Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prophet Motive
Previously I read Christopherson's novel "Crack Up," and loved it. "The Prophet Motive" is at least as good, if not better. Since the main character is a homicide detective, the book has many of the qualities of a police procedural in the beginning and of a murder mystery throughout. However, what elevates the book beyond just another okay murder mystery are the story...
Published on 15 Aug. 2011 by BigAl

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the prophet motive
Ok. I read it. Thats about all I can say. Its not really my kind of book. I didn,t find it very realistic.
Published 23 months ago by kim hollister


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prophet Motive, 15 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
Previously I read Christopherson's novel "Crack Up," and loved it. "The Prophet Motive" is at least as good, if not better. Since the main character is a homicide detective, the book has many of the qualities of a police procedural in the beginning and of a murder mystery throughout. However, what elevates the book beyond just another okay murder mystery are the story threads that make the book as a whole more of a psychological thriller.

The People's Temple is an infamous cult, best known for the "Jonestown Massacre" in Guyana and subsequent mass suicide by many of the members. Those who are too young to remember this (it happened in 1978) might have heard the expression, "don't drink the Kool-Aid," which is a pop-culture reference to that mass suicide.

John Richetti, the protagonist of "The Prophet Motive," was a member of The People's Temple as a child and his parents both died in Guyana. As he investigates Earthbound, the cult in this book, the similarities between the two cults provide additional motivation for John. At times, he seems to view uncovering the truth behind the suspected murders of Earthbound members as revenge for his parent's deaths, possibly causing him to become too personally involved with the case. The memories of his time with The People's Temple and the obvious parallels with Earthbound serve to ratchet up the tension. What could easily have been a predictable resolution takes a sinister twist when John uncovers something unexpected, "The Prophet Motive."

**Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the prophet motive, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
Ok. I read it. Thats about all I can say. Its not really my kind of book. I didn,t find it very realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than I thought, but still..., 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Ioannis Glinavos (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
This book tells the story of a police officer (former cult member as a kid) and a psychologist who infiltrate a cult in order to discover whether they are involved in a murder. The book is interesting and I read it till the end, but it felt in places unbelievable and amateurish. It is rather full of cliches about the police, cults, cult leaders etc. Nonetheless it is enjoyable, and not much worse than the average crime/mystery offering in hard copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping stuff, 8 July 2012
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
This is a story about an American religious cult and two individuals, John (a police officer) and Marilyn (a psychologist) who infiltrate it to find those people who have caused the death of a young woman who jumped from the roof of an office block.

It is fascinating reading and includes lots of information about how a cult might engage its members and then brainwash them. I was reminded of The Program (Tim Rackley Novels) which is similar and also compelling reading.

On reflection, there might have been too much plot, and the book might have been a bit hurried but whilst I was reading it I was swept along by the story and completely engaged in it.

A really good, compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent cult thriller, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
kittycat 2000 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
A young woman jumps from the top of an office building and before the police even arrive her body is snatched by two men in a van. When her parents tell the police that she recently left a cult and was terrified of them tracking her down they decide to check out this cult for themselves. Detective John Richetti and police psychologist Marilyn Michaelson volunteer but what their bosses don't know is that John has an ulterior motive. When he was a small child his parents joined the infamous Jonestown cult and died during their mass suicide. Will John be able to cope or will his past come back to haunt him?

This book is so much more than just an undercover police story. The writer gives us an in depth insight into the characters of John and Marilyn and how their immersion in the cult affects them. At the same time we discover that there is a lot more to this enigmatic cult leader and his motives than first seems apparent. I read the book in one sitting as I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good, exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Prophet Motive, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book least of Eric Christopherson's books, but that's because I adored the other two.
I am a great fan of his writing and found this to be a good read and even though I thought the characters were making stupid moves and choices, if they did everything the obvious way, it would be a very short book.

Looking forward to your next book, Eric :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Prophet Motive, 6 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
When a girl commits suicide jumping off a building and her corpse is taken before the police can arrive at the scene, two members of the police force have to infiltrate a cult run by an ex-brain surgeon psychopath.

The Prophet Motive is incredibly tense for the majority of the book, and the concept of the "Earthbound" cult is horrific, especially with the background and references to the People's Temple, which adds an element of truth to the book.

I do recommend this book, just make sure you read it with the light on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense thriller, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet Motive (Kindle Edition)
Set in America, a police officer and police psychologist go under cover to infiltrate a cult, as part of an investigation into the disappearance of a body after an unexpected suicide. The two main characters, John and Marilyn, have a psychological battle on their hands to avoid being drawn into the cult themselves, when they face subtle, and later overt, brainwashing techniques. There is drama too as they attempt to find physical evidence against the cult leader and their lives are threatened as they fall under suspicion.
I thought this was a very good thriller. I was quickly absorbed by the plot and felt it moved at a fast pace, with plenty of tension and uncertainty. The only thing that has stopped me from giving 5 stars was a slight quibble with the resolution near the end. I don't want to give it away, but I thought our hero perhaps won his battle a little too easily. This didn't stop me from thinking it was a great page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Prophet Motive
The Prophet Motive by Eric Christopherson
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews