Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than it looks in the picture.
The watch is actually black rather than charcoal grey as the accompanying photograph would suggest. The case front is metal and has a slightly gloss/satin finish which looks good. The reversed or negative liquid crystal is very crisp under most lighting conditions.
The watch is by far the lightest I've ever worn being mostly resin. It's fractionally smaller than I...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by Ulrome

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great
Wore constanly during a 6 month training Programme of swimming - running and cycling - very light and easy to use but the Start button has become very loose and the writing in the top of the watch has come off.
6 months max use I'm afraid!!
Published on 1 July 2010 by DAC40


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than it looks in the picture., 22 Mar 2010
The watch is actually black rather than charcoal grey as the accompanying photograph would suggest. The case front is metal and has a slightly gloss/satin finish which looks good. The reversed or negative liquid crystal is very crisp under most lighting conditions.
The watch is by far the lightest I've ever worn being mostly resin. It's fractionally smaller than I expected.

A further advantage is that the watch back plate is secured by four tiny screws which means you can easily change the battery yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Feb 2011
By 
BA (Folkestone) - See all my reviews
This watch is very nice. It does look better in reality, compared to the picture. It is fairly easy to use, however the screen can be difficult to read in low light. Overall, its a great watch, and i would recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for tabata, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After doing a lot of research in to a sports watch that would allow interval timers to be set for completing tabata training I plumped for this one. It turns out it was a very good decision. The interval timer is perfect and can be set in seconds rather that minutes and counts perfectly and for a set number of repetitions. Seems very sturdy so far so to say that I'm pleased overall is an understatement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 15 Nov 2012
Great watch for the money and it looks good too. Simple to use, the face is big and easy to see the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do for the jub!, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Karoutsos Eleftherios (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Advantages: Timer, a very helpful Interval Timer, synchronous operation of all the functions(timer,interval timer, chronograph), Big screen which is possible to read under all circumstances, night light mode(the light opens with its press on a button), easy to use.

Disadvantages: Its prohibited to press buttons when under the water(ex.when swimming), sometimes the stop button is pressed accidentally)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timex Ironman Triathlon, 14 Oct 2010
i liked the strap and its five alarms that can be programmed into several modes. Great watch for under £40. Ran the great north run with it last month
Unfortunately I seem to have lost it somewhere last week
I would buy another but wish the display was brighter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intuitive and easy to press buttons, loads of functions, 18 Feb 2013
By 
AlisonH (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Ironman Men's 50 Lap Sleek (Watch)
My son loves this, even though it's obviously designed for adults, and the strap is too wide for his skinny wrist at the moment. The buttons are easy to locate and not at all stiff. The instructions are mercifully short but concise, and it wasn't at all hard to set up. He particularly likes there being three alarms; two to wake him up and one to get him out of the door for school! There are different settings for weekends.
The lap timer records splits, which is designed for triathlons, but also great for his sport - orienteering.
The other main functions are a countdown timer and a stop watch, as well as calender and time.
The face (and size of the numerals) is easy to read; verging on being too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brand loyalty, 19 Dec 2010
I have a bit of brand loyalty when choosing a watch.It is my second Sleek,so Timex must be doing something right.
First the good points,it is light,simple to use,doesn't overawe the user with technology,I utilise all the functions,the only confusing one is the lap recall system,hit the wrong button and it is start the recall again,the three alarms are also a good boost.
NOW the bad points,
One reviewer stated that the start/split button had worked loose.The one on my watch just wore through the rubber covering,the water proofing stayed intact,just looked abit shoddy.
The worst part is the strap,it is integrated into the watch design,after two years has broke,I suppose I could send it back to Timex but.......
The watch gave me two years of being abused,so it is not perfect,but I would invest in another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, 1 July 2010
Wore constanly during a 6 month training Programme of swimming - running and cycling - very light and easy to use but the Start button has become very loose and the writing in the top of the watch has come off.
6 months max use I'm afraid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for the price, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third IM watch I've owned and is the most useful but not the most functional. However it has, without getting into heart rate and 'tap' features like higher end models, everything that is required for an event. You can set countdown reminders to eat/drink and of course lap times for transitions etc.
Brilliant for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timex Gents Watch Ironman Sleek 50 Lap T5K335
£51.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews