, or any of the fickleness that they often display on day two, three and so on. They tried the cheese version of the treat first but have now also tried the beef - I am amazed to say that beef is an even bigger hit than cheese and are certainly worth considering as a treat for the cat or kitten in your life.

The Thomas' cats vote this cat treat a HIT - and they are certainly not easily pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamies Cat Treats Chicken 60g (Pack of 8)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews