Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many monsters... so little time.
Ok I'd like to start by saying- this is the most addictive psp game I have ever played.

For those new to the franchise, Monster Hunter is a 3rd person rpg style monster slaying game. Sounds simple... and at 1st glance it is. You have various weapons and armour to customize/ power up your character and a list of quests to complete mainly revolving around killing...
Published on 29 July 2010 by William Jenkins

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Monster Hunter
Early days, but I can't get started in this game. When you equip yourself it is a nightmare getting out of the room. It seems stuck on 'rotate' so all your character can do is turn around. Very frustrating, and I don't know the answer. A review is difficult to give because of this.
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Mr. David W. Low


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many monsters... so little time., 29 July 2010
By 
William Jenkins "wJ" (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Ok I'd like to start by saying- this is the most addictive psp game I have ever played.

For those new to the franchise, Monster Hunter is a 3rd person rpg style monster slaying game. Sounds simple... and at 1st glance it is. You have various weapons and armour to customize/ power up your character and a list of quests to complete mainly revolving around killing monsters.

It starts out easy enough hunting the raptor like Giaprey in the mountins, but you will quickly discover after defeaing a few of the larger monsters that this game is actually quite tricky. Unless you memorize how each giant monster behaves/ attacks you will find yourself constantly dieing. Your weapon and armour upgrades all of a sudden become essential to complete each quest. And don't think button mashing helps in any way... this game is all about timing... finding the perfect moment to uleash your chosen weapon. Once you get used to it the combat becomes insanely fun.

I was startled at how many options were available in terms of upgrading weapons and armour. Also impressive is the sheer variaty of mosters there are to hunt. Everything looks stunning even by late ps2 standards. I have no idea how they make psp games look this good, it's just baffeling.

I find the learning curve on this game to be quite steep... Iv'e already gotten stuck several times and I'm not what you would call a casual gamer really... I play ALOT of stuff and this is the only game I've played recently that actually challenges me. to defeat some of the trickier monsters you will need to backtrack and item/ material grind in order to power up your equipment... I havnt really found this to be to much of an irritation as I find redoing some of the quests to be brilliant fun. I consider all of this a good thing but maybe the really casual gamers might want to try renting first.

This game has 4 player online co op options which I have yet to try. But every friend I have who ownes the game says this is easily the best part of the whole experience. I'm personally still engrosed in the single player stuff at the moment so I have the "amazing" co-op still to come.

I've spent a long while on this game already and I don't feel like slowing down anytime soon. Some would say MHFU is an aquired taste and I guess I'd agree there. If anything you have just read intregued you then odds are you will find something to like in this game. If monster hunting isnt your thing.... well.. c'mon clues in the title.

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 28 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
better than i expected, always a challenge and the grapihcs are brilliant. plus some downloadable quests which are free and the data install option makes it load faster if you got more than 300mb on your memory card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for psp !, 5 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Since I'm a big fan of the series my opinion is biased.
Although, I would recommend it for any fan of Action RPG who want a game more skill based than number based with a love for Cooperation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Playing it!, 2 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Even though I got this game ages ago I am still playing it. It has an incredible amount of monsters, ranging from pink monkeys to elder dragons. The diversity in monsters means that I keep on wanting to play and do not get bored. The setup of the game is great. You can collect items from your own farm and use it to help you create weapons and Armour to help with the tough opposition. The range in weapons and Armour is also amazing and for every monster you kill you can create it's Armour, even most of the insects.

The online is great and I love tackling some of these crazy monsters with friends. The maps are well layed out and there are more and more as you progress through the game. This game definitely provides a challenge, with the three types of missions (Normal, High-rank and G-Rank) you will find yourself with some incredibly difficult quests.

I currently have around 100 game hours which I have accumulated over years as I always love coming back to this game. It really is a PSP essential in my opinion and possibly the most addictive game I have ever played
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game...., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Game arrived promptly and was brand new, fully packaged.

No issues with the product in any way and enjoy the game. Recommend game to those who enjoy this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on the PSP, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Love it, played it everyday at school for about 2 years... ruined my grades though so be careful haha :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
monster hunter is a very good game that will take up hours of your time. its simple concept makes it easy to understand whats going on and its easy to grasp the controls. the game features brilliant on the edge of your seat game play which you can take on your own or with up to three friends. thought many people think the psp is dead this is a classic game that will bring you back again and again. over all with its huge amount of features such as cats that cook for you your own farm and a wide range of weapons monster hunter is a brilliant game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monster hunter, 14 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Son has said great game has only stopped playing when he goes on line to play other games. So worked out as a good stocking filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HELL YES!!!, 20 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Great game obviously more fun with friends but its hellishly hard and fun at the same time to ANY monster hunter comming From Tri this is A whole world of difficult compaired to Tri but soo worth it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for every PSP owner..., 7 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP) (Video Game)
Part RPG, Part Action Game, Part Social Game, Part MMOG...Monster Hunter has it all! The steep learning curve is not felt at all. There's something for everybody in this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster Hunter Freedom Unite - Essentials (PSP)
£10.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews