Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult at times, but well worth the challenge!
Without going into too much detail, Demon's Souls is by far one of the greatest games I have come across. Many months ago, I was a bit reluctant to buy it after having purchased many games in a short time span, but I was very glad when I finally purchased it.

The game is challenging, but not too challenging. Learning the ways of the enemy is key in helping you...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by Mr. L. Riley

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars By no means bad but be careful this isnt for everyone.
Demons souls is a Japanese rpg made in the western style, if you don't know what that means, it's basically a world full of dragons and medieval style. This game has been claimed by many to be the best PS3 game of all time!... Really? I mean to some I guess it is the second coming but to me for a game to be one of the best on a platform such as the xbox or playstation...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by THE MSTRKRFT


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult at times, but well worth the challenge!, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. L. Riley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Without going into too much detail, Demon's Souls is by far one of the greatest games I have come across. Many months ago, I was a bit reluctant to buy it after having purchased many games in a short time span, but I was very glad when I finally purchased it.

The game is challenging, but not too challenging. Learning the ways of the enemy is key in helping you progress. Leveling up using souls you have collected can make you withstand more hits, carry more items, have increased stamina or cast more spells, but picking a base class at the start of the game doesn't limit you to what you can do.

Dying, will no doubt happen very often, but that isn't the end of the game. It actually helps you because it allows you to learn from your mistakes. If you die, you lose your souls, your means of leveling, your currency for trade, etc, but if you can manage to make it back to your blood stain, then you can reclaim the souls you lost. If you die on the journey to your blood stain though, you lose the last lot of souls you were trying to reclaim and drop any you had picked up on the way. You can however, travel to that last place to pick those up, collecting more souls along the way, but if you die, the cycle continues.

There are 5 worlds, but multiple levels within each and though I haven't had the game long, it is not linear, in the sense that you have to complete each world, from 1-5. You will need to play through World 1 - Level 1 and defeat the first boss, after which you are free to roam all of the other worlds in any order you please. You will likely find yourself replaying the same levels a few times over, but this isn't boring because you may have to go back to find other paths or things you have missed, which in turn can provide you with more demon's souls, extra NPCs in which to buy from, or information which can prove useful in your progression. The game isn't obvious either. The levels themselves may seem linear in structure, but the path to progression is not simple. You can end up finding it difficult to proceed through locked zones, but when you finally get round to doing so, the satisfaction of your achievement is well worth the effort.

When you defeat demon bosses, it is advised to hang on to these special demon boss souls instead of consuming them and adding them to your pile of currency-like souls. At the start of the game and through many of the worlds first levels, NPCs will happily accept any souls as currency. However after a while, some upgrades, spells or miracles will require only demon boss souls to obtain. You do not drop items on death - other than your current souls - but non-consumed demon souls from bosses, or lesser ones found lying on dead soldiers will be safe for use at another time.

The combat on this game is superb. Weapon wielding is great. Using the shield is very helpful, and whilst stamina plays a part in how effective both weapon and shield are, it recovers very quickly. It's incredibly well designed and the lock on system makes combat easy to use, but the battles themselves are obviously not a walk in the park. I haven't used magic yet but it's going to be pretty similar.

Graphically the game is amazing. It's a fantastic third person RPG, with a good challenging difficulty, which to some may seem overwhelming at first, but once you get into it, you will manage. The frame rate at times can become choppy but the PS3 handles the game very well - for the most part the game is as fluid as anything.

When you've completed the game with your first character, the game doesn't end. You get to NG+ (New Game +) which increases the difficulty of the foes, but lets you keep a few things from your previous play through.

I'd advise only patient players buy this, because this may be why Demon's Souls has bad ratings by some people. It's not for cry babies, or for lovers of games who play themselves. It's a mans game - or womens ;) - and the difficulty, an unapparent progression make this challenging RPG a fantastic play through.

Those of you considering purchasing this game, who are worried about difficulty, should check Gamespot.com's review of Demon's Souls. Those who are considering Dark Souls, I suggest they get Demon's Souls first.

9/10

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly good, 20 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
It's hard to think of another game which is as innovative and yet old-school, so punishing and yet open-ended, so brief and yet expansive as Demon's Souls is. It has been called everything from the best PS3 game to the hardest RPG ever, and having now earned the Platinum trophy over 75-odd hours, I'm inclined to agree with all the praise that has been heaped on this wonderful game.

My single favourite aspect is the combat. There's nothing quite like clashing with a tough enemy with a tight defence, rebuffing their attacks whilst waiting for an opportune moment to counter or parry. There are literally dozens of weapons in the game, from rudimentary swords, bows, spears and so on through to mighty blades which cleave the sky in twain. That every foe can, at the outset, defeat you if you let your guard down adds to the tension and makes every single battle intense and fraught.

You collect souls from each enemy you defeat, and these can then be traded for upgrades, items and weapons. However, should you die, you're returned to the start of the level, all enemies respawn and you lose accumulated souls, which languish where you died, awaiting to be re-collected (until you die again, then they're gone). It's a perfect risk/reward system, and the game thrives on careful play and forward planning. Most levels aren't particularly big, but with the number of enemies populating them, they can easily each take over an hour to complete. Luckily the game autosaves continuously, so if you do need to switch off mid-level you can do so and return later with no punishment. Shortcuts are also available in most levels, so huge chunks can be cut out if necessary, and these are permanently unlocked once activated.

Playing the game comes in two flavours - body form (nothing to do with ladies' hygiene) and soul form. You start the game in body form, but upon dying you come back in soul form - with half health (although kind of ¾ health really), and you must beat the level's boss, help out another player online or use an item to get back your body. There are different events which happen depending on what you do (far too much detail to go into here), such as meeting particular characters and unlocking hidden areas. To get the most out of the game you really need to use the Demon's Souls Wiki, but save that for subsequent play throughs.

The online modes are incredible. Basically, you can co-op with two other soul form players as well as get involuntarily invaded by another player, who will regain their body if they defeat you. Aside from this, players can post prescribed messages all over the game, so you might find out how to beat a boss, or use it to warn others of a trap or tough enemy. You can also see other players' last few seconds before death, which can help prepare you for the trials ahead.

The bosses are so good they deserve a mention all of their own. They range from twisted humans to massive deformed beasts, but most of them have a unique quirk, and beating them is a battle of attrition, skill and dexterity. Nothing is left to chance in this game and the bosses are perfectly balanced, and deserve to be remembered alongside the likes of Shadow of the Colossus or Zelda for its incredible and memorable confrontations.

Lastly, I suppose the difficulty needs a mention. Demon's Souls is a hard game, but most of it comes down to common sense, and most deaths come from avoidable player mistakes. Proceeding slowly, keeping your shield up and learning the level as you advance is the best tactic, and once you complete the first couple of levels, you'll have somewhere to grind for souls, which makes it all a bit more manageable until such a time as you can tackle the tougher enemies and levels. Patience and perseverance are definitely needed, but the game gets easier as you level up, get better equipment and learn the enemies.

Demon's Souls is an amazing game that embraces the new whilst keeping in touch with the aspects that made the 8- and 16-bit era so memorable. There aren't many games like it on PS3 - a third-person action RPG with an emphasis on combat and dungeon crawling, and with enough depth to rival the mightiest RPG - but it's so good that it sits up near the very top of the PS3 tree and occupies a niche all to itself. If you have patience, like a challenge and lament the lack of RPGs this generation, you owe it to yourself to buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpassed by its successor, but still one of the best games of this generation, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Like many (I suspect) I came to Demon's Souls having first played and fallen in love with its successor, Dark Souls. Despite large differences, which generally reveal the earlier game's roughness, the two games share the same design values and evoke the same feelings.

If you've already been won over by Dark Souls, then you're probably only wondering whether Demon's Souls will quench your thirst for more of the same. It will.

If on the other hand you're coming to the series fresh, then it's important to know that it won't be a welcoming experience: I had to come back to Dark Souls twice after putting it down out of exhaustion and frustration before things started to click, and you'll probably find the same during your first playthrough of either game. I would say the difficulty is only one of two reasons why these games are for the hardcore; the second is that in order to give them the dedication they need, you have to *want* to be part of the club. You have to hate the idea that you're missing out on something special. You mustn't be comfortable with playing easy games that you can pick up, take your quick fix of escapism, and put down again. If that's why you play games, fine, but the Souls games aren't for you.

If on the other hand you're one of the former camp, you'll love these games once you learn how to play them: cautiously, with concentration, and your heart in your throat with the tension of it all. Dark Souls is, in my view, superior: the boss fights are better-designed and more challenging, the world layout is more intuitive and less frustrating without being too much easier, and it's more polished and more beautiful both mechanically and visually. That said, Demon's Souls delivers the same sensation - albeit in a rawer way - and will ultimately satisfy newcomers and veterans alike. Though surpassed by its successor, it's still one of the best games of this console generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Demon's Souls: A gamer's angel delight, a true console classic, 21 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
It's mean, unforgiving and will work your nerves to the breaking point.

Not everyone will love the brutality of the difficulty, or the bare-bones presentation, but have no doubt: You are sucked into the game's atmosphere without a moment's notice and will find it difficult to leave again. Demon's Souls is a game to remember.

Your adventure is set in the magical world of Boletaria, a large land of endless natural beauties and impressive landmarks. One day, in a desperate attempt to gain more power, King Allant XII (king of Boletaria) performed a dark ritual that enabled him to harness the power of souls. For a time, the kingdom was in an unprecedented golden age. After a while, however, a dark fog started to float over Boletaria, eventually severing all contacts with other nations. It is revealed that the king's ritual had awakened the Old One, a terrifying demon that had been in slumber for centuries. The fog brought in soul-devouring demons that started to feast on the land's inhabitants. Many braved the fog either to try and save Boletaria or to harness the awesome power of the demon souls. You are one of those people, alone in the harsh world, a man amongst demons.

Though the background is very expansive, the story's involvement in the game is actually quite slim. Other than the first and last 10 or so minutes of the game, you won't encounter much in terms of either story or narrative. It's slightly disappointing that the developers didn't decide to go a bit deeper into the intriguing story that had been built up in the beginning.

Luckily, the game still manages to pull this off by creating a world that is absolutely enchanting. You will visit medieval castles, poisonous swamps, towering prisons, cavernous mines, ruins of a lost civilization and many other outlandish locales. The amount of detail in every area is astounding, showing remnants of what the place was like before the demons' arrival to Boletaria. Skeletons lay on the ground, blood is splattered on walls, decay is apparent in every structure. It's this sort of detail that makes the world of Demon's Souls so compelling. You will wish you could rewind time so that you can experience the world again for the first time. With this level of immersion, it is easy to forgive the lack of a concrete story.

Traversing these environments is not an easy task. This has been mentioned before, but Demon's Souls is hard. Not only is it hard, it's absolutely remorseless. It's safe to say that DS is the hardest game to come out on the PS3, bar none. Surviving isn't as simple as just being careful. You need true skill to persevere in the harsh world of Boletaria. At its core, the game is a typical hack and slash RPG, where the goal is to slay large enemies to finish each level. However, it isn't as simple as that when you look closer. When you start the game, and get through the character creator, you can choose a special cIass. This will determine what equipment you are given at the start, along with your base stats. From there, you are pretty much free to progress as you wish. You can focus on magic, brute strength, speed or ranged attacks. The variety of weapons, spells, miracles (similar to spells, though slightly more defense-based), armor and other equipment is staggering to say the least.

You'll need all this variety, since part of the adventure is working out how to get past the ghastly enemies of the game. Some enemies can kill you in as much as one hit, so you always have to be careful. Combat is mostly twofold: melee and ranged combat. In melee, you can attack normally or perform a strong attack. If you have a shield, even more options will be available to you. You can of course use it to shield yourself, but can also parry incoming blows and counter with a vicious riposte. All of these actions require stamina, and when it is depleted, you'll have to wait a moment for it to recover. This clever mechanic makes button mashing an impossible tactic. You have to use skill, timing and foresight in every one of your battles.

The tools of ranged combat are split in two: spells and ranged weapons. Spells require both MP and specific catalysts that enable spell use. There is a large variety of spells to choose from, and most players will have to have some sort of spell knowledge to best some of the tougher enemies. Ranged weapons are bows and crossbows, which both work very well and are simple to use. It is vital to learn how to attack from afar, so the fact that the ranged mechanics work so well is a very fortunate thing. Your character can also use miracles, which are more to boost certain stats or create shields of many sorts. They too require a special item to use.

The combat isn't the only thing that makes the game difficult, however. First thing that needs to be known is that the game is constantly online, unless you don't sign into the PSN network. This means that there is no real pause function in the game. Therefore, all rearrangement of inventory, use of healing items and change of equipment is done in real time. This is also the case offline, most likely to boost the difficulty. It adds a layer of tension to the already nerve-wracking experience.

The soul system is another factor of the game that provides a difficulty boost. Souls are both the currency and experience points of the game. All things are bought with demon souls, and levelling up various stats also requires them. Defeating demons will grant you the souls, but dying will cause you to lose all of them. You can go back to the point where you died and collect the souls, but if you die again on the way there, they will forever be lost.

The final component that makes Demon's Souls tougher than other games out there is how the game handles death. If you die, you go into soul form, which is basically a downgraded form of your living self. You have only half your normal health, and you can only go back to your former self by either beating a boss demon, using a certain very rare item or becoming a phantom and helping another player.

What is a phantom exactly? It's one of the three innovative online components of Demon's Souls. The game is very unique in its online approach. You don't interact with the other players as much as you simply see them. You are still pretty much alone for the major part of your adventure, but that doesn't mean you won't get any help.

The first component, and by far the most prominent, is the message system. Every player can write a message from a predetermined list of words that is then left on the ground for the world to see. You can be mean and write a misleading message or be helpful and give hints to what is ahead. If you feel a message is helpful, you can recommend it, which in turn heals the writer of the message. If a message isn't recommended much, it will eventually disappear, leaving only the ones that prove helpful. So as you can see, this is a win-win situation in every way.

The second online component is blood stains. Every player that dies in the game will leave one, and touching it will show exactly how the player died in a grisly pantomime. It's basically a simpler version of the message system, but it helps in quite a few situations.

The final online mechanic is the phantom system, which is in turn split into two separate systems. By using specific stones while in soul form, you can either become a blue or black phantom. Blue phantoms can be summoned by living players to help with boss demons, while black phantoms will invade other players' worlds. If blue phantoms manage to help beat the boss demon, they will regain their human form. In the same way, if a black phantom kills the unfortunate "host", he will get his human body again. It's truly a terrifying experience to see the dreaded message "A black phantom has invaded your world" pop up on the screen. It creates a sense of urgency that will stay with you for some time.

The blue phantoms' help is vital if you don't want to rip your hair out from frustration. The boss demons are almost all very difficult, and having a second or even third player with you will alleviate some of the challenge. The sense of scale these boss demons invoke is amazing, and the game boasts one of the best boss fights in gaming. They're all incredibly unique and fun to fight, and are fitting ends to each and every stage.

One thing that has scared many from playing the game is the question: "Is the game unfair?" The answer is simple: no. The game is all about skill and perseverance. If you at first don't succeed, try, try again. This proverb is very important to remember when playing the game. If you don't follow it, you probably won't experience all that Demon's Souls has to offer.

As mentioned earlier, the game's atmosphere and environments are amazingly crafted. However, the visual presentation is far from perfect. There is frequent texture pop-up, and many of the surroundings seem to bear an annoying shine to them, as if some kind of glaze has been splattered all over the place. Dead demons are also very twitchy post-mortem, often sticking to your character heels and flailing their lifeless limbs for no apparent reason. Finally, the game occasionally has a hard time keeping up with what is going on in the game, lagging in some odd moments. This doesn't happen often, but when the problem rears its ugly head, it can be very aggravating. However, for every negative thing, there is something positive. Weapons, armor and spells look amazing in-game, and monster animation is superb.

The sound aspects of the game are also fantastic. Demon's Souls has a completely original score, all fully orchestrated by real instruments. It only plays in key moments of the game, which accentuates the urgency of every moment. Everything else is in perpetual silence, giving you an ominous feeling of what is ahead. The voice acting is peculiar, to say the least. You have probably never heard anything quite like it. It feels surprisingly natural, there is no glamor or grace, only raw emotion and a believable performance. It's a breath of fresh air, to put it simply. It might come off as eccentric at times, especially when some characters inexplicably raise their voices when talking to you, but it's another aspect Demon's Souls manages to excel in.

Getting everything the game has to offer is definitely going to take more than one playthrough. There are two different endings, a myriad of hidden items, enemies and treasures and the simple ability to be able to play the game through again in a New Game + is always a fun bonus. This adds to the replayability of the game, though that definitely requires even more patience.

The bottom line is this: how much you like Demon's Souls is absolutely based on how much work you want to put into it. If you don't have the time to truly commit yourself to the game, or are just looking for a game to enjoy in short bursts, then DS is not the game for you. However, if you want a game that rewards patience, is utterly engrossing and offers a sense of accomplishment greater than any other game on the PS3, then you won't find a game more for you than DS. Brutal, challenging, hard, tough, difficult... whatever you choose to call it, the game is one of a kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game of 2010 (PAL Version), 13 Nov 2010
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Demon's Souls had me interested ever since I first read a review of it on import in Games magazine. It got 10 out of 10 and much was made about the difficulty - the screen shots captured in the magazine looked fantastic but I was put off by the comments made as to how hard this game is. That was back in 2009 and after much deliberation as to whether I should chance getting an import copy I eventually decided to wait for the Black Phantom Edition once it was announced that a PAL version would be released in the UK.

Now the introduction is out of the way, let's move swiftly onto my experience of the game. It is most definitely a challenging game to say the least, it took me six hours and dozens of deaths just to complete the first level (after the tutorial, which is great introdction to the game I might add). I must profess that I haven't progressed much further into the game despite devoting several more hours on it. Normally, such slow progress would frustrate me to to point that I would give up on the game. So why not Demon's Souls? Put simply, it is such a rewarding experience that it just sucks you in. Dying becomes part of the learning process - you learn the layout of the level, the foes you will face and other dangers to look out for. So the game had me carefully edging my way through the perilous and imposing environments - it is really tense at times not knowing what may be lurking around the next corner and I haven't experienced a game like this in the current generation of consoles. You can't simply run through the whole game (alhough there are moments where you need to just run and hope) because you need to exert real care and thought as you progress.

What does help are the unique online features - you get to see blood stains of other gamers where they have met their bloody demise and you can use these to "preview" how they met their end. Also, other gamers can leave hints anywhere in the evironment, using set bodies of text, whereby the most helpful hints will remain in the game for longer before fading away. It is a truly fantastic touch. Other gamers can also enter your game to either try and kill you or assist you in your quest, although I can't comment on this as I haven't experienced this yet so I'm not too sure how it works without first hand experience.

The graphics and sound really add to the atmosphere. There is no backing music during gameplay, just the environmental noises, but they really add to the atmospheric feel of the game and the graphics in my opinion are excellent.

This is a game I really shouldn't like. I've been playing games for almost the last 20 years so I have experienced hundreds of games but I have never been an exceptional player - I'd rate myself as maybe slightly above average at best - and I don't tend to like games that are fiendishly difficult.... Demon's Souls is just that. But I absolutely love this game. I just can't fault anything about it.

The Black Phantom Edtion comes with some nice extras too, so I'd adise getting that if you're a collector and it's not too expensive (it is limited edition and now not widely available) - a very nice art book, the soundtrack CD and a full strategy guide (which admittedly, isn't as helpful as I would have hoped, as despite being detailed it is biased towards just one class of character and therefore some of the tips are not particularly useful for other classes).

Overall, an absolutely stunning game. Yes it is incredibly difficult but it rarely feels unfair. This is the most rewarding game I have played in a long time. A game where I have devoted so many hours for so little progress and still give 5 stars with ease, now that is something special, particularly as I am someone with normally not a lot of patience that a game like this requires. However, when you do make even the smallest bit of progress it feels so rewarding - you really can feel like you've achieved so much just by getting that little bit further in the game. In my opinion, the best game I have played in 2010 - my game of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best exclusive game on PS3, 3 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I just bought a PS3 so I could play BRDs I have always used my Xbox 360 for gaming. I saw that this game was a PS3 exclusive and bought it because i really liked the look of it. After playing it I regret not buying a PS3 sooner just for this game, it's that good. If you're looking for a challenging game to keep you hooked for a while, you can't go wrong with Demons souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Games I have played in Years, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I came a little late to the demons souls party and to a certain extent was concerned by some of the reviews that the game would become annoying because of how hard it was. However, this game is hard, but as many have said, you learn very quickly how to approach each enemy how to take them down, what weapons/spells/effect they are strong or weak against and then you learn to overcome them. I haven't punched the air with sheer delight so many times, for as long as I can remember, playing any game, as I have done with Demon's Souls.

If I had known how fantastic this game was I would have bought a PS3 sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Although an excellent game, I didn't get around to completing it due its toughness (I FAIL, I KNOW!!! *upside-down-sad-face-roll-eyes-etc).

Had I have purchased this BEFORE Dark Souls, I'm sure I would've seen it out to the end, but having completed Dark Souls, I knew beforehand how much time I would need to invest in order to do so, and with college and work to consider, I had to relinquish. Plus, it has a knock-on effect to me playing newly released games in order to keep up with what friends are playing.

I'm sorry. I suck.

PS. Bring on Dark Souls 2! 8-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tight controls, great music, challenging gameplay, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic game! Having played both dark souls games for +100 hours each, I purchased a psi for the sole (pardon the pun) purpose of playing. The controls are as tight as expected, and weapons have a very satisfying weight as you swing them. I found the game significantly easier than its sequels in the beginning, but it soon settles into the challenging but fair style the series is known for. For beginners to the series, the complex menus and barely explained mechanics may make this game inaccessible, but with a little perseverance, you should be a master in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Compelling Debut, 3 Nov 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Demon's Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
First of all this is an easier title than its sequel, Dark Souls, this game hosts an area known as The Nexus which acts as a safe haven which the later titles discarded.

Now for the gameplay, it isn't very fast paced which makes for smooth gameplay, there are frame drops (which I hear are intentional for some reason and definitely seems deliberate during big boss battles) but it doesn't take anything away from how beautifully executed this game is.
Like other reviewers have stated it poses a significant challenge like Ninja Gaiden Sigma (Ninja Gaiden however is a lot faster) but really immersive and enjoyable.

Now there is multiplayer, but is a bit of a letdown and quite frankly should be more interactive and easier to access. Once you get going its good.

There is a series of different classes to choose from before you begin with your journey but little in terms of customisation of your characters physical appearance. Your journey welcomes you into the story with a short tutorial...followed by a sudden death from a huge boss which invites you into your safe haven, The Nexus.

Overall the game is pretty, it runs relatively smooth but lacks a good multiplayer and is difficult at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demon's Souls (PS3)
Demon's Souls (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews