Customer Reviews


361 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough, begrudgers!
I've had quite enough of those who harp on about being "true Green Day fans" complaining that this album isn't Dookie. Fair enough, if you prefer the punkier Green Day, listen to Dookie again, but comparing this album to their earlier stuff is ridiculous. Bands change and mature, and are all the better for it. With American Idiot, Green Day prove their reluctance to be...
Published on 29 Aug 2005 by Sweary

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We Are the Waiting
I am aware and constantly reminded that things change. Trends adapt, preferences season and opinions change. It is life and it can be a good thing. In music too. But it can also hinder the appreciation of a favourite group or artist. I'm all for experimentation. Green Day dabbled with their sound before on Warning. That was a good album but lacked a certain punch that...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough, begrudgers!, 29 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
I've had quite enough of those who harp on about being "true Green Day fans" complaining that this album isn't Dookie. Fair enough, if you prefer the punkier Green Day, listen to Dookie again, but comparing this album to their earlier stuff is ridiculous. Bands change and mature, and are all the better for it. With American Idiot, Green Day prove their reluctance to be crammed into a rut.
The band have also been accused of jumping on a bandwagon in order to sell to new fans, which I would think a silly statement seeing as Green Day are so well established. The album focuses on issues important to American society today, and forgive me if I'm wrong, but Green Day have always written tracks that put American life under the spotlight.
The album is excellent. Stand out tracks include Jesus Of Suburbia (wonderful lyrics on the isolation of youth) and Holiday, while Whatsername is an evocative close to a stirring and emotionally rich album. Again, Billie Joe's lyrics are heartfelt and affectingly delivered. The music may be as "power-chordy" as ever, but what matter when the album sounds better than a "greatest hits" from many lesser bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Idiot, 25 July 2005
By 
Calum Fairweather "ccalumf" (Huntly, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Green have just released their special edition of their latest album "American Idiot", and all the music mags have correctly judged it very well indeed, Green Day fans will throroughly enjoy this package, and maybe I'll just re-buy this (maybe).
The singles to start with, the title song, "Boulevard Of Broken Dreams," "Holiday" and "Wake Me Up When September Ends" have their videos on the DVD, but they are all superb and have dented the charts with great impact, "Jesus Of Suburbia" is a five-part classic aswell as the rest of the songs mentioned here. "Are We The Waiting" is a good song with good singing from Billie Joe, quite short, but good.
"St. Jimmy" is a great song with awesome lyrics in it, and it's really catchy. "Give Me Novacaine" is very strong in the chorus, but soft in the verses, great guitars! "She's A Rebel" is quite good, I think, music is great throughout this album aswell, "Extraordinary Girl" is not as good as the rest, I don't really listen to it much. "Letterbomb" is explosive though, good lyrics (no wonder Billie Joe is so good at songwriting, I envy him a bit).
"Homecoming" is another five-part classic aswell, the final song "Whatsername" is a great ender with the final lyrics going like, "Forgetting you but not the time...". Overall "American Idiot" is a massive rock and roll album throughout, so please buy it if you don't have it. Green Day are one of the best-selling rock and roll artists in the world, so don't let them down!
~ Calum Fairweather (Green Day fan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent. I am staggered., 12 Jan 2005
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
Green Day have been around for well over a decade now, and after 'Warning' and a greatest hits album, there was just a hint that they were starting to run out of ideas for creating new sounds and fresh-sounding tunes. As a result this album, seemingly borne out of a healthy cynicism of the American government and decisions made by the Bush administration, is like a lightning bolt of inspiration. It keeps in with the band's traditional quirky, guitar-driven punk style, but introduces a touch of sentimentality and a more subtle, soft edge to a couple of songs that is a refreshing change, when interspersed with the usual power-punk material of the rest of the CD.
I'd originally bought this on the back of the singles 'American Idiot' and 'Holiday', but the album is far richer and cleverly constructed than just those songs. This is an album on a mission, blending sounds and meaning with a message that America is not happy about how it stands today. From beginning to end there are references to characters whose intentions start off well enough, but who eventually succumb to apathy and disillusionment in the face of an arrogant establishment ignoring their cries for change. Many will read more or less into it than that, but the quality and variety of melodies packed into a decent-length (just short of an hour) recording is unquestionable. This is terrific, powerful musicianship at work, generating memorable tunes that take unexpected turns to keep the interest constantly engaged.
The fact that so many songs refer to each other can make it an album that is difficult to flick through or listen to odd songs in isolation. And the band have pulled an extra trick on this recording, putting together two vast songs which run to over 9 minutes each. The two tracks, spanning five stanzas ('Jesus of Suburbia' and 'Homecoming') are stunning works of musical genius, telling a grandiose story and utilising a vast array of instruments and styles. They are imperious, epic pieces of work, and by far the most original set-pieces I have heard this year. Curious that track 13, Whatsername, should lie after the second of these, as it would make an absolutely perfect grand finale with its thumping drums and chanting run out at the end.
American Idiot is not the album I expected it to be; it is much, much better than I could have hoped for. 5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Rage and Love, 26 Sep 2005
By A Customer
American Idiot is Green Day's latest album, loved commercially, loved by the hardcore fans, loved by just about everyone. This album is poetic and at the same time just plain rocks, which, if you know the work of Green Day, is something that they often easily achieve. It tells the story of Jesus of Suburbia and St. Jimmy, who may or may not be the same person, Whatsername, the seductive and destructive woman in their lives, and their combined outrage at the political state of the world, the choices that they are being forced to make, and the mundane life they are being forced to live, until that in itself becomes destructive, and tears the three apart. For all the singles stand strong on their own, the album is powerful when listened to as a whole. I can't hear 'Holiday' without hearing the opening notes of 'Boulevard of Broken Dreams' creeping in on its tail. Musically, this album is something else, a new day of Green. To even try and compare this album to any other, even songs as beautiful as Macy's Day Parade or Waiting, is almost impossible. Billie Joe Armstrong has raised the bar on lyrics, and his own abilities as a singer, creating an album that, as I may have mentioned, both rocks like hell and also raises personal questions about the way we live, the way we view the establishment, censorship, and politics. It's hard for me to choose a favourite on the album, but I have to say, when I was considering whether to buy the album, it was the song 'Are We The Waiting?', when I heard it on VH1 storytellers, that absolutely convinced me. And you know what? It was the best thing I ever did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking punk to the masses!, 23 Feb 2007
By 
No Quarter (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
OK, no matter what all the whiney 'true fans' say (I know I'm a true fan because I love this), this is their best album since the early days of Dookie. Yes it's commercial but that's great because it means more people are listening to them than ever before. As with all bands that 'sell out' the old fans get annoyed because they feel their band is being taken away from them and now everyone knows them. Well what was Basket Case thirteen years ago if not pure pop??

Every song on American Idiot is great and it can't be faulted as a complete work. Once you get to the tracks at the end like Letterbomb and Homecoming it's so joyous, and it feels like it actually means something. It's the whole American Idiot concept album thing that really makes this something special. I too would have hated them if they'd made a commercial album that felt soulless but Billie Joe has never sounded more believable and genuine telling this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has defined 21st century rock, 24 Aug 2005
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
i bought this album 5 days after release because i loved the heart pounding energy i got from american idiot, when i got it i listened to it and i saw music in a new way, no longer was i music free idiot, i was plunged back into the world of music with this album. The face of this album has been the massive hysteria surrounding the voice of green day pointing a finger at the white house. Billie joe has become a role model to thousands of youths across the america and europe. He is certainly mine. people who have said they were jumping on a bush bashing wagon are wrong, they started the bush bashing wagon by being truly brave. Green day took a massive risk, but has paid off incredibly, they are now probably the most influential band in the world. Some might say they have targeted 12 year olds, but they haven't. they made a great move and are now idols to young rockers who admire their ability to point a finger at the most powerful man in the world. No other band will be able to do what they have done because it has been too unique. Green day have produced something truly special and has defined 21st century rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anthem For The Youth - The Anthem of 2004, 23 Oct 2005
This review is from: American Idiot [CD 2] (Audio CD)
American Idiot is Green Day's biggest record to date, entering number one in both sides of the atlantic, and the title track has a lot to do with that fact.
Peaking at a remarkable 3rd place in the UK charts, American Idiot is a near 3 minute slice of pure punk adrenaline, with Bush baiting lyrics. Not only was it a huge return to the distorted sound after the acoustic masterpiece 'Warning', it has a great riff, and it proved they can do a song about American culture better than any band out there right now.
Here we also find two previously unreleased tracks, Shoplifter and Governator. Shoplifter is a very quick nippy singalong number and not very political compared to the others. The other song Governator is quite a remarkable track, once again being very political it delivers a strong statement (Run and hide, we're all gonna die, and let the vultures pick a part what's left). I'm also convinced that Tim Armstrong makes a guest appearance on there as well.
Do i really need to say anymore about this single??? Buy It Now!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good..., 27 Mar 2007
By 
P. Philips (Sutton Coldfield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
All told, this is a pretty good album. I always liked the early stuff off "Dookie", particularly stuff like "Basket Case" and "Geek Stink Breath", though I think it's wrong to keep comparing American Idiot with Dookie since there's 10 years between those albums. Both albums are as good as each other in their own way, and I'd much rather listen to catchy, immediate stuff like this than the ponderous self-important output of people like U2 and ColdPlay any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The american trio churn out yet another fantastic album, 2 Sep 2007
By 
D. Hooper "BEN" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
Green Day have been going quite a few years now, but unlike most bands of that age, they still sound as fresh as ever. This album is sung with a lot of passion and obviosly means a lot to the band. Every single song on the album is fantasic, from the sad and heartfelt "wake me up when september ends" to the the fire and fury of "holiday". Buy.It.Now

Recommended songs: I recommend every song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album since the Millenium, 11 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: American Idiot (Audio CD)
The worst thing about this album is the title, nothing wrong with being political but it seems a little clumsy, and the lyrics of the title track are unsophisticated.

That said:-
Even the weakest songs are good enough to sing along to. Even the overblown pretentious "rock operas" at start and end do not seem too long. It's hard to pick out stand out tracks, because there are 7 or 8 of them. While I can appreciate long term Green Day fans being concerned at the change of direction, I have listened to 90s Green Day in passing and it is not a patch on this, though maybe I should give it another try.

Yes it is mainstream, yes it is hardly original, but it is brilliant. Anyone bored of the nerdish, self aware pop emanating from both sides of the Atlantic at the moment should try this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews